Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Skal, Murray, Ulis, and Briscoe make Robertson, Naismith, & Wayman Tisdale watch lists

Andy Lyons/Getty Images North America

It’s that wonderful time of year when the end-of-season awards release their early watch lists. This afternoon, the US Basketball Writers Association released their watch lists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy (National Player of the Year) and the Wayman Tisdale Award (National Freshman of the Year). Not surprisingly, UK players were on both.

Skal Labissiere, Jamal Murray, and Tyler Ulis made the Robertson Watch List, while Skal, Murray, and Isaiah Briscoe made the Wayman Tisdale watch list. Check them out in full below:

Oscar Robertson Trophy (Men’s National Player of the Year)
Grayson Allen, Duke
Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
Ron Baker, Wichita State
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU
Kellen Dunham, Butler
Kris Dunn, Providence
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Damian Jones, Vanderbilt
Skal Labissiere, Kentucky
Caris LeVert, Michigan
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Monte Morris, Iowa State
Jamal Murray, Kentucky
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga
Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas
Ben Simmons, LSU
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Tyrone Wallace, California
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Wayman Tisdale Award (Men’s National Freshman Player of the Year)
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Malik Beasley, Florida State
Isaiah Briscoe, Kentucky
Jaylen Brown, California
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Cheick Diallo, Kansas
Tyler Dorsey, Oregon
Henry Ellenson, Marquette
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Skal Labissiere, Kentucky
Tyler Lydon, Syracuse
Jamal Murray, Kentucky
Ivan Rabb, California
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse
Ben Simmons, LSU
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Allonzo Trier, Arizona
Stephen Zimmerman, UNLV

Skal, Murray, and Ulis were also on the watch list for the Naismith Trophy:

I doubt he’ll actually win one, but as far as I’m concerned, give the Player of the Year awards to Tyler. Give all of the awards to Tyler.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.