Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Bye Week Observations and Cats-Dogs Preview

untitled

PIC BY THESPORTINGNEWS.COM

I enjoyed a peaceful, nearly Twitter-less weekend as the Kentucky Wildcats enjoyed some time off to heal. All Hades broke out during the Cats’ bye week.

Let’s take a look:

— It’s safe to say that Alabama is undeniably the number one team in the nation after Saturday’s stomping in Knoxville. There are coaches that recruit at the highest level. There are coaches that send a large number of their players to the professional ranks. There are also coaches that win multiple championships. But there is no coach that accomplishes all three as well as Nick Saban. His Alabama teams have won four out of the last seven national championships. He won a title in 2003 while at LSU. Nick Saban will win his 6th national championship in 2016 unless something unearthly happens as this year’s Bama defense is arguably his best ever.

— Conjecture at this point, but as I see it the four best teams are:

Alabama…………INFINITY……………..Washington, Ohio State, and Michigan.

On the outside looking in are Texas A&M and Clemson.

— The SEC East is in a state of bewilderment.

— Vanderbilt beat Georgia. As we discussed a week ago, there is no such thing as an ugly or bad SEC win. The Commodores have been close, but had yet to win a late, close game. It did so between the hedges by limiting the Dawgs to just 75 rushing yards.

— A wise man once told me, “Situations (seasons) are never as good or as bad as they initially appear.” Didn’t panic at 0-2. I’m also choosing not to be unrealistically enthusiastic by the Cats’ future opponent woes. UK is way too young and thin to project future performance.

— Dan Mullen coached his butt off in a losing effort against BYU. He challenged officials’ spots and calls, went for it on 4th down, and pulled out all the tricks in order to motivate his Bulldogs to steal a Provo win. After traveling across the nation to play in 2 overtimes and 4,500 elevation, Mullen’s 2-4 team will visit Commonwealth Stadium desperately seeking its 3rd win.

— Tennessee put all its eggs into two baskets: Alabama and Florida. Butch Jones finally beat the Gators but his team was absolutely drummed by the Tide on Saturday. It will be interesting to see how the Vols respond after getting embarrassed by their one-time rival.

— Other than a reversal of good fortune on offense and defense, Missouri is who many thought they would be. Following a 79-0 beat-down and statistical explosion against Delaware State, the Tigers were beaten 42-7 by LSU and lost 40-14 in the Swamp.

 

untitled1

PIC BY NEWSDAY.COM

Previewing Mississippi State

Mississippi State is 2-4 on the season, 1-2 on the road.

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-8-49-19-am

OFFENSE

Scoring 24.8 points per game
Rushing 190.67 yards per game
Passing 211 yards per game
Total 401 yards per game
3rd Down 33.33%
Red Zone 75%, 14 TDs, 7 FGs

2 Best Players

 

QB Nick Fitzgerald: 71.83 rush yards per game.

Passing: 91/165, 166.3 ypg, 55.2%, 8 TDs, 4 INTs.

WR Fred Ross: 34 catches, 5 TDs, 386 yards.

 

untitled3

PIC BY LAWLESS REPUBLIC


DEFENSE

Scoring 26.5 points per game
Rush 136.7 yards per game
Pass 225 yards per game
Total 361.3 yards per game
3rd Down 41.57%
QB Sacks 12
Tackles for Loss 43

2 Best Players

 

— DE AJ Jefferson: 26 tackles, 1 forced fumble, 3 QB Sacks, 10 TFL

— LB Richie Brown: 51 tackles, 8.5 tackles per game, 2.5 TFL, 1 forced fumble


MISCELANEOUS NOTES

— At 2-4 and in the SEC West basement, the Dogs will be in a must-win situation on Saturday.

— Offensive tempo concerns. Miss State plays fast which will prevent UK from situationally substituting.

— Dan Mullen’s passing game focuses a large percentage of throws over the middle of the field. UK has struggled in this area.

— QB Nick Fitzgerald defines duel threat. He leads the team in rushing with 71.83 yards per game.

— Miss State loads the box and challenges opposing offenses to throw the football. It held BYU to 311 total yards in a loss and only allows 136.7 rush yards per game.

 

Don’t be fooled by the record. Mississippi State is a veteran team searching for its post-Dak identity. The Dogs will be desperate and possibly tired after traveling across the country in its loss to BYU last Friday night.

Article written by Freddie Maggard

Former University of Kentucky Quarterback and Andy Griffith Fan Club President

8 Comments for Bye Week Observations and Cats-Dogs Preview



  1. Bill3
    10:50 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

    Nice overview Freddie. The only thing I’m concerned about is us. If we come out flat it will be very hard to recover. If we play with fire and focus we will be alright. I expect State to hit the field with an “attitude.”



  2. Sentient Third Eye
    10:54 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

    It sounds like this game will hinge on one thing: can Johnson get back to throwing the ball at least well enough to keep the defense honest?



    • ClutchCargo
      11:22 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

      I think if we have any semblance of a passing game, we win this one. Johnson doesn’t have to be Dak Prescott, just keep them honest vs. the run. I’m actually starting to feel pretty good about our D at this point.



  3. ClutchCargo
    11:07 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

    Any guesses on how many cowbells will be brought by MSU fans? I always hate that. Years ago I had the good fortune to be in the right place at the right time on the concourse at CWS as a drunk idot MSU fan was running from security and hitting random people with his cowbell. Another guy and I gang tackled him and shut that sh#t down.



    • ClutchCargo
      11:08 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

      *idiot. Ha!



  4. Sentient Third Eye
    11:15 am October 17, 2016 Permalink

    I wonder if that Stingray guy who calls in on Finebaum will be trash-talking us this week? I hope not, because he sure is intimidating.



  5. WeareBBN
    12:26 pm October 17, 2016 Permalink

    Well both qb’s can’t throw so this ought to be another boring game to watch. Whoever wins will get an ugly W, but I would take it.

  6. James Harden & the Robertson’s are jealous of A.J. Jefferson’s beard.