Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Calipari on the offensive goaltending that wasn’t reviewable

LSU beat Kentucky tonight with a buzzer-beating tip-in by Kavell Bigby-Williams that was clearly basket interference, but the refs weren’t allowed to review it.

According to NCAA rules (page 100), officials are not allowed to use instant replay for “judgement calls” such as basket interference or goaltending, meaning that even though Bigby-Williams clearly touched the ball above the cylinder, it didn’t matter. Somehow, in this situation, the only thing that did matter was that the ball dropped through the cylinder before time expired.

As you might expect, John Calipari was not happy.

“No, it’s another one — do you remember, we lost in the Final Four when there was a shot clock violation and they said it was not reviewable and then they changed the rule to say why would you want to lose a game on a shot clock violation that’s easy to go check? Well this one is easy to go check, too. Just go check it. Why would that not be reviewable. We’re like Wilt Chamberlain. We change rules. I don’t know.”

Before you get out the pitchforks, as Rob Dauster points out, EJ Montgomery also had a goaltend on that play:

“It came down to that last play,” Cal said. “You have to judge it yourself, I guess. I haven’t looked at it. I know, I looked at it when it happened, but I haven’t looked at it.”

Correction: According to Seth Greenberg, that wasn’t goaltending by EJ Montgomery because the ball had not hit the rim yet. So, ultimately, we still got screwed by a dumb rule…although Kentucky shouldn’t have let the game get to that point in the first place.

[mobile_ad]

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

79 Comments for Calipari on the offensive goaltending that wasn’t reviewable



  1. EdC
    9:37 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    If anybody blocks out, i.e. not positioned directly under the rim, it doesn’t likely get tipped in.



    • makeitstop
      9:53 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      That’s a fact



    • KYCat4EVER
      10:00 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      SPOT ON EdC!

      Look Coach Cal has done a remarkable job improving this team: they look light years better than when Duke took us apart!

      BUT…

      We can not continue to let down on defense… play the “ I will let my man drive by me and then block his shot” defense…

      We had THREE players going for the block and the weak side KILLED US!

      This game shouldn’t have come down to a missed call! We are better than this …

      Tough loss…

      GO BIG BLUE!



    • henderblue
      10:31 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      That’s exactly right KYCat. Go Cats!!



  2. big cat
    9:37 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Redirect from our inability to coach em up….lol



    • dhard
      9:41 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Go play in traffic



    • dhard
      9:42 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Go play in traffic.



    • unbridled
      9:55 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Wow you seem very bright.



    • 4everUKblue
      10:28 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      So BigolSlaterMedic aka No more excuses has created yet another username so we can add big cat to the list. Turns out he is a UofLittleBrothel fan and loves to troll KSR. I would focus on another team too if I were a Cards fan.



    • catsarerunnin
      7:17 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      You would do the same if you were 40 and living in mommy’s basement. It’s all Slater has in life.



  3. DelrayCat
    9:39 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Just an all-around bad game. Hagans foul trouble early was big. He was non-existent. Quickly hit one 3, but missed everything after that. Travis was awful, and his late turnover crucial. Keldon’s missed free throws. Richards provided NOTHING. EJ was outplayed by LSU bigs. I mean no way UK deserved to win that one. We don’t seem to match up well with big, athletic teams….especially when playing so poorly.



  4. bigblue98
    9:39 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Hate to see the Cats lose but better team won tonight. We might have had second or so to try shot but ej definitely interfered. Ashton looked out of sorts but we’ll get it together. Cats will be fine.



  5. Natureboy42
    9:39 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Basket interference not offensive goal tending. I nit picking but by rule there is no such thing as offensive goal tending. Goal tending is only against the defense.



    • mashburnfan1
      10:38 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      True, on offense it is interference. And I disagree with Seth, EJ grabs the rim while the ball is on the way down so that is also basket interference. EJ did not commit goal tending either but he also had a basket interference, can’t grab the rim. That pic only shows his hand through the rim but he grabs it on the way down.



