Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Four Wildcats named Associated Press First Team All-SEC

Congratulations to Lynn Bowden, Logan Stenberg, Drake Jackson, and Max Duffy, who were all named First Team All-SEC by the Associated Press this morning. Bowden took the honor at the All-Purpose spot after juggling duties at wide receiver, returner, and quarterback for Kentucky this season.

Bowden, a finalist for the Paul Hornung Award for the nation’s most versatile player, currently leads the SEC and ranks ninth nationally in all-purpose yardage, averaging 153.0 yards per game (note that all-purpose yardage does not include Bowden’s passing yardage as a quarterback). He is one of only three players in the top nine nationally with rushing, receiving, punt return and kickoff return yards.

Stenberg and Jackson are integral parts of Kentucky’s “Big Blue Wall,” which has helped the Cats put together their fourth consecutive season of 2,000 or more rushing yards. Four players have rushed for more than 500 yards this season: running back A.J. Rose, quarterback Lynn Bowden Jr., running back Kavosiey Smoke and running back Christopher Rodriguez Jr., including three with over 600 yards (Bowden, Rose, Smoke). Kentucky’s running game is averaging 274.4 yards per game, which leads the SEC and ranks fifth nationally. The Big Blue Wall is one of ten semifinalists for the Joe Moore Award, given to the Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit.

Max Duffy is a finalist for the Ray Guy Award for the nation’s top punter. He leads the nation in punting, averaging 48.6 yards per punt and is Kentucky’s career punting leader with a 46.5-yard career average. Only nine of his 47 punts have been returned and 24 have landed inside the 20-yard line. Behind Duffy’s leg, Kentucky leads the nation in net punting with a 45.13-yard net average.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow was the unanimous selection for SEC Offensive Player of the Year, while Auburn defensive tackle Derrick Brown was named Defensive Player of the Year. LSU cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. was named Newcomer of the Year and LSU’s Ed Orgeron won Coach of the Year.



  • u-QB – Joe Burrow, LSU, 6-foot-4, 216, Sr., Athens, Ohio
  • u-RB – Clyde Edwards-Helaire, LSU, 5-8, 209, Jr., Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • RB – Kylin Hill, Mississippi State, 5-11, 215, Jr., Columbus, Mississippi
  • T – Andrew Thomas, Georgia, 6-5, 320, Jr., Lithonia, Georgia
  • T – Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama, 6-5, 320, Jr., Lexington, Kentucky
  • G – Trey Smith, Tennessee, 6-6, 325, Jr., Jackson, Tennessee
  • G – Logan Stenberg, Kentucky, 6-6, 322, Sr., Madison, Alabama
  • C – Drake Jackson, Kentucky, 6-2, 313, Jr., Versailles, Kentucky
  • TE – Kyle Pitts, Florida, 6-6, 239, Soph., Philadelphia
  • u-WR – Ja’Marr Chase, LSU, 6-1, 200, Soph., Harvey, Louisiana
  • WR – DeVonta Smith, Alabama, 6-1, 175, Jr., Amite, Louisiana
  • All-purpose – Lynn Bowden Jr., Kentucky, 6-1, 199, Jr., Youngstown, Ohio
  • K – Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia, 6-1, 191, Sr., Marietta, Georgia


  • E – Marlon Davidson, Auburn, 6-3, 278, Sr., Greenville, Alabama
  • E – Jonathan Greenard, Florida, 6-3, 263, Gr., Hiram, Georgia
  • T – Derrick Brown, Auburn, 6-5, 318, Sr., Sugar Hill, Georgia
  • T – Jordan Elliott, Missouri, 6-4, 315, Jr., Missouri City, Texas
  • LB – Nick Bolton, Missouri, 6-0, 235, Soph., Frisco, Texas
  • LB – K.J. Britt, Auburn, 6-0, 236, Jr., Oxford, Alabama
  • LB – Anfernee Jennings, Alabama, 6-3, 259, Sr., Dadeville, Alabama
  • CB – Trevon Diggs, Alabama, 6-2, 207, Sr., Gaithersburg, Maryland
  • CB – Derek Stingley Jr., LSU, 6-1, 190, Fr., Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • S – Xavier McKinney, Alabama, 6-1, 200, Jr., Roswell, Georgia
  • S – Nigel Warrior, Tennessee, 6-0, 190, Sr., College Park, Georgia
  • P – Max Duffy, Kentucky, 6-1, 186, Jr., Perth, Australia



