Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Stoops on SEC review of Chris Rodriguez call: “I can’t say what I want to say”

Sep 26, 2020; Auburn, Alabama, USA; Kentucky Wildcats head coach Mark Stoops questions an official during the second quarter against the Auburn Tigers at Jordan-Hare Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

Sep 26, 2020; Auburn, Alabama, USA; Kentucky Wildcats head coach Mark Stoops questions an official during the second quarter against the Auburn Tigers at Jordan-Hare Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

What did the SEC have to say about the Chris Rodriguez touchdown controversy upon further review? Mark Stoops knows, but he’s not telling.

On today’s SEC Teleconference, Stoops confirmed that the league reviewed the footage of Rodriguez’s goal line run just before halftime at Auburn, which clearly showed the sophomore running back crossing into the end zone, but didn’t share his reaction for fear of being fined.

“Yeah, I did [hear from the SEC],” Stoops told Mike Griffith of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. “Got an explanation from the league and I’m really not permitted to reveal what that discussion went like. I don’t really want to part with the cash if I really vented and told you what I was thinking about so I can’t really talk about it.”

Fair enough. Not satisfied, veteran league reporter Bob Holt pressed his luck a few minutes later.

“Was the explanation from the league just basically, ‘Ah, sorry we messed up?'” Holt asked.

“Come on, Bob,” Stoops said. “I can’t say what I want to say.”

I think it goes a little something like this:

Wise move by Stoops though. Use that money for bourbon and cigars after beating Ole Miss instead.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

12 Comments for Stoops on SEC review of Chris Rodriguez call: “I can’t say what I want to say”



  1. CJKAssassin123
    5:01 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

    I’m sure that exactly what the SEC told him in all honesty.



  2. dcforuk
    5:59 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

    He may not be able to say what he thinks but we can see what we think. I think that whoever was the decision maker or makers reviewing the video took the easy way out. Many of us take the easy way out in some of our daily job decisions, too. The easy way out in this case was to support the on field call by saying that the video was from behind. The easy way out was also to not only make a decision whose beneficiary was the home team but more impactful than that A home team that is also a traditional football power in the conference and against an up-and-coming team that is a traditional cellar dweller in the conference. The easy decision was made and not the right decision unfortunately. The right decision should have been made. There was indisputable evidence what the right decision was. It is very unfortunate because it significantly impacted the game and the momentum of the game. As Jim Mora quipped “that sucked.”



    • BobbyBlue
      6:36 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

      I don’t think the SEC wants UK to be beating up on any of the cash cow football teams. I mean this type of stuff has happened too many times in my lifetime. I can’t imagine a call like this ever going against Alabama,Florida, Auburn or LSU.



    • Bluenblood
      7:16 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

      Word BobbyBlue … we know where the SEC lives…..in Alabama!! Seen it for years WTF guess we are gonna have to start peaceful protest for change!!!



    • dcforuk
      7:30 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

      You are absolutely right. The knights did not get mad. They got even. The only way to get even is to win!



  3. Bill Jackson
    8:14 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

    I have had season tickets since Commonwealth opened. I have seen this same type of call go against the Wildcats for years and years. The SEC has absolutely NO respect for Kentucky Football. As someone else pointed out this call would have been reversed if it was Alabama, Florida, etc. Note to Mark Stoops, the true Kentucky Football fan would cheer you if you actually did say what you wanted to, and be darned the fine. I actually think with his salary he could afford the fine. We need our head coach to stand up for the school, and his own players when this happens, NOT hide behind the fact the SEC could fine him. Who cares, maybe if you did raise hell with them, we might start to get some respect ! We will never know until our head coach stands up against this.



    • dcforuk
      10:39 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

      It ain’t about the money. That was a kind way of communicating that he does not agree wow being as respectful as he can be. He doesn’t want to look like a whiner. He would rather you think that he cares about the money then get a reputation as a whiner. I guarantee it.



    • UKinIN
      10:48 pm September 30, 2020 Permalink

      I respectfully suggest that you let other people decide how to choose their words and spend their money. We have no idea what went on behind closed doors. We have no idea if Stoops went off on the league office. We have no idea if he ranted and threw things to show the team how angry he was. His team. His money. His choice. Just food for thought …



  4. Bill Jackson
    9:37 am October 1, 2020 Permalink

    My point here is I WANT the coach to go public with this. That is the only way we can put pressure on the SEC to stop these actions. Being quiet will not get it done, we have been quiet for over 40 years, and the same thing keeps happening. Tell the reporters, let them write their articles, let them then question the officials, the commissioner, put the heat on them for once.



  5. GACAT
    11:09 am October 1, 2020 Permalink

    Please go to [email protected] to express your feelings on the Worst call in the history of College Football. Stoops should have taken his team off the field after that non call.



    • KyZoneBlitz
      7:22 pm October 2, 2020 Permalink

      It’s definitely the worse call I’ve ever seen in nearly 40 years of watching UK Football. Even now, it’s still unbelievable. I mean this wasn’t one of those “It could go either way” type of calls. Then when the video review team makes the call, they Contradict their own call of “Forward progress stopped” by placing the ball right inside the 1 yard line. Rodriguez was hit by the LB around the 2.5-3 yard line (His progress wasn’t stopped, just slowed), but after the initial contact, He pushes his way 3-4 yards past the goal line into the endzone. So it just doesn’t make any sense. I somewhat agree that I wish Stoops would let loose and bash the office and call publicly, but if we’ve learned anything about Stoops, it’s that he will not just bite his tongue and remain silent. So if he isn’t saying anything publicly, you can pretty much GUARANTEE he laid into the office when they gave him their bulshit excuses…