Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

More rave reviews for Marcus Lee

Despite their superb talent level, Marcus Lee and James Young both surrendered some of the headlines for the top recruiting class in the nation to the likes of Julius Randle, the Harrison twins and Dakari Johnson. At another school, or in another year at Kentucky, Lee and Young would have been THE guys coming into the season. Marcus Lee has been in Lexington for only a few weeks now and the buzz around his play on the court and elite athleticism has picked up tremendously. Lee has become the pick-up game legend of this year’s class and has already been labeled as a guy people might be pleasantly surprised by when the lights come on for all to see in late October.

Lee picked up another honor recently from his hometown area when he was named the East Bay Male Athlete of the Year. Lee not only won the honor for leading his basketball team to its first  North Coast Section championship, but he was also the driving force on the men’s volleyball team who reached the same milestone.

Both of Lee’s coaches, basketball and volleyball, spoke glowingly about the kind of kid Marcus Lee truly is on and off the court.

“He’s the kind of kid you love to be successful because he worked really hard to get it and handles it with grace and humility,” said Lou Panzella, the Wolverines’ volleyball coach.

“You will not find a kid that didn’t like playing with Marcus in any sport,” Deer Valley basketball coach LeChet Phillips said. “He was a great teammate and the greatest kid in the world to coach. If I made a mistake, he’d go out there and make it look good.”

Panzella added even more to his original statement, echoing the sentiments about the good teammate Lee has been. “He’s very caring and that’s what makes him a great teammate. Marcus is an outstanding basketball player and an outstanding volleyball player, but an even better person and that will carry him a long way.”

Sounds like we are getting a really, really good one, Big Blue Nation.

Article written by Ally Tucker

I once successfully requested "The Wobble" to be played 6 times at one wedding.

22 Comments for More rave reviews for Marcus Lee



  1. lesigh
    11:36 am July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Cal is in a position to target elite talent with elite maturity. Very few coaches are in that position. It’s good to be the BBN!



  2. Big Rich
    11:38 am July 6, 2013 Permalink

    I’m looking forward to Lee & Young. These guys have been overshadowed by our other recruits but we will see soon why they were 5stars as well. Having players with heads on their shoulders speaks volumes for our program and the future of UK basketball



  3. Jimmy
    11:49 am July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Perry Stevenson 4.0



  4. etrain355
    11:55 am July 6, 2013 Permalink

    they said same thing about ryan harrow lets see the videos



  5. Johnnie
    12:06 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Nothing bad has ever been said about a recruit before they played in a game



  6. Stop hammer time
    12:09 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Can he play guard because ours are all ineligible?



  7. PhilUK18
    12:14 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    6.

    Are you a troll or just retarded?



  8. maddogmitchell55
    12:14 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    I agree with 2 – Big Rich. I would bet a dollar to a donut that Lee absolutely smashes dudes this year. He will have super deluxe games that make people say, “Holy crap.” I can’t wait. This team is gonna have a lot of fun. They won’t have to win every game. If they do, though, what a freakin year…



  9. PhilUK18
    12:15 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    3.

    Perry Stevenson, while a good guy and decent player, doesn’t have anywhere near the talent this kid does. Were you being serious or trying to make a joke with that?



  10. Tyler's milkshake brings all the boys to the yard.
    12:16 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    6. Get a girlfriend.



  11. Marcus Lee has outstanding athleticism



  12. fireant
    12:22 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    People underestimate the importance of being a good person on and off the field or court. Teammates want to play with guys like Lee. It makes the experience much better. It makes people play harder. It makes players play more at ease and ultimately reach their peak potential. I liked him from the first interview I ever saw. His demeanor reminds me of Anthony Davis.

  13. Here is the complete TV Schedule:

    Sunday, July 7 @ 6:30PM — USA v United Arab Emirates
    ESPNU — July 7 @ 7PM ET / July 8 @ 3AM ET / July 9 @ 5AM ET

    Monday, July 8 @ 1PM — USA v Czech Republic
    ESPNU — July 8 @ 5AM ET / July 8 @ 7PM ET / July 9 @ 3 AM ET

    Wednesday, July 10 @ 9PM — USA v Sweden
    ESPNU — July 10 @ 7PM ET / July 11 @ 7AM ET

    Thursday, July 11 @ 6:30PM — USA v Australia
    ESPNU — July 11 @ 7PM ET / July 13 @ 5:30AM ET

    Friday, July 12 @ 1PM — USA v Canada
    ESPNU — July 12 @ 5AM ET / July 12 @ 7PM ET / July 13 @ 3:30AM ET



  14. ukfastcat
    12:29 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    #6 has a girlfriend.
    He just needs to blow it up every night.



  15. Come on Down!
    12:30 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    #6 is both a troll and retarded. Would love for him to show his face instead of hiding in his basement. Come on down and take your lumps!



  16. Tim Kathlina
    1:34 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Legend in pick up practice games does not mean squat until the lights go on and 25,000 are watching. We have heard too many stories like this about practice pickup games. Cal looks for good kids with good families, so not surprised.



  17. Jen
    2:10 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    16. Right. If only there was something else to make us think that there might be something behind these positive pick-up game reports for Lee. Oh, yeah, the guy was a five-star recruit and a McDonald’s All-American. This is not like hearing Jules Camara or Jared Prickett have been dominating pick-up games.



  18. Awaiting Moderation
    4:32 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    Watch this kids mixtape…. Young KG written all over him



  19. Sam
    5:01 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    9: I think #3’s point in naming Lee “Stevenson 4.0” was that Lee will be 4x the player of Stevenson, which probably sounds about right. He’s not Stevenson 2.0 or 3.0, but 4.0!

    Stevenson was thin, and he was a blocking machine coming out of high school, but clearly wasn’t the same caliber of player as Lee. But I do remember one time when Patterson went down (I think it was), or maybe it was another player, and Lee started the next game, or starred the next game, when he went down to LSU and got 14 points, 15 rebounds and a bunch of blocks, or something like that.

    Being 4x the player of Stevenson is quite the compliment. We can only hope so.



  20. silverado
    5:57 pm July 6, 2013 Permalink

    We key on just about half of the elite players we have coming in – – totally weird. I hope Marcus comes in and kills. He’s already one of my pre-season favorites (like Doron was).



  21. CATfish
    12:07 am July 7, 2013 Permalink

    Am I the only one who sees the blue people from the movie “Avatar” in Marcus?



  22. ukukuk
    11:24 am July 7, 2013 Permalink

    NBA Draft has this kid a the 9th pick in 2015. Kid is a future all star and has more potential than most kids in the country!