Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

The CATSPY Awards Are Going Virtual in 2020

(UK Athletics)

(UK Athletics)

The 18th annual CATSPY Awards are going to have to do things a bit differently this year…

Despite the Kentucky campus being bare of students and staff, the show must go on! In lieu of an in-person showing, the University has decided to take things digital with the broadcast moving over to BBN Live – a streaming service launched by UK in March designed to connect fans during the coronavirus pandemic.

BBN Live airs every weekday and can be viewed on either one of Kentucky’s Twitter or Facebook accounts.

Starting on Monday, April 27, winners for each prestigious award will be announced at 3 p.m. every day throughout the week on BBN Live. Here’s a look at the upcoming schedule:

  • Monday, April 27 – Community Service, Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Academic Teams of the Year
  • Tuesday, April 28 – Bill Keightley Assist, Scratch, Supporting Role
  • Wednesday, April 29 – Rookies of the Year, Blue Heart, Heart of a Wildcat
  • Thursday, April 30 – Elite Performers
  • Friday, May 1 – Mr. and Miss Wildcat, Elite Teams

Award winners will join the live feed, along with other unnamed guests, to claim their prize. I imagine there will be a technical error or two and probably some insane wardrobe choices. The University has already announced nominees for a few different awards.

  • Supporting Role – Tatiana Hagan (women’s soccer), Cameron Scheitzach (volleyball), Rylea Smith (softball), Chase Lane (swimming and diving), Riley Gaines (swimming and diving), Nate Sestina (men’s basketball), Calvin Taylor Jr. (football), Jaida Roper (women’s basketball), Hailey Poland (gymnastics), Lesedi Jacobs (women’s tennis)
  • Scratch – Jordyn Rhodes (women’s soccer), Maddie Berezowitz (volleyball), Megan Monfredi (gymnastics), Parker Herren (swimming and diving), Caiden Lake (swimming and diving)
  • Female Rookie of the Year – Hannah Richardson (women’s soccer), Kaylie Kenne (cross country/track and field), Kayla Kowalik (softball), Jensen Castle (women’s golf), Mary Tucker (rifle), Caitlin Brooks (swimming and diving), Raena Worley (gymnastics), Masai Russell (track and field)
  • Male Rookie – Aaron Withrow (cross country, track and field), Brandin Echols (football), Austin Schultz (baseball), Liam Draxl (men’s tennis), Tyrese Maxey (men’s basketball), Jakob Clark (swimming and diving), Tai Brown (track and field), Josh Sobota (track and field), Cullan Brown (men’s golf), Langston Jackson (track and field), Lance Lang (track and field), Eythor Bjorgolfsson (men’s soccer)

If you somehow haven’t heard of the CATSPYs before, it’s essentially Kentucky’s version of the ESPYs, which are hosted every year by ESPN. Normally, the CATSPYs are quite an elegant event where athletes trade in their jerseys for suits as they’re honored by their peers. This year, it’s going to be more of a sweatpants and no shoes type of affair.

Will you be tuning in?

Article written by Zack Geoghegan

Recruiting reporter for KSR. Follow me on Twitter: @ZGeogheganKSR

1 Comment for The CATSPY Awards Are Going Virtual in 2020

  1. espn8122
    10:50 pm April 26, 2020 Permalink

    The coronabros claim another event.