Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Rick Barnes wins 2019 Naismith Coach of the Year Award

The Tennessee Volunteers may have lost in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament, but their head coach was still able to bring home some hardware. Rick Barnes has been named the 2019 Naismith Coach of the Year.

It’s the first time Barnes has earned the award, and he’s also the first coach in Tennessee men’s basketball program history to be given this particular honor. Other finalists for this year’s award were Chris Beard (Texas Tech), Tony Bennett (Virginia) and Kelvin Sampson (Houston).

Tennessee finished with a 31-5 (15-3 SEC) overall record. At one point in the season, they spent four-consecutive weeks ranked No. 1 in the AP poll, and they finished with a program-record-tying three victories over top-five opponents and the second-most wins during a single season in program history.

In addition to Barnes’ coaching honor, a couple of their key players have also picked up individual awards. Grant Williams earned first-team All-American honors and was named the SEC Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season. Admiral Schofield was named as a member of the All-SEC first-team, while junior guard Jordan Bone earned second-team honors.

That’s good for the conference and all, but man, I hate that color. Plus, if I had to pick an SEC coach to win the award this year, I’d cast my ballot for Bruce Pearl, whose team won the SEC title and made it to the Final Four by beating three of the nation’s most-storied programs. What do you think?

Article written by Maggie Davis

I love sports, podcasts, long walks on the beach and Twitter (@MaggieDavisKSR)

14 Comments for Rick Barnes wins 2019 Naismith Coach of the Year Award

  1. gwhittle
    3:12 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    If post season counts, Bruce pearl deserves it more. But if it’s just regular season, Barnes deserves it

    • eddiesuttonsliver
      4:27 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

      guys banned from the sport for 3 years tend to get left out of the conversation for awards like these.

  2. IrishCat
    3:15 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    These awards are pointless…

  3. catsarerunnin
    3:28 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    The Flopper helped.

  4. BigJohnC
    3:34 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    Bruce pearl was more deserving. Ricks all mighty volunteers choked a lil prematurely

  5. runningunnin.454
    3:47 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    Eh, I think Chris Beard; but, that’s just me.

  6. KYJelly
    3:53 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    Barnes didn’t deserve it. He got back all the pieces from a top team last year and finished 3rd in the SEC regular season.

    • Luether
      5:17 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

      Barnes recruited and developed all those “pieces” and is more than deserving of the award…

    • JT919
      7:00 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

      Chris Beard has done more with overall less this season. Barnes certainly deserved 2nd or 3rd place, but not winning regular season or championship should be enough to swing the winner to Chris Beard.

  7. Smyrna_Cat
    4:23 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    Was that for coaching Williams how to flop?

  8. onlyone
    5:46 pm April 7, 2019 Permalink

    Not a single freshman for Tn. scored a point this year. Gee how does that bode for Barnes next year?