Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

The Starkville Scorekeeper Robbed Kentucky from Two Points

© Jim Brown | USATSI

© Jim Brown | USATSI

Two Kentucky points were taken off the scoreboard because of an incompetent scorekeeper.

In the middle of Mississippi State’s monster second half run, Kentucky struggled to get easy offense.  On one possession they appeared to have finally found it, after a missed dunk by Nick Richards.

The Kentucky center drop-stepped toward the basket.  His dunk was partially blocked by a Bulldog defender and the rim.  Reid Travis corralled the offensive rebound.  As State’s defense recovered, Richards was wide open for redemption.  Before Richards completed the dunk, the shot clock siren rang, even though only six or seven seconds had past since Richards’ first miss.

Officials initially ruled a shot clock violation.  After hearing from John Calipari, officials went to the monitor to review the play. The ball obviously hit the rim when Richards missed the dunk.  A blind man could have seen it, but the Starkville scorekeeper did not.

The shot clock violation was overturned, but the two points from Richard’s second dunk were erased.  Kentucky retained possession, a possession that produced zero points and failed to slow Miss. State’s roll.  Luckily, Kentucky hung on for a four-point win.  If not, that scorekeeper’s snafu would have been a tough pill to swallow.

This egregious mistake must be retribution for Drew Franklin.  It’s the only logical explanation.


Article written by Nick Roush

"Look upon the doughnut, and not upon the hole." @RoushKSR

26 Comments for The Starkville Scorekeeper Robbed Kentucky from Two Points

  1. VinDatuk
    4:43 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Same official from Saints/Rams game?

    4:44 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    No doubt this is a direct response against Franklin’s honest an accurate account of Starkville.

    If anything, Drew’s visceral response to Starksville is understated.

  3. Smyrna_Cat
    4:46 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Wasn’t this a ref thing?

    • ukcamel
      4:51 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

      I think because the bucket was after the false shot clock violation then it can’t count (even though everyone knows he would have scored and no one stopped playing). The question is how can you not reset the shot clock there? It’s not like the ball grazed the rim. I’m not saying the person responsible should be fired, but he should be kicked in the butt.

    • dcforuk
      9:48 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

      I will not keep clock in a middle school game because I sometimes become a fan and neglect my responsibilities. Perhaps that shot clock operator is too much of a fan and has neglected his responsibilities

  4. Bluebloodtoo
    4:48 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Thanks drew!!

  5. ScoggDog
    4:51 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    I’m surprised this stuff does not happen more. And it probably will.

    Any advantage a team can take – they’re gonna’ take. I don’t trust NCAA Refs – but NCAA Refs should probably be running the clock.

    Except for Doug Shows.

  6. Nickerbocker05
    5:12 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Incompetent writer… it was EJ Montgomery who collected the rebound, not Travis. Get your facts straight Nick

  7. catsarerunnin
    5:15 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Well consider the source…lol.

  8. michaelb
    5:26 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    That sequence described was preposterous, I flipped my wig , we were robbed – plus it was in the middle of msu’s barrage of a comeback . Clearly a bucket we earned just decidedly not given to us because of shitty officiating . You can’t do stuff like that when it’s just plain as day . How did none of the zebras see the missed dunk? Like what we’re all three of them watching ? We’re they on their phones ? There’s no excuse for that shit . The need to be written up for that . It’s the worst I’ve seen all year – it reminded me of the auburn game this year

    • Dusten
      5:53 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

      I’ll give you one improper use of the contraction ‘we’re’, but two in the same comment? I begin to wonder if you’re the type of person to misspell ‘Tennessee’.

    • michaelb
      6:15 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

      I typed ‘the’ when I meant ‘they’ too. You miss that one ? Good thing this isn’t a spelling contest . How come it looks like you are sick with newmoanya in your pic? Cause you sit inside bumping your Lil sausage fingers off the key board all day ? Your mouth looks like a butt hole by the way . Lol jk have a good day

    • Skooms
      8:08 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

      Is that a dog or pet cow in that pic Dusten?

    • njCat
      3:51 pm February 10, 2019 Permalink

      That sure escalated quickly ?

  9. wildcat wayne
    5:32 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    EJ also ended up getting a foul on that extended possession

  10. Blue Jesus
    6:47 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    It was Montgomery, not Travis, who rebounded the missed dunk and dished it to SNR.

  11. Matt10
    7:18 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Why are my clean, respectful comments going to moderation?

  12. UKBigBlueForever
    7:54 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Because Nick is a douchebag

  13. 1stkatman
    8:06 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Just to set the record straight, the play was blown dead by the inadvertent buzzer, making the basket nullified. The person allowing the shot clock to blow was the responsible party. The refs just administered the rulings based on those events as they occurred.

  14. mrpokerchips
    8:49 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink

    Didn’t that effect the spread?

  15. dballrb
    11:11 pm February 9, 2019 Permalink


  16. Sublem
    3:48 am February 10, 2019 Permalink

    Officials dont manage the shot clock, thats all in house. MSST is as dirty as you can get, they tried but ultimately failed.

  17. chris43
    10:26 am February 10, 2019 Permalink

    We did get robbed on the play because the ball hit the rim therefore there wasn’t a shot clock violation. The dunk should have counted for two points. After review they gave UK the ball back which took away the easy two. If they would have counted the dunk after review MISS ST would have got the ball.