  • QB – Tua Tagoailoa, Alabama, 6-1, 218, Jr., Ewa Beach, Hawaii
  • RB – Najee Harris, Alabama, 6-2, 230, Jr., Antioch, California
  • RB – D’Andre Swift, Georgia, 5-9, 215, Jr., Philadelphia
  • T – Alex Leatherwood, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr., Pensacola, Florida
  • T – Isaiah Wilson, Georgia, 6-7, 340, Soph., Brooklyn, New York
  • G – Landon Dickerson, Alabama, 6-6, 308, Jr., Hickory, North Carolina
  • G – Damien Lewis, LSU, 6-3, 322, Sr., Canton, Mississippi
  • C – Trey Hill, Georgia, 6-4, 330, Soph., Warner Robins, Georgia
  • TE – Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M, 6-5, 260, Fr., Dickinson, Texas
  • WR – Justin Jefferson, LSU, 6-3, 192, Jr., St. Rose, Louisiana
  • WR – Jerry Jeudy, Alabama, 6-1, 192, Jr., Deerfield Beach, Florida
  • All-purpose – Jaylen Waddle, Alabama, 5-10, 182, Soph., Houston
  • K – Cade York, LSU, 6-2, 189, Fr., McKinney, Texas


  • E – Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State, 6-3, 275, Sr., Stone Mountain, Georgia
  • E – D.J. Wonnum, South Carolina, 6-5, 260, Sr., Stone Mountain, Georgia
  • T – Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina, 6-6, 310, Sr., Charleston, South Carolina
  • T – Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M, 6-3, 304, Jr., McKinney, Texas
  • LB – K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU, 6-4, 250, Soph., Houston
  • LB – De’Jon Harris, Arkansas, 6-0, 245, Sr., Harvey, Louisiana
  • x-LB – David Reese, Florida, 6-0, 220, R-Fr., Fort Pierce, Florida
  • x-LB – Monty Rice, Georgia, 6-1, 235, Jr., Huntsville, Alabama
  • x-CB – Israel Mukuamu, South Carolina, 6-4, 205, Soph., Bossier City, Louisiana
  • x-CB – Kristian Fulton, LSU, 6-0, 200, Sr., New Orleans
  • x-CB – Eric Stokes, Georgia, 6-1, 185, Soph., Covington, Georgia
  • S – Grant Delpit, LSU, 6-3, 203, Jr., Houston
  • S – Jeremiah Dinson, Auburn, 6-0, 191, Sr., Miami
  • P – Braden Mann, Texas A&M, 5-11, 195, Sr., Houston

u-Unanimous selection


[Associated Press]

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

6 Comments for Four Wildcats named Associated Press First Team All-SEC

  1. BluemanGreen
    11:58 am December 9, 2019 Permalink

    Amazing for our offense…but our D got ZERO?! What an absolute crock of shit. Calvin Taylor got hosed

  2. the ghost of Bill Hicks
    12:06 pm December 9, 2019 Permalink

    Did any UK O-lineman have more penalties than Stenberg? Dude was a walking penalty flag.

  3. CJKAssassin123
    12:33 pm December 9, 2019 Permalink

    I’m surprised And Wagner didn’t get at least Second team. Another thing I don’t particularly agree with is having DeVante Smith ahead of Jerry Jeudy. On what planet is DeVante Smith better than Jerry Jeudy? They are both good players but Jeudy is going to be the better player a decent margin at the next level just because the stats arn’t there doesn’t mean Jeudy isn’t making a big impact in the game. He has been mostly in the slot this year as a decoy to help set up the run or passes to the outside kind of how Seattle used Tyler Lockett. I think they should swop spots then it’s makes since.

    • CJKAssassin123
      12:34 pm December 9, 2019 Permalink

      Amad Wagner not And Wagner sorry I hate my phone keyboard ugh!!

  4. BluemanGreen
    12:36 pm December 9, 2019 Permalink

    TJ Carter, Boogie…

  5. bbn606
    2:59 pm December 9, 2019 Permalink

    Only Alabama had more first teamers than UK.