Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

A sneak peek at Athlon Sports’ College Basketball Preview…

Print
Photo by Matt Hernandez, design by Matt Taliaferro

Check out Willie Cauley-Stein and Alex Poythress on the regional cover of Athlon Sports’ College Basketball Preview, which will hit newsstands on September 17th.

Before you get too excited, Louisville has their own cover, too. In fact, Kentucky is the only state in which Athlon features two in-state schools on separate covers. However, they make up for it by picking the Cats to win the National Championship.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

26 Comments for A sneak peek at Athlon Sports’ College Basketball Preview…



  1. Bluegrass
    3:22 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    That is one [email protected] cover photo!!



  2. Kentucky Effect
    3:22 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    “super sophs” that lead their team to a first round NIT flameout? Interesting.

    Randle or Twin #1 would have been a better choice. We all know they will be running the show come November.



  3. dicklicker
    3:24 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    the mustache brothers



  4. butteater
    3:25 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    willie cauley-stein looks like jaden smith



  5. Musehobo
    3:25 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    When I was a kid I would have murdered somebody to have my picture on a cover like this. AP and WCS should frame that shiz and hang it over their bed.



  6. Roger Federer
    3:28 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    WCS looks like me.



  7. PhilUK18
    3:30 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    6.

    Looks like Roger Federer? He has shorter hair, darker skin, and is nearly a foot taller. I know it’s thirsty Thursday, but I think you hit the bourbon a little early bro.



  8. tom
    3:31 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    I mentioned this on another thread but would someone check with the Harrison family to make sure the twins are packing?



  9. Matt T.
    3:36 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Kentucky Effect: In only the rarest of instances does Cal allow the Frosh to participate in any photo shoots outside of the athletic department’s prior to the start of the season.



  10. Ross
    3:37 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    8) I stopped by there this morning. Aaron is pretty much ready to go, but Andrew has been fiddle-fartin’ around playing grab-ass. Only has about half of his stuff packed. He had his blanket packed yesterday afternoon but took it out last night so he could sleep with it. It was still on his bed as of this morning. All Aaron has to pack are his toothbrush and other things that he needs every day. Their mom keeps telling Andrew to make a list and start packing so he doesn’t forget anything, but all he wants to do make Vine videos. It’s stressful over there, Tom, I hate to say it. But dad assured me they’d be ready to leave by Sunday morning. Sorry I don’t have any more info.



  11. daniel
    3:42 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    willie norm mcdonald-stein



  12. vudu
    3:43 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Where is the inside sneak peek?



  13. Boogie
    3:45 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Break out year for Alex Poythress 17 PPG 9 RPG



  14. cm punk
    3:51 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    WCS lookin like billy dee williams lol. I expect him to offer me a colt 45 lol. For real tho that’s a cool cover. GO BIG BLUE!!!



  15. Jeffrey
    3:55 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    That’s a baddass cover.



  16. Federer
    4:02 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Actually 7, I think I gotta backup 6 here. If you look strictly at the face and not compare skin color I can see the resemblance too



  17. Jpo
    4:03 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    10. I LOL’d hilarious man!



  18. BlueTexan
    4:13 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    WHERE are the ‘Twins’??????????????



  19. You Know
    4:13 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Matt Hernandez is one of the best photographers in the Country and a HUGE UK fan!



  20. Shocked
    4:20 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Wow, not one mention of Calipari and Pitino in the upper right corner of the cover.



  21. Turtleneck Tommy
    4:30 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    I told them under no circumstance is there to be both UK and Uvel splitting the covers…….Where the hell is Crawford and Bosich? I’ll have their collective asses for this!



  22. Rollie Fingers
    4:40 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    DAT STACHE!



  23. CatsFanFrankfort
    4:55 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Norm McDonald, Billy Dee Williams, Roger Federer and Jaden Smith so far are comparisons for WCS. Hilarious.



  24. Matt T.
    4:58 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    I thought the look was more Burt Reynolds. He’s got Smokey’s eyes along with his ‘stache.



  25. DavidP19
    6:59 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Thank gawd for regional covers!!! I’ll probably be looking at some lousy Big14 cover.



  26. kybb
    9:15 pm August 22, 2013 Permalink

    Willie Cauley-Stache