Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Matt Elam Offers a Preview of New UK Uniforms

 

 

Like or dislike the new uniforms, I’m sure we can all agree it’d be nice to see Matt Elam in one of those.

 

@KristenGeilKSR

Article written by Kristen Geil

73 Comments for Matt Elam Offers a Preview of New UK Uniforms



  1. Kyreds
    11:32 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Kentucky`s Colors are BLUE&WHITE Not Gray! I don’t like them at all!



  2. Andrew
    11:32 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    love the grays, always have. glad to have them in football, need them more in basketball. helmet i need to see in person to judge



  3. krisken63
    11:32 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Needs a blue helmet.



  4. Chris
    11:32 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I love being a Nike school.



  5. TDog
    11:33 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I personally like the black jerseys better then the grey ones. Although the black helmets look sick.



  6. ukfan
    11:36 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    1. you’re one of ‘those people’ huh? #old



  7. DB11
    11:36 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Nike just gets it



  8. repsol-69
    11:36 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Sick uni’s…so glad Stoops and company get it…



  9. Bigbluedaddy
    11:39 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Helmet’s are bad a**. The whole thing is awesome…and i don’t care so much as long as the players like them, and more 4-5 stars want to be IN them. Rock it BBN.



  10. GP
    11:39 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    1) So we should have gold on our uniforms too, right? It’s technically still a school color.

    Geez, go back to be grandpa.



  11. GP
    11:40 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Bed*



  12. ukcatzfan
    11:40 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    all I can say at least they are not OREGON’s unis



  13. ukfan's mom
    11:41 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    black looks way better (grey looks best when the school’s actual colors pop but here it looks too dull) but like the matte grey helmet a lot



  14. Shweeeet
    11:41 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    #1 – Please QUIT with the “Kentucky’s colors are…” bull. That is SOOOOOO 20 years ago. Get with the times grandpa!
    If you haven’t noticed, Kentucky’s colors are whatever they want them to be. Every program in the nation uses grey or black as part of their uniforms.

    I love the grey…especially the helmet!



  15. Jon Hadley
    11:41 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    #1 who cares what you want? it is what the players want, and these style uniforms are what the kids like these days. It has blue and white in it. Oregon has mulitple uniforms that dont include all their colors.



  16. rfranc35
    11:48 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    That’s what I’m talking about! Stepping up the program in all phases.



  17. Gman
    11:48 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Love the matte grey look! Can’t wait to see those on the field.



  18. RonH
    11:50 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    14…. Not sure about very program using Black or Grey…Bama,Penn St.,Texas,USC(real one),Okla. I am sure there are more. I could be wrong about the ones I listed just never seen them.



  19. jpizzle
    11:53 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Sick!



  20. Elkattio
    11:54 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Not a fan of the helmet; I think the blue helmet should be used for all of the uniforms. The jersey’s are nice though. I wonder if the pants will be gray.



  21. pfife
    11:56 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Like the gray. I wish KY would just use a K to represent the university and the state (Like Ga, Ala and Tenn do)



  22. Tom_Evansville
    11:59 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I think i saw these uniforms in THE BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG ! !



  23. Just saying
    11:59 am July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Jersey is fine as alternate…don’t like the helmet



  24. Paul
    12:00 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    #14 your are correct about those schools not needing to somewhat change the school outlook they have alot of history behind them as school like UK does not. #1 our colors are blue/white but I feel like alot of fans things are changing and needed to be changed. This is why UK went out and got a coach who had zero ties to UK and are letting him make and do the things that will put UK on the map more then we already were and are.



  25. Brad
    12:04 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    like it



  26. BBN Zack
    12:04 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    The new unis are great and all but I’m wondering whats with those little helmets in the background on the shelves beside the big blue and white Kentucky ones.



  27. WhiteHoward
    12:07 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I love the jersey and the helmet! Im 24, if that matters…



  28. AJ
    12:07 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    very Nice!!!!!!



  29. TRUEblue
    12:09 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Waaa #1 my schools colors are blue in white…Wake the f*&k up people this is not you or your daddy’s UK football team anymore. This is the type of uniforms the kids today like, so who the cares what some “message board fan experts” think! You people act like you are the ones who will be on the field wearing the uniforms. Besides why hang on to the past, lets put it behind us and trust in Coach Stoops. Some of you “tradtionalist fans need to just chill out and go put your 10 cents in elsewhere…



  30. LOVE IT
    12:09 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Royal Blue and grey looks wicked! We need a change with a new coaching staff. Bring it on!



  31. jpgott2
    12:10 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I like them! Many programs use some alternate versions of their uniforms with Grey and Black. I like the matte grey helmets a lot. The recruits and current roster will love them, and I think they will look great on the field.

    Still has the checkered, horse racing inspiration on it. Keep them coming.



  32. Oregon
    12:10 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    The jersey looks good, but the helmet is stupid ugly.