    • 4everUKblue
      11:08 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Watch the video mashburnfan you idiot! EJ does not grab the rim, he does nothing wrong, I know you want to find as much fault with our team as possible but you need to focus on your team and stop trolling ours.



    • catsarerunnin
      7:21 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      Don’t use “masburn” when addressing this idiot who is probably Slater. The name Mashburn means something to real Kentucky fans. Somebody hijacking that name to troll UK fans should either be ignored or be called bashburn instead.



  6. Wade
    9:40 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Shouldn’t be there if you just played quickley and ej. Hagans and keldon stunk. Like the lineup of quickley herro pj ej and Reid with keldon being off the bench. We should have won that game and it was stubborn coaching by cal! T was a hard fought game but hagans was trash and got owned while quickley was dominant. I don’t care if he had 3 fouls they had 2 with 4. Some bad plays and timidness by our guys but I think hagans made us stagnant and cal did nothing! Tough game by a tough team and it wasn’t the matchup for our personnel tonight. Hope we don’t do that at ut or we will get killed!



    • DelrayCat
      9:45 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Qucikley dominant?????? Are you high?
      He hit one shot….and only had 1 assist with 4 TOs. So that’s dominant? Granted Hagans sucked…bad. But he never got into the flow after sitting the whole first half.
      EJ hustles…I give him that. But he is not very good around the rim. He’s just not strong enough against most bigs his own size.



    • Wade
      9:58 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Defensively on waters. Not high… you think hagans was worth a crap?



    • makeitstop
      9:55 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Delray is right – Quickley was good on D not great but offensively he was a hot mess



    • Wade
      10:13 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      He didn’t get a shot hagans was stagnant and getting drug by waters! Quick key open can hit a shit which opens lanes.



    • Wade
      10:15 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Go read the one on ksr that cal says Ashton was terrible ! Maybe delray is the next coach and your the asst. make it stop cuz y’all opinions are like buttholes y’all gotem and they stink!



    • makeitstop
      10:20 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      It was Johnson that got spun around on the drive. Not contesting Hagans was poor on D but he CAN blow by and Quickley was jacking stupid shots and turning it over. Truth is the guards sucked.



  7. big cat
    9:41 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Was there a game tonight? Oh yeah…cards are on…hey up 4 on Duke



    • Skooms
      10:04 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Hopefully they hold on for the win. Makes our win against them that much better.



  8. KayutsBy90
    9:45 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    EJ didn’t actually do anything illegal. The rule states that it’s interference if he would have touched the ball while his hand was through the rim or if he pulled/yanked the rim while the ball is inside the cylinder. EJ is clean



    • Tipa
      9:59 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Even if it’s not clean, then we get the ball with ~2.5 seconds. Refs botched that play bad.



    • RealCatsFan
      10:00 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Yep. ESPN analysts said same thing – EJ putting his hand thru the basket was not interference because ball was not on the cylinder. Mashburn fan, where are you?



    • mashburnfan1
      10:41 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      EJ grabs the rim on the way down, watch it That is interference. Not a goal tending but interference as it shakes the rim and backboard as ball is coming off the back board or when ball is coming down. And Tipa we would have had about 1 second with no timeouts if they call it. In the pic the clock is at 1.3 already.



    • 4everUKblue
      10:50 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      You’re an idiot mashburnfan!



    • catsarerunnin
      7:23 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      Don’t offend idiots everywhere by calling bashburn/BigolBlew/Mr Excuses/Slater an idiot.



  9. dhard
    9:46 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    The foul they called on Quickly in the first half where waters pushed him off and he made two free throws. Looks big now.



    • makeitstop
      10:01 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      That was one of several but in the end, u hit ur damn FREE throws especially front ends and we all say gee LSU player us close



  10. friendsofcoal
    9:48 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    The only game in my lifetime that I’ll ever be pulling for the dirt birds.



