Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Come see us Friday at the BARDSTOWN Kroger

The Kroger KSR Game of the Week will be played in Paintsville, however, we will be at the Bardstown Kroger at 5:00pm on Friday. Come see us and say the magic words, “Kroger Presents the KSR Game of the Week” to get a free Kroger gift card while they last.

Friday’s Kroger KSR Game of the Week features a pair of defending state champions. Belfry won the 3A title after defeating Bell County 30-30 at Kroger Field. The Pirates are led by legendary coach Phillip Haywood. Coach Haywood has seven state titles in his prestigious resume. Johnson Central has advanced to the 4A state title game in five consecutive years, winning two. The 2019 state champion head coach Jim Matney has built a dynasty in Johnson County.

Belfry running back Isaac Dixon is a Mr. Football candidate and has rushed for 1,057-yards and 16 touchdowns. He’s averaging a whopping 13.6-yards per carry. He’s joined in the backfield by QB Brett Coleman. The Miami (OH) commit has rushed for 398-yards and 7 touchdowns. Haywood’s top tackler is LB Brad Lowes who has racked up 42 stops in 2020.

Much like Belfry, Johnson Central features a run heavy offense. The Golden Eagles top rusher is Dylan Preston. Preston is also a Mr. Football candidate and has carried the football 55 times for 927-yards and 21 touchdowns. OT Grant Bingham is a national-level prospect and is the real deal. He’s joined on the line of scrimmage by Bowling Green commit TE Zach Russell. LB Mason LeMaster is the team’s leading tackler after recording 49 on the year.

The game is at Johnson Central. But we’re coming to Bardstown. We were scheduled to be there last week but the weather had other plans for us. Come see either myself or Nick Roush on Friday at the Bardstown Kroger at 5:00 pm.

Article written by Freddie Maggard

Former University of Kentucky Quarterback and Andy Griffith Fan Club President