  33. Scottb42
    12:13 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    They are sweet!!!!



  34. Eight Letters
    12:14 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I would like the helmet better if the UK logo were a glossy blue with white border ( a little stealthy look). Also , lose the stripes on all the helmets.



  35. Secretariat
    12:14 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Why do we have to keep featuring the checkered sleeves? Why the need to keep pulling me in to the football uni’s? Flattered but really. Looks goofy! Should we expect to have the twin spires, Cawood’s microphone, Pat Riley’s hair gel, need I continue?



  36. lesigh
    12:18 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    What no candy-stripped uniforms with chrome helmets!?!



  37. skid
    12:20 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Kentucky needs a football uniform that LOOKS like a college football uniform, not a pee wee league uniform. Take a look at the schools in the SEC that KNOW how to dress their athletes in attire that doesn’t look like clown suits… Bama, Georgia, LSU, Tennessee, Ole Miss, Florida and other schools such as Fla State, Texas, USC ( both ) Ohio State, Michigan, etc. These schools look like football programs on the field. Wish Stoops would throw these gimmick uniforms in the trash and outfit the team is a uniform that doesn’t make them look like a joke. Just my opinion.



  38. Clint
    12:26 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Drew Barker tweeted “#YAHTZEE” … Interesting



  39. oatmeal
    12:27 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Nasty!!!! Id assuke anyone who doesnt like them is over 35. Im roommates w a guy on the team and everyone loves them. STOOPS!!!



  40. BOSOX
    12:34 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Heard that Kentucky got two commitments and will be conformed later this weekend!!!! #YAHTZEE



  41. 1.21 Giggawatts
    12:44 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I love how the older generations act like Kenrucky should have tradition… when they didn’t build any.



  42. DrSayre
    12:46 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I love the jersey!



  43. dshwildcats
    12:54 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I’ve followed Kentucky Football for over 40 years now. And, I’m pretty traditional when it comes to college football. BUT, if the players like the uniforms, and we are having success on the field, I don’t care if we wear lavender and lime green uniforms!

    A lot of people might consider it crazy, but cool, modern uniforms are something that’s attractive to today’s kids. Besides, the way we’ve done things for the past 50-60 years haven’t worked, so why not go out on a limb and try a new approach!



  44. BOSOX
    12:55 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Maybe Cory Johnson and big 4* DT from New York



  45. Duuuuuude
    1:07 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I am not a big fan of the gray and black, but the uni’s are not for the fans but the players/recruits. If you do not believe that, check out these IU players http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsGsAhBKG84 .



  46. Kevin C.
    1:09 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Elam needs to go ahead and commit to UK now…or stop being so chummy with the team, acting like he’s already a Wildcat. I’m sure he means well, but he needs to understand that there are boundaries to what’s acceptable, as long as he’s being non-committal.



  47. Kevin C.
    1:10 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    @ #41….. I beg to differ. UK has indeed built tradition…just not the GOOD kind.



  48. Traditional
    1:19 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I don’t get the “it’s what the players like” mentality. Alabama, LSU, Southern Cal, Texas, etc…. Yeah they have all kinds of trouble recruiting and selling merchandise because of those out of date uniforms…..oh wait no they don’t.



  49. NotSatire
    1:25 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    22. LOL! Can’t wait til Lee, Johnston, Longstreet, and Pickett take the field this fall.



  50. Blue and white
    1:26 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Geez another uniform yay…..why do try every color scheme except blue and white? I don’t like em at all and I think the idea of helping to recruit is total b.s. kids go to schools because of opportunity, relationships, the program itself and a dozen other reasons before the look of a uniform ever comes into the equation.



  51. DT in DC
    1:30 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Is there anyway this kid doesn’t end up in the Blue and White (or Blue and Gray)? Come on down, Matt!



  52. Yuck
    1:30 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Number 37 is right on the money and folks I’m 26 years old so yeah some younger guys like the traditional look. I agree with the gimmick statement.



  53. JBCat
    1:34 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I would like to see a matte blue helmet with grey face mask. No stripe either. Kinda like Texas A M. That would be a great look! These shown are ok. Matte black is definitely popular. The grey jerseys are ok too. I don’t mind the grey as an alternate color. Goes well with blue and white.



  54. Jpbky2
    1:49 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    CMS is marketing to the kids. They like uniforms, they like the bells and whistles. Everybody loves the recruiting, it is happening because of their ability to market to these kids. If you don’t like the uniforms, wait until you hear the music in Commonwealth this year.



  55. Calf
    1:55 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    @26
    Those are all of Stoops coaching stops along the way to UK.



  56. Ridge Rider
    1:55 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Get with the times? Really? Helmet looks terrible. Grey jersey has nothing to do with the blue and white – which are the school colors. Nike get’s it? Really….that is why they produced special National Championship game uniforms for Alabama without changing the colors! They didn’t change the colors because the University of Alabama has the pride and tradition to tell Nike no!! If Alabama walked out into the stadium wearing grey uniforms 98,000 people would let the university know in no uncertain terms it will not be stood for. Yet, we at Kentucky say use a gimmick because it is “with the times”.



