Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

The Best of the Worst Rupp Arena Trip Advisor Reviews

rupp

I love Rupp, you love Rupp, we all love Rupp. When it’s rocking, there’s an electricity in the air that’s hard to beat; however, I think we can all admit that Rupp needs some updates. Like our favorite old dive bar, Rupp has its charm, but when you go to the nice new BW3s down the street, you can’t help but long for their big HDTVs, nice bathrooms, and stools that don’t wobble. Hopefully, upgrades are on the way in the form of new ribbon boards and a center-hung video scoreboard, but until then, we have to love Rupp, warts and all.

In that spirit, shoutout to KSR superfan Matthew Mahone for tipping me off on the treasure trove that is the Rupp Arena Trip Advisor review page. As you might expect, most of the reviews are positive because everyone loves Rupp and the CAYTS, but there were a few negative reviews that are too good not to share. Here are my favorites:

This Butler fan blamed Rupp for their loss to Marquette in the 2013 NCAA Tournament

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.38.27 AM

As Kentucky fans, we’ve all been there when it comes to depression over a loss irrationally taking over our lives and logic, but blaming Rupp for Butler losing is a junior-high move.

This UK Alum Architect doesn’t just have problems with Rupp

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.24.05 AM

If you’re such a proud alum, why slam your own school? Talk about “a lack of meaningful life skill values.” Good luck with that, buddy.

Rupp apparently closes for floor waxing in the summer

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.38.41 AM

Good to know.

“The natives were restless”

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.39.23 AM

Since Rupp doesn’t serve booze during games, I’m guessing this was during a concert. Either way, “no better,” middle aged folks.

Louisville fan is “at a total lost” as to why Rupp Arena isn’t nicer

 Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.39.03 AM

After spending a weekend in the Yum Center last March, I kind of agree with him/her.

“Just fill the structure with bats”

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 10.21.54 AM

Technically, I think UK’s 49-point win over Missouri in January counted as a “game to the death,” but this review takes the cake.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

7 Comments for The Best of the Worst Rupp Arena Trip Advisor Reviews



  1. realme
    2:37 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    I am “at a lost” to understand what they mean by fill the structure with bats. There was at least one bat flying around during one of the alumni games once, maybe they were there and liked the extra entertainment.



  2. Daniel
    2:48 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    Rupp arena is sooo horrible….They have this ice cream there that just….I can’t even! Don’t get me started on those fans! They act like they don’t even care about their team! The players on the floor are even horrible people, I am pretty sure they are all the worst human beings ever! There is very little tradition in that place! What they need to do is change it up, maybe make the floor blue or something! Oh and I can’t stand ALL those drunk people at their games! All that being said I did enjoy what their fans call “Big Bertha”! Just for that I’ll give it a 10 out of 10 would bang.



  3. doc
    2:53 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    I love Rupp but I agree that so much could be done to improve it (like tear it down and build a brand new, state of the art facility). The last time I was in the upper arena, I spent more time thinking about falling to my death than I did enjoying the game.



  4. J-Dub421
    3:05 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    Rupp does need to be renovated.

    Reading online comments makes my inner grammar nerd cringe.



  5. asdf
    3:06 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    The “architect alum” guy was clearly a UT fan in disguise, as he habitually capitalized “Volunteering”. He’s no doubt so used to capitalizing “Volunteer” as a proper noun.



  6. mahatma
    3:52 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    Replacing Rupp with something as nice as the Yum! Center should be easy.

    Step #1: Perpetrate a highway robbery on the taxpayers of the city, county, and state in which you would like to locate your arena;
    Step #2: Use their money, which could otherwise go to education, infrastructure and new VCRs for the Ag Commissioner, to build your new arena;
    Step #3: Sit back and watch the bucks roll in.



  7. Earl
    4:17 pm July 2, 2015 Permalink

    seems like UofL fans love to bash Rupp because that’s all they have now. UK is dominating UofL on the court and Yum is new and nice so Rupp gets bashed by them. UK fans do the same because they hate that UofL has a nicer, newer arena than UK. In reality, Rupp is still one of the nicest college arenas in the country. 95% of college arenas are dumps compared to Rupp.