    • RealCatsFan
      10:01 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      I’m pulling for the giant sinkhole to open up under the floor.



    • makeitstop
      10:02 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      It’s driving me to drink (more) but I agree



  11. blueblood4life
    9:49 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Hate to lose any game but it sure will motivate the cats for Tennessee! Any given night you can get beat it’s who wants it more ! Go cats let’s get even in the #1 team in the nation



  12. Tipa
    9:50 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Sad thing is the play is not reviewable. No way you can convince that ball was not in the cylinder. They missed the call live, and it had to stay that way.



  13. UKfanman01
    9:50 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    They block out it’s not an issue.



    • UKfanman01
      9:51 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Not to mention the tons of missed free throws



    • makeitstop
      10:07 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Is it just me? It’s 15 feet. 10 feet high. The same in every arena. It’s how u get “next” on every playground in the non socialist (“everyone plays even if not willing to try”) world. I literally walked out cold in a suit and hit them at halftime of a CBA game, it’s muscle memory, u could do it blindfolded! I genuinely don’t get it. We gave up 10 points at the freakin’ line.



    • blueblood4life
      12:22 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      Agreed ukfan no one blocked out



  14. ClutchCargo
    9:53 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Question: why was there even a need for replay on such an obvious basket interference?



  15. channell
    9:56 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    That last play of the game didn’t cost Ky the game, but the missed free throws did. Had Ky hit a couple more of them, game over. Free throws wins the close ones.



    • RealCatsFan
      10:02 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Strange thing is that we have been a decent FT shooting team this year.



    • makeitstop
      10:08 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Maddening. This is why we drink. It’s FREE- get it?!



    • meeksfor3
      11:42 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      Did it cost them the game? Maybe not but it did cost them a chance at the game. If they call it correctly then you have OT and the Cats still have a chance.



  16. jaw2152
    10:00 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Dauster is clueless that’s not goaltending by Montgomery. You guys are clueless for posting what he said. Check the rules but hey facts are optional.



  17. ukbradstith
    10:02 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Seth Greenberg just explained that EJ was not guilty of goaltending. You can touch rim/net as long as the ball is not on the rim. And as far as blocking out, everybody tried to block the shot, which is what every team and player would do in the situation. Just a reaction at the last second. The real issue is blowing sizable leads against Auburn, Miss State, and LSU. Can’t let teams come back, it will come back to bite you



    • makeitstop
      10:10 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      I’m with u on all but the block out. Put a butt in a gut if ur not on ball. Execution.



    • makeitstop
      10:25 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Actually I slowed it up and ur right, PJ could not see EJ coming over and EJ wasn’t sure PJ was going to get there. And I had slow motion. No way they could know that, it’s just a bad break and bad call.



  18. linebeard
    10:02 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Not interference on EJ



  19. IndianaSucks
    10:03 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    That’s what happens when you don’t put the game away. We played terrible.



  20. coachc90
    10:06 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    EJ wasn’t goal-tending because the ball wasn’t on the rim or in the cylinder. The baseline official should have waved this one off- easy call.



    • mashburnfan1
      10:45 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      baseline officials don’t have that call. Is the outside guys and usually the one on the weak side {away from where shot took place as they should have 2 on ball side}



  21. truetotheblue
    10:07 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    I think it was interfence but as couple of y’all already said if blocking out and didn’t just give him the space to drive without any resistance all the way to basket we probably be in overtime.but there bigs did awesome job against us when one go down another would step up.best way to move on is a big win saturday.what could of been tho with what’s happening right now at yum center we would of been in drivers seat for #1 seed.this one going to hurt all way to saturday.



  22. Grazilla
    10:13 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Shaka’d Have thees boys right by now. I’m over cal



    • 4everUKblue
      10:32 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      What exactly has Shaka accomplished? Please fill us in on that one moron!



