Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Final Film Review: Kentucky and Tennessee

dobbs

With little need to rehash the details that led to an ugly result, this post will be shorter than weeks past…

TENNESSEE SCORING PLAYS

— Joshua Dobbs, 28-yard run

— Aaron Medley, 44-yard field goal

— Josh Malone, 75-yard reception (on first down)

— Joshua Dobbs, 1-yard run (63-yard Kamara run to set up score)

— Jalen Hurd, 37-yard screen

— Evan Berry, 100-yard kickoff return

— Cameron Sutton, 84-yard punt return

Counting Alvin Kamara’s 63-yard run that led to a half-yard Dobbs QB sneak, Tennessee averaged 55.28 yards per score.

KENTUCKY SCORING PLAYS

— Cory Johnson, 77-yard scoop-and-score

— Patrick Towles, 1-yard run

— Garrett Johnson, 39-yard reception

WHAT IT ALL MEANS

— Kentucky has surrendered 13 touchdowns in the past eight quarters. The scoring onslaught can be attributed to one-on-one mismatches, sloppy tackling, and at times, defensive misalignment. The offense hasn’t helped. At one point in the first quarter, UT outgained the Cats, 144-2 yards. During all of the two yards, the Cats had ran six plays. Defense is on the field way, way too long.

— Two special team scores will get you beat, regardless the opponent. Evan Berry was leading the SEC and the nation going into Saturday’s game. A 3.1-second hang-time kickoff was like putting a baseball on a tee for a home run hitter. Coverage team had little chance to recover or defend. During Sutton’s 84-yard punt return, Mark Stoops indicated that two players did not perform their assigned duties. 14 non-offensive points, inexcusable.

— Offensively, first downs continue to limit production. All too often, 2nd-and-10 or worse has led to three-and-outs.

— Domination on both lines of scrimmage. Kentucky is just plain getting whipped up front. No other way to put it.

— With Kentucky quarterbacks getting very little time to go through progressions, when it does so, dropped passes or errant throws are the result. UK is a team whose supposed strength was its ability to throw the football. Pitching, protecting, and catching have been inconsistent at best.

— If you were to tell me that UK would hold Jalen Hurd to 63 rushing yards on 18 attempts, I would have assumed the game would have been closer. See above explosive play touchdowns as to why that was not the occasion. Kentucky’s first and second down defense was efficient. Third downs were its nemesis, again.

— UT safeties were playing 25 yards off the line of scrimmage. They did so to take away UK’s vertical passing game. The Volunteers didn’t have to blitz as it was getting plenty of pressure from its front four defenders.

— Tennessee was obviously the more skilled and talented football team. The Volunteers were bigger, stronger, and faster. UK is not at a talent position in which it can play sloppy and expect to win. Not yet.

— Someway, somehow, CJ Conrad must become an offensive focal point. The rookie is too good to be targeted only once in a night of offensive struggles.

POSITIVES

— Mikel Horton exploded through the line of scrimmage. Normally a slow starter, Horton displayed a quick burst that resulted into a 14 rush, 110-yard game.

— Freshman defensive players: Cornerbacks Derrick Baity and Chris Westry, and safety Mike Edwards, played well. This week’s depth chart changes reflect their play.

NEXT

Kentucky travels to Georgia on Saturday. The Dawgs are reeling. UGA hasn’t scored a touchdown in 10 quarters; it’s struggling at quarterback and completely underachieving. The SEC East favorites are now on the outside looking into to Atlanta. But remember, Georgia is supremely talented with many future NFL players on its roster. The Wildcats are now in a four game fight for their postseason lives.

Article written by Freddie Maggard

Former University of Kentucky Quarterback and Andy Griffith Fan Club President

42 Comments for Final Film Review: Kentucky and Tennessee



  1. Tom B
    11:05 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Freddie, excellent post again. I’ll keep a casual eye on the team until the end of the season, which will be the UL game. Two straight seasons of regression and no bowl have me a bit numb on our team. I’m switching gears to roundball.



  2. TRAVIS
    11:15 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    I wish Stoops would get a couple big linemen to hold Towles down and give him a burr.
    I’d also like him to tell the players to quit dancing around on the field when we are getting our butts whipped. There is very little pride or leadership on this team. We need a couple players that will grab the facemask of their teammates and shout in their face and not put up with lack of effort.
    Size, strength and speed matters a lot but heart is the X factor and we ain’t got none !!!!!



