Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

SEC comments on last night’s technical

sec-tournament

Many around the country (okay, mostly UK fans) are still salty over Pat Adams’ technical foul call in the closing seconds of last night’s game. In response, the SEC has offered an explanation. Kind of.

In a statement released to the Courier-Journal, SEC spokesman Craig Pinkerton said the following:

“The official determined the Kentucky player committed an unsportsmanlike act in violation of Rule 10, Section 3, a Class A Unsporting Technical Infraction, resulting in the awarding of two free throws to Texas A&M.”

However, as Kyle Tucker points out, nothing in that section applies to what Humphries did. In fact, only two clauses even seem relevant:

* “Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.”

* “Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.”

Again, Humphries’ action wasn’t directed at any one. He spiked the ball in excitement. Is it really that hard to admit the official screwed up?

Alas, as crappy as the call was, nothing’s going to change it. On to ‘Bama.

Article written by Caleb Epley

Vanderbilt student, Kentucky fan. Skilled at using big words and telling bad jokes. Twitter: @CalebEpleyKSR

28 Comments for SEC comments on last night’s technical



  1. secatman
    4:11 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    NCAA = No Credibility At All



  2. lmdxn
    4:26 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    Woulda loved to get that win but honestly I like his fire. I’m a game where everyone else on the court ran from contact the only person in the trenches willing to fight was Humphries. He’ll learn from this and we’ll be a better team because he seems to be the only big man willing.



    • lmdxn
      4:27 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      In*



    • DelrayCat
      5:09 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      yeah, unfortunately all one needs to do is re-watch that final play how pathetically easy it was for Skal to get shoved falling and stumbling out of the play so the easy putback could be made. Yes, Murray deserves some blame for pisspoor defense, but Skal’s effort is simply pathetic.

      Honestly, I hope the big Aussie get all of Skal’s minutes from here on. Let Skal get garbage minutes like Humphries did for most of the season



    • J-Dub421
      8:46 am February 22, 2016 Permalink

      Davis put a forearm in Skal’s back and shoved him,causing him to trip over the A&M player on the floor, but you’re pissed at Skal? I’m pissed the refs let Davis shove our players and go over the back without consequence all game long.



  3. RexRox
    4:28 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    I just wanna know (and I already know the answer), would the call have been made in Rupp? SEC officiating is the worst! There is a reason SEC teams have the highest home court winning percentage of any Power 5 conference.



  4. Ken Grizzle
    4:32 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    Yes it would!!



  5. gottodoit
    4:37 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    When Pat Adams blows his whistle the way he blew it last night, he might as well have bells on his clown shoes.



    • runningunnin.454
      8:51 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      Actually, prior to the final 10 sec, it was a well called game. Neither team was in the bonus the 1st half; and, the game wasn’t cluttered up with a bunch of free throws. It was actually the fastest half of basketball I’ve watched this year. And, we weren’t out shot by 20+ at the foul line.

      I agree the technical call was poor judgment; but I’m not ready to put any of last night’s refs in the same category as Sirmons.



  6. klassact32
    4:50 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    I am saddened that we lost the game. You all can bash and complain about the officiating all you want. Cal said it best at his half time interview. “If you don’t rebound you will lose this game.” Is pretty simple, we did not rebound and therefore we lost the game. Stop blaming the officials.



    • BigO
      5:02 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      I agree with you on the rebounding….we rebound and we win. But I will blame the official on a terrible judgement call at a crucial point in the game. Despite our inability to rebound we were in a position to win the game and ref blew it. I have officiated basketball for 10 years and we are taught from day 1 in times of emotion talk to the players first before giving a T. Clearly that didn’t happen.



    • TheGhostofEzraPound
      5:29 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      This is the Manichean viewpoint that plays well to people who fancy themselves above it all. It isnt based in fact though. Obviously, with the inclusion of Humphries, the team rebounded enough to put themselves up by one point with possession and free throws with seconds left in the game. It was Pat Adam’s discretion whether the spike constituted a technical violation. Pat Adams did not consider the spirit of the rule. He didn’t consider the letter of the rule either, as nothing explicitly names this action as a violation. He judged the technical and smirked in doing so. Something akin to duping delight in my opinion. He seemed to find delight in determining the outcome of the game. The SEC’s response doesn’t surprise me. They lost no revenue.



    • WeareBBN
      5:42 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      BigO…I have also officiated for years and the talking to the players is true, but that is prior to an action. Talk to them if we see things getting out of hand or see where things could lead to something. You do not talk after the action, you make the call or you don’t. If there is no action there would be no call. Thiis world today of always blaming others for our actions has to stop. Go to any little league game or youth football, basketball etc. You will see so called grown ups blaming all their kids mistakes on the coaches or refs. Guarantee it, go to any game any where and you will see it. Isaac knew he did wrong, read his lips after the play and when the free throws were taken. He admits it afterwards, kudos to you Isaac, in his tweets. I think no less of Isaac, we need him down the stretch and he will help us win many games. He did not lose this game, should not have been that close to begin with. Cal needs to play the best players or players that produce and forget this get kids to the NBA crap. It cost us wins and titles.