  23. ClutchCargo
    10:22 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Seth Greenberg’s ass. It was the wrong call according to the rules, and it’s not a new thing. You and Rob Dauster should already know this without ESPN’s help.



  24. Luether
    10:28 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    You’re right, Mrs TT. “Kentucky shouldn’t have let the game get to that point in the first place.”



  25. henderblue
    10:29 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    MrsTT, the last line of your article says it all. It never should have came down to that last play. Give them credit, they outplayed us in the second half, considerably. We have to get Ashton back to playing like he was. And we bricked a lot of shots. Can’t shoot like that and beat a quality team. Our spacing was poor and so was shot selection. Their defense had a lot to do with it. Hopefully it will be motivation for our guys to bounce back Saturday. We can beat Tennessee but have to play better as a team. Offensively and defensively.



  26. 4everUKblue
    10:30 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    I watched the replay that mashburnfan wishes should’ve been goaltending on EJ and it proves one thing. He knows not a damned thing about the rules, which explains a lot.



    • henderblue
      10:41 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      He just likes to run his mouth 4ever. Him and a few others have been waiting a long time to do that. Obviously they don’t have much of a life. We should feel for them…but we don’t.?



    • 4everUKblue
      11:13 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

      Such pathetic lives they have hender.



  27. makeitstop
    10:36 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    We can beat UT. Not shooting like that. Not allowing 8 steals on back slaps. Not giving away 10 points at the line. Not allowing that many open threes. We probably lost the SEC tonite but a split against UT would help us protect our seed and our chances. Need some season bests to pull off this upset.



  28. notFromhere
    10:45 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    HOW THE FK is that a JUDGMENT CALL?!?!

    The ball is in the damn cylinder or not. It’s like stepping out of bounds, shot clock violation, not getting the shot out of your hands before the buzzer, or tackling the offensive player in the backcourt on the inbounds. No judgment to it, frkn criminals!



  29. notFromhere
    10:46 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Beat UT twice if the SEC officials will allow such a thing (highly frkn doubtful)!



  30. bwise
    10:50 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Thank you for putting the update on here. Even though you all who cover sports for a living should know the rules without Seth having to tell you…..we got screwed moving on



  31. notFromhere
    10:51 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    ESPN doesn’t have the balls to call the goaltending anything more than “controversial”… bunch a dbags there, too



  32. makeitstop
    11:40 pm February 12, 2019 Permalink

    Serious question, how is block/charge reviewable IF it involves the protected arc (not otherwise) but goaltending – hard to see from a lot of angles – is not? Not making excuses, we deserved the L, but it makes no sense.



  33. No more excuses cal
    1:24 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

    Now now let’s not try to blame someone else for our own inconsistency



  34. No more excuses cal
    1:25 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

    Cal and the players first lost this one



  35. BallDontLie
    6:41 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

    You all keep saying it shouldnt have come down to that last play. Ok, yea, totally, we should have won by 20…but UK, regardless of how they played, deserved to have that game go into overtime. Those calls shouldnt be missed, that ball is clearly over the cylinder. The only play there is happening at the rim, no excuse for 3 officials to miss that call live.



    • makeitstop
      7:32 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      You’re right. They deserved a chance in OT. They earned that. What everyone else including the players is saying is ur gonna suffer bad calls and u can’t control that, but u can control boxing out, smart shots, seeing entry passes, hitting free throws, poor defense, etc., and since we can’t fix the former we better fix the latter by Saturday or it’s going to be ugly even at home.



    • BallDontLie
      9:02 am February 13, 2019 Permalink

      Right, and i understand and agree with that sentiment. Just not the notion that some people seem to have where we deserved to lose anyways because of the fact that it shouldnt have come to that one play. The fact is that some games do come down to the last play and these officials need to be able to either get them right or be able to review it. I dont care what the call is, any play that directly decides the outcome of a game should be reviewable. They need to fix it.