    • CatsBy80
      11:48 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

      I share your sentiments. From an outsiders perspective, leadership & desire certainly seem to be lacking. You would think that these guys would have enough pride that when they’re getting punched in the gut like they have the last two weeks, they’d eventually get pissed off and play with some emotion. Not seeing any of that from where I sit… Hoping for the best against UGA, but not expecting much…



  3. KYCATS13
    11:23 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Call this column “The Kats Eye”



  4. SinceStollField
    11:24 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Thanks for the analysis. You say the “scoring onslaught can be attributed to one-on-one mismatches, sloppy tackling, and at times, defensive misalignment.” Aren’t these all indications of a poorly coached defense?



    • @BallBlog_Chad
      11:28 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

      I think each of those means something different … we have experienced guys who know where to be but can’t always make the plays and we have young guys who can make the plays, but have problems always being in the right spot



    • SinceStollField
      11:41 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

      I agree somewhat, but isn’t it the coach’s job to have the guys who can make the plays on the field and in the right spot? It seems like we are spending too much time on the guys who can’t make the play even if they are in the right spot. Our only chance is improving the young guys who can make the plays and that doesn’t seem to be happening.



  5. @BallBlog_Chad
    11:24 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    We’re dead last in the SEC avg 39 yds a punt, that’s killing us … I thought our punt game would be so much better than that this year … can’t find net yards, I’d really like to see how terrible our number there is



    • SinceStollField
      11:43 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

      There is only one team in the SEC that doesn’t have a special teams coach. I bet you can guess who it is.



    • GatorCat
      12:30 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      The 39 yds/punt figure is misleading……..it’s even worse since Foster is hitting 39 yard line drives with 2 second air times (can’t even use term hang time). Way past wondering what is wrong with him. Is the back-up not at least that good???



  6. Lets blame the players and not Stoops
    11:26 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Freddie, save ink and brain cells. Just write the same article for next week and insert the word Georgia for the word Tennessee throughout the article. This is a sinking ship and Stoops and his entire staff should be embarrassed and smiling when cashing their huge pay check each week.

    Awaiting Stoops new batch of Blue Kool Aid for this week. The bottle label say Unacceptable Blue Ale, I been drinking it for years. Stoops flavor is the best with the secret bs ingredient added.



  7. CorntuckyJoe
    11:26 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Can we just move on……



  8. KYCATS13
    11:29 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Three years ago we were in the same situation as Tennessee. Tennessee has advanced much further than the Cats. This can be attributed to recruiting, but we have done well in that category as well. Other teams seem to get better without great recruiting classes: Toledo, Houston, and Memphis.

    I say our situation is proportional to the ability of our coaches to “COACH”. Specifically the offensive and defensive coordinators. Too, Stoops needs to be a better manager of his program.



  9. Bulls and Dogs
    11:31 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    We have to do a better job. We have to do a better job. We have to do a better job. We have to do a better job. We have to do a better job.

    For three years this is all Stoops says in press interviews. All I can say is we have to do a better job. Please say something different, please Stoops please!



    • Kyblue34
      1:13 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Amen to that! This is one of the main reasons I’m close to jumping off the Stoops bandwagon. His post game interviews are laughable! For that matter, so are his pre-game interviews….all he ever says pre-game is that our team is looking forward to playing better, and then half our team looks like they would rather be at the dentist than playing.



  10. Dude Seriously
    11:34 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Freddie…is the defensive line getting whipped, or is the scheme flawed or both? Do you think they should scrap the 3-4 and put four lineman up front? With our personnel currently would this help? Serious question based on your knowledge of our personnel and seeing what opposing offenses are doing to us.



    • UKBlue1!
      11:49 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Whipped!



  11. UKBlue1!
    11:47 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Freddie, I couldn’t stomach it to watch it on my DVR. I left at end of UK’s 1st possession of the 4th quarter. I hate saying this but I think UGA offense will get well this weekend. This has the makings of a disastrous finish to the season. I’ll keep reading your post, you bring a lot of quality insight to KSR.



  12. Dukehater
    11:56 am November 3, 2015 Permalink

    UK football has continually let us down season after season. We always get hyped when we expect a good season to only end up with the same results. UK will always be a mediocre football program at best. I refuse to get my hopes up any longer no matter what recruits we bring in and what coach we have. I am tired of of it. Call me a “fair weather fan” and the like, but when the weather is always cloudy how do expect anyone who supports this team to be optimistic?

    Can we stop all these football posts and concentrate on basketball. UK is a basketball school, plain and simple and no amount of arguments or analysis will ever change that.



  13. Andy
    12:06 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    UK should move to the sun belt conference. Our coaching meets that leagues requirements.



    • Randy
      12:29 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Totally agree.

      And while we’re at it, many fans, such as yourself, should go back and finish elementary school.



    • Troll
      12:37 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Oh Randy don’t be butthurt. We will be better next year, I think that’s what we keep saying.