    • WeareBBN
      5:44 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      Also Big O…while blaming the ref for a poor decision at a crucial point also blame Isaac for a poor decision at a crucial point. If not for the actions of Isaac there is not judgement to be made by the official.



    • UK Big Board Update
      5:54 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      WeareBBN, why don’t you referee any more?



    • gottodoit
      6:17 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      Two mistakes here. The player made one the ref made the other. The difference? The player had the ball and the ref had the whistle.



    • BigO
      7:17 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      WeareBBN, no doubt Isaac could have handled the moment better. But Isaac is an 18 year old where Pat Adams is an adult. Isaac wasn’t showing up another player or the official….let the moment get the best of him.

      I can recall half a dozen such occasions when I officiated where I took a player aside and told him or her they needed to calm down or “next time” they were going to force me to give them a technical. Guess what? There wasn’t a “next time” with that player and I gave my share of technicals to players and coaches that crossed the line. Judgement call that an experienced ref makes in that situation IMO….. more so late in games. You and I are just going to have to disagree here.



    • damage_control
      8:27 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      WeareBBN is actually Doug Sirmons yall.



    • damage_control
      8:29 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      And keep on calling people stupid while simultaneously criticizing the job Calipari has done here is priceless. Get your extra helping of mashed potatoes at the old folks home and give it a rest already you crusty old fart.



  7. @BallBlog_Chad
    5:08 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    If the other team had thrown the ball and a technical wasn’t called, everybody would be throwing a fit, too … can’t have it both ways. This is an automatic technical in college basketball, has been for years.



    • WeareBBN
      5:35 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      Chad…so good to see someone with common sense make a post. All thee stupid people crying about the call. Well if Isaac does not spike the ball there is no call to make. I have seen many players celebrate plays, 100’s, and have not seen one throw the ball that way when the game was not over, after the buzzer yes but not before. And agree, if this was the exact reverse and they did not call a T on A&M they would be crying that it should have been called. Could the ref have let it go knowing the situation, YES, could Isaac have not tossed the ball knowing the situation, YES. Bottom line is that exact same action has resulted in many many tech fouls over the years and will in the future. Don’t do it and there is no call for sure.



    • Red headed Stepchild
      6:06 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

      Then explain to me why an intentional foul was NOT called on TAMU? If the officials HAVE to make the call, than one must assume an intentional foul occured prior to Humphrey slamming the ball. Rules are rules, remember



    • @BallBlog_Chad
      5:35 am February 22, 2016 Permalink

      I’m with you on that one, especially with all the hack a player nonsense going on in the NBA … why aren’t these called intentional?



    • dragonlord741
      8:58 am February 22, 2016 Permalink

      The part of the “rule” that irks me is if a player slams the ball but CATCHES it, they pretty much never call it. Lo and behold, that’s EXACTLY what A&M (Jones I believe) did earlier in the game, and HIS slam was in frustration at being called for a foul, much worse than what Isaac did. I agree that if this end game scenario were revered, we’d all be pissed if no call was made, but same token, the refs should call the ball slam no matter if it is caught or not if that’s the “rule” (which, reading the rule book, does not in fact seem to be the rule).



  8. serdi
    6:01 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    Anyway the SEC can reduce UK’s greatness in basketball they do it. I have been following UK basketball since 1965-66 season. Anything they can do they do it. What a pathetic matter of fact statement from the suit in Birmingham. I only watch SEC basketball when UK is in the game….occassionally Vandy…other than that why waste your time? The teams we play in the SEC never resemble the teams in their other conference games…..what a miserable league….but hey, we get plenty of money for being in the league and so we accept being shafted every chance we get.



  9. CatManDo
    6:49 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    I have never been a fan of the “swallow the whistle ” at the end of games. I believe when the game is on the line is when it should be called the best. It makes me sick when Grayson Allen takes 4 steps and people praise the refs for letting the players decide the game when he gained an obvious unfair advantage over the defense that decided the game. However, in a case like this when a player is simply celebrating and has zero bearing on the outcome of the game, I believe the technical was totally uncalled for. There was no harm done in what he did and this is a case of when “the players should decide the game “. Props to Cal for being so considerate in his post game.



  10. badlld123
    8:25 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    Nothing but a political answer…..BLAH, BLAH, BLAH. I hate the SEC, the teams stink it up during the regular season which drags the leagues RPI down. Then whenever UK shows up they play as if they are a final 4 team…very frustrating.



  11. BluKudzu
    11:34 pm February 21, 2016 Permalink

    Hit an extra free throw there is no issue. Game over in regulation.