Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Mayfield Wins Fourth Straight State Title


Mayfield won their fourth straight state title and 12th overall with a 17-7 win over Newport Central Catholic. The Cardinals finished the season with a 14-1 record.

The first half of this game was a defensive battle. NewCath picked off Landon Arnett and blocked a Mayfield field goal, but could not find the end zone. The game was scoreless until the final 30 seconds of the first half. Arnett found Kevin Caldwell for a 17 yard touchdown to put Mayfield ahead at the half. On the final drive, Arnett was 4/6 for 51 yards. The Cardinals received the ball to start the second half but the drive stalled at the NC 49. On the punt, NewCath fumbled the catch and Mayfield recovered in the end zone. NewCath was in a 14-0 hole midway through the third quarter. Patrick Henschen hit Trent Wrobleski on a 46-yard score to cut the score to 14-7. Henschen’s pass was a perfect throw down the sideline when the Thoroughbreds needed it most. Mayfield’s defense would shut down NewCath for the remainder of the game. The Cardinals forced Henschen out the pocket and did not allow Jacob Smith to get down field. Mayfield would add a late field goal and wrap up a 17-7 win.

Mayfield’s defense held NewCath to 81 yards rushing on 37 carries. The Cardinals had 12 tackles for loss and one sack. Jacob Smith averaged only 2.5 yards per carry and the entire NewCath team averaged 2.2. Henschen finished 10/18 for 136 yards and a touchdown.

The MVP of the game was Mayfield’s Landon Arnett. With 230 yards of total offense in a defensive minded game, Arnett was the deserving winner. Arnett was 17/35 for 208 yards and a touchdown and 22 yards on four carries. Kevin Caldwell caught six passes for 81 yards and a touchdown and Lane Kennemore caught five passes for 61 yards.

Mayfield is now tied with St. Xavier for third place in the state with 12 championships. The Cardinals have won four consecutive state titles over two different classes. 

Article written by Trey Huntsman

The KSR Baseball guy. Follow me on Twitter @TreyHuntsmanSEC.