    • Randy
      12:40 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      But, I like penis. So, there’s that.



    • Randy
      12:44 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      I’m a Louisville troll – of course I love penis!!! 😀



    • Andy
      1:28 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Randy – no need to get your panties in a wad bro. The EKU game was telling. We have been using the same old soundbites after getting whopped. We have a QB who is streaky at best, Oline that can’t protect and a d that can’t tackle.for shit. You Tell Me Where THE IMPROVEMENT Is and i will shut up. Moron!!



    • Randy
      6:00 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      I only wear panties when I go to Louisville functions. Bro. 😉



  14. Justwinbaby
    12:28 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    As usual great analysis Freddie. We need to involve King in running game, Horton got a lot of those yards because Tenn was in a prevent type defense most of second half. Horton good but not explosive.



    • Edward
      2:30 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Freddie,

      Where is Jojo and why is he not playing more. Perhaps if he had been getting more snaps Boom might not be so banged up.



  15. Doyle McConnell
    12:41 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    I agree w/ a lot of the above comments but I do still believe in the coach. He has made mistakes for sure but that goes along with being a first time coach. What I do not understand is why we do not use Patrick more as a runner. Rick Nuehiesel says, and I agree, ” if you are not using your QB as a dual threat option in today’s game then you are playing with one arm tied behind your back”



    • Edward
      2:39 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Agreed, we have faced two QB’s in as many weeks who run the ball and either get tackled or score TD’s. Our QB sometimes runs for awhile and then slides down, kinda silly like he is sliding into first base. Maybe that is why our defense is getting ripped by these dual threat QB’s, it must be in practice when the defense closes on a QB that they expect him to go into a slide. We need to explain to D.J. that is not in the game plan of other teams. Why do you teach that Shannon Dawson?



  16. zxwav
    12:50 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    What it all means is UK has a head coach and staff that are in the learning stages,and three years from now will be no better than they are today.



    • Hey
      12:52 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Don’t you have a hooker scandal to worry about…??



    • Jim
      12:59 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Yeah because anyone that sees this coaching staff for what it is must be a Card fan. It’s always good to have the Homer’s i guess.



    • Hey
      1:02 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      Seriously though, hookers.



  17. jdarren1963
    12:53 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    We definitely need to get CJ Conrad the ball more often. I know he’s a good blocker, but he is one of the best offensive weapons we have and probably the best receiver. He obviously has the best hands. Got to get him the ball somehow.



  18. djeliot
    1:21 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    I have watched several games with a high school coaching veteran who has won a state title and makes the post season on an annual basis . Many times he will tell me what the other team’s play will be based on how UK is lined up on defense. He is correct about 90% of the time. He says we are misaligned on a regular basis. For instance, against Miss St we were overloaded to one side which made it easy for Prescott to run for a TD untouched the other way. Over the years, I rarely heard him be critical of our coaching until this bunch.



  19. BKisler
    1:37 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Firing a coach every 3 years will not build a program; not even a average one. Tennessee should be 8-0. Had they lost to the Cats; the Vol nation would not have let Butch back in the state. They have a very good team. had the games against Oklahoma, Florida, Alabama and Arkansas won and found a way to lose them; not to mention should have won at Bama last week.

    I agree things must get better. I also agree with Freddie; we are getting dominated on the line of scrimmage on both sides of the ball. Look at the 4 games we lost and that has been the key. Had Baker made his two catches vs Auburn and Florida and we won those ; as we should have; most everyone is very happy. We must quit beating ourselves with stupid mistakes, and penalties.

    We do need to show some emotion and play with heart. Who are the leaders of this team ? They need to be accountable.



    • jdarren1963
      2:00 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

      ^^This^^



  20. Bull
    2:10 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Not where we want to be but look at Frank Beamers first 6 seasons. 2 & 9, 3 & 8, 6 – 4 – 1, 6 & 5, 5 & 6, – 2 – 8 – 1. Then they go 9 & 3. We can’t get the top lineman in the country out of high school, so we will have to grow some.



  21. Tilly
    3:20 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Stoops always says that the team needs to play better and get tougher. He sounds like Billy Clyde. That’s not the only similarity between him and Billy……………



  22. roundball fool
    4:14 pm November 3, 2015 Permalink

    Nice work, Freddie. Thanks for reiterating the need to use Conrad more.
    The ” now you see him, now you don’t ” scheme has been perplexing to say the least.
    But, quite a bit of what we’ve seen this year has been downright mystifying – lack of energy, clock management, play calling on both sides and of course special teams.

    Remember, if we get to a bowl that’s a big stride and that’s all a bunch of us wanted out of this year.

    And yes, I’m fired up about basketball. They are going to be a blast to watch!