Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Let’s not forget about the two big pass plays

We’re all busy high-fiving our friends and hugging complete strangers over the play of Benny Snell and the awesomeness of the Kentucky defense. But let’s not get two caught up in Benny and the D without celebrating the two catches that paved the way for Kentucky’s first two scores.

First, Terry Wilson hit Dorian Baker down the sideline for a 23-yard completion that set up the Cats’ first touchdown. Baker hauled in the tough grab while tip-toeing toward the goal line at the pylon. At first it was ruled incomplete, but it was clearly a catch at the one-yard line:

Coach Stoops said, “That was a big catch. It was really good to see that from Dorian and Terry to get that down to him and Dorian to come down with it and huge play. At that point we were losing 7-0 I think that was the only one we scored before half. That was a really big play. Nice catch by Dorian, good throw, and that was a big point as well.”

Then on the first drive of the second half, CJ Conrad earned an early nomination for Catch of the Year on this 23-yard reception. Like Baker’s, it set up a Benny Snell score on the ground.

The passing attack didn’t do a lot in Saturday’s win. It did enough, though.

Article written by Drew Franklin

I can recite every line from Forrest Gump, blindfolded. Follow me on Twitter: @DrewFranklinKSR

7 Comments for Let’s not forget about the two big pass plays



  1. UKfanman01
    12:36 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

    Still dont understand why Conrad doesnt get more touches…



    • Greatcatfan
      2:28 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

      Because he’s killimg people for Big Benny.



  2. yourfriendcasey
    7:54 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

    I’m extremely happy it wasn’t called, but how was CJs catch not offensive pass interference? If the roles were reversed I’d be freaking out that it wasn’t called on miss st.



    • runningunnin.454
      11:14 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

      Because he was looking back at the ball, and he’s allowed to go for it.



    • yourfriendcasey
      8:27 pm September 23, 2018 Permalink

      Ah. Thanks, I apparently didn’t catch that at first.



  3. Papaw
    8:31 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

    After all the terrible calls going against UK over the years it’s past time we got a no-call go for us



  4. Le Docteur
    8:35 am September 23, 2018 Permalink

    I’m still waiting for an explanation for how that SEC ref crew spotted us on the 2 yard line after Baker’s catch. Ridiculous.