Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Kentucky responds to fan complaints on sound issues at Kroger Field

For the past several games at Kroger Field, the music volume throughout the stadium has been minimal, and fans haven’t been happy about it. We’ve received countless messages, calls, and comments on the matter with those in attendance hoping for a louder, more energetic experience on gamedays.

Guy Ramsey at UK Athletics sent a response to these sound (or lack thereof) complaints, saying the speakers have been on, but they are still adjusting volume at games. He also mentioned that Kroger Field only has speakers in one end zone, and a permanent fix to sound issues would be to purchase a brand new (and expensive) sound system.

Here is Ramsey’s email:

On the radio show today, Matt, Ryan, and Shannon brought up the point that the sound issues could have to do with the marching band’s ability to hear and communicate to perform.

This afternoon, a member of the band reached out to KSR and said the band does communicate with the press box/sound people at UK, but stadium music doesn’t interfere with their performances in the slightest.

“The band does communicate with the people in the press box. In my opinion, it sucks that the speakers aren’t on because it ruins the experience,” he said.

Fans want the music, it doesn’t interfere with the band, and it improves UK’s home-field advantage each game.

It may be expensive, but it’s worth it. We need Kroger Field rocking.

Article written by Jack Pilgrim

Follow me on Twitter: @JackPilgrimKSR

12 Comments for Kentucky responds to fan complaints on sound issues at Kroger Field



  1. FakeLarryDavid
    9:38 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    Not buying it! Fake News!



  2. Brutal Hustler
    10:33 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    Give a redshirt to one of the freshmen trumpet players and have them hold up playcall poster boards to tell the band which song to play like the football team does. It’s a simple fix really



  3. KayutsBy90
    10:36 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    So when they spent $120 million on renovations they clearly didn’t care about improving the fan experience for everyone, just the ones with the most money. Also didn’t we sell our souls to Kroger so that improvements like this could be made with the money we get from them?



  4. CPACAT
    11:04 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    Been to two games this year, one on the North sideline and one on the South. I thought there was only sound coming from the West end zone…but was like…”no way they make $160M in improvements and have a high school sound system at one end”…Oh My!!



  5. Condo1122
    11:22 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    Screw the horrid music we play, you can’t even hear the officials when they announce a penalty



  6. caturdayLs
    11:40 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    Yeah, all the sound comes from the speakers located above the West endzone. During some of the games earlier this season the sound was painfully loud over near the student section and the band. In my opinion, a distributed sound system like what Nissan Stadium in Nashville has would be great. The sound quality there got much, much better when they installed that.



  7. luke_emberton
    11:49 pm October 9, 2017 Permalink

    how hard is it to buy Bose speakers? UK has more than enough money to purchase new sound equipment



  8. W.C.
    12:45 am October 10, 2017 Permalink

    Why is the volume such a difficult problem to solve? Turn it up to where the players and the under 40 concert goers are happy and pass out ear plugs to all the others who want them. Everyone would be happy. Or would have to find something else to complain about.



  9. kuhlkat
    1:13 am October 10, 2017 Permalink

    Matt always says the music is for the players. Maybe but be careful you don’t run off the over 40 crowd with loud rap. Fans must be considered along with players IMO



  10. Lexingtonyn
    5:43 am October 10, 2017 Permalink

    I’d rather have WIFI.



  11. Jayy
    9:47 am October 10, 2017 Permalink

    I find the other teams scores on the ribbon more laughable. One game they had all the start times listed as central times. The Eastern Mich game the scores were on a 3 hour lag. Games were already over and they had whatever the score was in the 1st quarter. Amateur hour over there.



  12. CatMan4
    11:00 am October 10, 2017 Permalink

    Please have Guy Ramsey watch the VA Tech intro for the Clemson game this year (or almost any other major conference team), and maybe he will understand the importance of the sound system. Ours is like 2 guys from 1992 in the end zone with their trunks popped. We spent $160mm and someone forgot speakers?!?!? Just like little things like twice leaving a receiver uncovered can lose you a game; spending $160mm on upgrades, but leaving the speakers in one end zone from 1980 can ruin fan experience, and lose the motivational aspect for players.