Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

UK deferring Fox’s triple-double controversy to official scorers

852a5010

The second triple-double in Kentucky basketball history is in serious jeopardy after SportsCenter noticed one of Fox’s recorded assists didn’t actually happen.

The final decision on what will become of Fox’s final assist total has been deferred to the official scorers in the Bahamas, according to a spokesperson from UK, to Kyle Tucker:

“We are aware of the statistic in question and informed the official scorers,” UK spokesman Eric Lindsey said Tuesday afternoon. “We defer all decisions to the official scorer. Because of travel, they are currently working through the process now of evaluating the play in question.” [SEC Country]

If the triple-double is taken away, it is really unfortunate for Fox, who would’ve gotten his actual tenth assist if he had known he needed it. The scoreboard in Atlantis led him and Calipari to believe he had gotten to ten, so he went to the bench with over four minutes to go in the game. If they had known he was still on nine, Fox would’ve played until adding one more.

This is on you, scorekeeping person.

Article written by Drew Franklin

I can recite every line from Forrest Gump, blindfolded. Follow me on Twitter: @DrewFranklinKSR

25 Comments for UK deferring Fox’s triple-double controversy to official scorers



  1. MikesWay
    4:19 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    “Mark it nine, dude” – Chris Mills, probably



    • catdaddyd
      1:27 am November 30, 2016 Permalink

      When I was watching I didn’t think he had it either. I was counting from halftime on, and thought I missed one or two when they said he was one away. One of the most fun games of the Calipari era, watched again today.



  2. Sarahvah
    4:21 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    So when will we know



  3. runningunnin.454
    4:28 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    Officials make mistakes all the time, in all sports, and they stand.
    It should stand.



  4. Jordan
    4:29 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    Looks like Fox is #TeamEdward



  5. howieg64
    4:31 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    Why does HYPESPN care that much to bring it up? Bias much?



  6. FatSparxxx
    4:41 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    early CFP projections before they release tonight https://gritfathers.wordpress.com/2016/11/29/cfp-rankings-championship-week/



  7. Sticky Ceiling
    4:42 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    Drew, what platform do you suggest for sports betting?



  8. Han
    4:46 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    This is what happens if you don’t go to at least 10. Leave no doubt.



  9. ClutchCargo
    4:47 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    That blows almost as much as the no-hitter that was taken away by a terrible call at first base a few years ago. The official scorer is the official scorer, so it might actually just stand. I’m 100% sure, with the chemistry this team has, Fox isn’t going to lose any sleep over it either way. Most fans probably didn’t even remember the last guy who did it until they were reminded.



    • Catsby80
      8:45 am November 30, 2016 Permalink

      that was a perfect game, not just a no hitter. that was truly ridiculous.



  10. EdC
    5:07 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    So are they going to go back and make 100% sure on every single rebound and every assist in case he got an extra of either here or there in the game?



  11. RealCatsFan
    5:14 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    DeAaron will probably just go out and get ANOTHER triple double against UCLA this weekend just for good measure. 🙂



    • Luether
      10:27 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

      Doubt it. He’ll be going up against Lonzo Ball, the only point guard last year rated higher than him…



    • UK Big Board Update
      3:08 am November 30, 2016 Permalink

      Luether still trolling because he mad. LOL



  12. J-Dub421
    5:28 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    So, can we go back and replay Wisconsin in the Final Four from 2015?? All three officials missed that shot clock violation and it affected the outcome of the game. I mean if accuracy is suddenly the most important thing, then let’s go review everything on video ever and make sure it’s 100% correct. Yes, this is sarcasm. Sorry, but much like with everything else, once the game is over, case closed.



    • runningunnin.454
      5:34 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

      Yeah, did they re-check every FG, 3pt FG, and FT to make sure the score in a blow out game was 100% correct?



    • Ridge Runner
      5:50 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

      Amen jdub



  13. Tony the Liger
    5:49 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    He didn’t get the assist on the play, so it isn’t a triple-double. Sucks, but it is what it is.



    • UK Big Board Update
      6:33 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

      Well, you have fun going around correcting everyone from now on.



    • EdC
      9:32 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

      Did you check the entire game? If not then you don’t know if he did or didn’t because he might have not gotten credited for one that he did get.



  14. Rixter
    6:06 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    So.. the official scorers don’t keep score at the time the game is going on?? I’m confused.



  15. Mharris2007
    7:14 pm November 29, 2016 Permalink

    This excerpt is directly from the NCAA’s Statistics Policies and Guidelines.

    Example: If an official scorer in basketball credited the wrong player with a free throw made and the
    recording clearly shows a different player shooting, then the correct player should be credited with the
    free throw made and attempted. If the dispute is whether there was an assist on a certain play, this is a
    judgment call and the official box score should stand as is.

    http://www.ncaa.org/championships/statistics?division=d1

    Click on the NCAA Statistics Policies and scroll down to page 21. That is where you will find the expert. If they change the triple double, then they are going against their own rules.