Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Calipari confirms he sent Skal Labissiere to the foul line

skal

There has been some confusion as to who picked Skal Labissiere to replace Isaac Humphries at the foul line in the closing seconds of Saturday’s game.

Today, John Calipari confirmed he made the call for Labissiere to take the two shots, not Texas A&M head coach Billy Kennedy, as Kennedy said after the game.

“We put him in for the free-throw shooting and the defense,” Calipari said on the SEC coaches teleconference. “That was us.”

So there ya go.

Article written by Drew Franklin

I can recite every line from Forrest Gump, blindfolded. Follow me on Twitter: @DrewFranklinKSR

21 Comments for Calipari confirms he sent Skal Labissiere to the foul line



  1. secrick
    12:41 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    What is the rule on that, i thought the other coach got to pick who shoots the free throw out of the 5 players on the floor. Does anyone know how it really works.



    • UKnowMe
      12:47 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      I thought the other coach only picked if it was an injury to the foul shooter.



  2. dgtuk
    12:52 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    If injury to foul shooter, opposing coach gets to choose. If player dismissed due to fouls, his replacement in the game must shoot so Cal chose by sending in Skal.



  3. secrick
    12:58 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    Thanks guys for clearing that up for me.Lets beat bama.



  4. KentuckyBoy
    1:01 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    Why is Skal’s arms bigger than his legs?



    • Booby Petrino
      1:26 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      That’s how most of the guys at my gym are. Muscle arms, chicken legs.



  5. CatBlue in LR
    1:03 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    Just a mind-teaser to contemplate: Is there any other possible scenario in which a player who has fouled out would be going to the line? I think this is the only conceivable way that would happen — player gets fouled and gets a ticket to the line, but before that happens, player commits dead-ball technical, which just happens to be his fifth foul.

    No wonder there was confusion; that doesn’t happen very often.



    • Mathlete
      1:20 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      A double foul with one team in the bonus could, I think? You’re right though, even the refs took a minute to figure out what was supposed to happen next.



    • CatBlue in LR
      1:49 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      Yeah, I think you’re right, that would be one. Only if one team was in the bonus, though. If both teams were in the bonus the double-foul would offset itself, and there would be no free throws. I’m guessing on that, though. Maybe we can get a basketball Scalia to weigh in on the real rule…



  6. memphis
    1:31 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    Did he also send him out there to cower underneath the basket at the end of the game?



  7. za
    1:34 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    characteristically failed to box somebody out and they scored. I was watching thinking we would bizarrely see Tai for the first time to go along with the rest of the confusion



  8. Ken Grizzle
    1:41 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    If you watch the replay with open eyes you may just notice the stiff arm applied to Skal prior to the winning basket. Should have been foul on AM and Skal shooting FTs for the win.



    • inside info2
      2:22 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      He did get pushed, but it was the lightest push possible. If Skal weighed more or was in a better position in the first place he would have been fine. He’s been pushed around all year. That play was nothing new.



    • WildcatSteeler
      3:13 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      He did catch a forearm to the back but it was so slight there’s no way you call that. To Skals defense he had to jump at the guy driving into the lane to contest his shot (who was guarding that guy that lets him into the lane with 9 seconds left?). He was already off-balance when he got the shove and fell like the lightweight he is. It was totally appropriate for the game to end on an easy offensive rebound putback since that’s what happened all game anyway.



  9. WheelerBear
    1:56 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    Did Cal really just say he put him in for his defense? Wow!



    • Sentient Third Eye
      2:21 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      At that point he was the only guy left taller than 6-4, so yes.



    • claiborne_field
      3:22 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      Yeah, but he plays like he’s 5’10”



    • GroundControlToNumber9
      5:39 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      claiborne_field – “Yeah, but he plays like he’s 5’10”

      What?!? Tell that to Tyler Ulis. Height doesn’t determine defensive toughness.

      He plays like a wet rag.



    • Angelo
      8:08 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      Tyler should have been under the basket defending…



  10. The Rest of the story
    8:21 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

    LOL LOL LOL sent him in for defense. That is the funniest thing yet. Great D on that put back Skal the Skeleton.



    • UK Big Board Update
      8:23 pm February 22, 2016 Permalink

      His D made the initial drive to the basket miss….