  57. dshwildcats
    2:49 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Traditional,

    The schools you mentioned all have something that we do not–a storied football tradition! Alabama, LSU, USC and Texas do not need all of the “bells and whistles” to get the top notch recruits. They just show them their trophy cases.

    If we suddenly begin competing with the Florida’s, UGA’s, South Carolina’s, Tennessee’s, etc., I don’t think anyone will be complaining too much about the non-traditional uniforms.



  58. jpgott2
    3:10 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I personally like the black uniforms, and I like the Grey ones as well. The checkered sleeves just pays a little homage to the states horse industry. They are “cool”, and when combined with our blue and whites, give UK some great uniforms. Our traditional colors of Blue and White go great with the darker themes of Grey and Black.

    I am just glad we are not do chrome helmets! Those are ugly! The traditionalist need to



  59. khouky3
    3:22 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    like the jersey… helmet needs work, maybe blue decals instead of white. Like to see football gettin some attention from the great minds of nike



  60. Elkattio
    4:20 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Okay, so there are lovers and haters of these new uniforms. Personally, I hated them when I first saw them, but they grew on me over the past two years. They have a sort of modern/traditional look with the striping on the legs and helmet. At least we don’t have to suffer through the uniforms of the Andrew Woodson era any longer. For those that complain and compare us to the elite SEC teams such as Alabama and LSU; stop! Just stop. We are not elite, nor will we ever be elite. Not like that. Just remember, Oregon didn’t produce many winning seasons until Nike took an interest in them. Before you start, no, it was not Rich Brooks that got Oregon off the ground. If Nike is suddenly taking an interest in Kentucky, let them.



  61. idontflinch
    4:44 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Finally! I’m glad to see UK football finally recognized UK’s unofficial third color. The black uni’s were nice and all, but everybody has done black, most notably Duke’s bball team. Gray is different, it is bold and looks good with royal blue and white. I like those jersey’s and while I like the helmets, too, I think the helmets could use more blue. Overall, though, I like them.



  62. idontflinch
    4:59 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    50 – How do we know UK hasn’t covered all the steps that come before uniforms and, now, it is time to cover that step, too? Whatever is beyond the uniform step I’m sure will be covered by Coach Stoops as well. Point is, Coach Stoops is getting the job done. Clearly he knows what he is doing. Other than putting advertisements on the front of jerseys (which I’m sure will happen at UK and every other sports team in the U.S. sooner rather than later and does already happen to a degree with Nike’s Swoosh) or painting the field at Commonwealth pink let the people who obviously know what they are doing continue to do their job.



  63. Catindallas
    5:00 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Personally I like it along with the black unis!! Honestly, it doesn’t matter what we (fan) like in relatives to uniform, as long as the kids and players like them that is more important!



  64. yessir
    5:03 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Helmets are sick!!!



  65. Yep
    5:33 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    For anyone complaining, UK’s original school colors were goldenrod yellow and white. Hell, let’s do one in yellow too.



  66. Jerns
    5:51 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    I personally do not care what the uniforms look like. I just want to see them in the endzone.



  67. backpack
    5:59 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    When it comes to the color and style of jerseys I understand why people like the traditional uni’s. It isn’t our choice though it is the players that like them and it is them that will be wearing them, when UK tells you what to wear to work, we should be able to tell them. I like them, but I wouldn’t care if they wore pink and purple all season has logo as it has UK or Kentucky on it.



  68. gcat
    6:08 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Don’t like but whatever works for the players/recruits. Let’s just get respectable on the field and not embarass ourselves with uniforms. I would rather stick to the blue and white. But, Grey is OK if the players like it. Just don’t go Maryland or Oregon. And don’t get freaky with the basketball uni’s. We don’t need any gimmicks there. We are the needle.



  69. Secretariat
    6:38 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    Technically, black and grey aren’t “colors” but shades, so school colors shouldn’t matter when discussing black or grey unis. Even without that technicality, they make a great background canvas for our blue and white!



  70. LexCathCat
    6:44 pm July 20, 2013 Permalink

    If you are whining about a uniform, you are using the same type of mentality that has held this program back for years. Get with the program.



  71. Just Win
    2:49 am July 21, 2013 Permalink

    On, on, U of K, we are right for the fight today,
    Hold that ball and hit that line;
    Every Wildcat star will shine;
    We’ll fight, fight, fight, for the BLUE and WHITE —– grey, black, and what ever color you want to put on the field.



  72. Tampa Satchel
    7:49 am July 21, 2013 Permalink

    Love the unis and the slobberknocker!



  73. Gotta say it
    7:52 am July 21, 2013 Permalink

    Those complaining are the same guys who if they found themselves lucky enough to be in bed with a beautiful woman and saw the carpet didn’t match the drapes, they’d complain.