Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

KSR reviews “Bluegrass Kingdom – The Gospel of Kentucky Basketball”

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 10.01.26 AM

I finally got around to watching “Bluegrass Kingdom,” Turner Sports’ documentary about Kentucky basketball last night (just couldn’t handle it on Sunday). Like you guys, I had a lot of opinions about it. Here are my highlights and low-lights:

(Miss it? Click here to watch it on YouTube.)

HIGHLIGHTS

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.58.36 AM

The Rupp Era

Having been born after his death, I will admit, I am not as familiar with the Rupp Era of Kentucky basketball as I am the program’s more recent history. I’ve heard stories and watched games from that time, so I appreciated the documentary’s in-depth look at Rupp’s time as coach and how he shaped Kentucky basketball into the empire it is today. The footage they used was interesting, as were Riley and Joe B.’s insight into his coaching methods. As for the perception that UK was an elitist white program? I thought they treated that carefully with views from both sides. Was that Confederate flag photoshopped in to the footage from the Texas Western game? Maybe, but this part of the documentary didn’t offend me as much as the exclusion of Tubby Smith, which we’ll get to later.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 10.02.52 AM

Pat Riley

One of the pleasant surprises in the documentary was Pat Riley’s interview. I feel like, despite having a great and storied playing career at Kentucky, Riley has become somewhat of an enigma to the Big Blue Nation. Maybe it’s because he’s gone on to do so many other things, but before now, we haven’t really heard much from Pat Riley about his time at Kentucky. For that reason, his interview was one of my favorite parts. Like a certain current coach in blue, Riley exudes a certain coolness and swagger, and is one hell of an ambassador for the BBN. I hope this means we’ll see some more from him in the future.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.20.45 AM

Kenny Walker’s living room

Kenny Sky Walker’s living room looks exactly how I expected it to. Who else would have a slow-mo shot of themselves dunking done in neon lights?

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.03.13 AM

Joe B. Hall

Any time Joe B. Hall talks about Kentucky basketball, you listen. I enjoyed his take on Coach Rupp and the footage from his time as coach. I thought the documentary did a good job of highlighting Joe B.’s “legacy” of integrating the team and his feud with Bobby Knight. I wish other important games/series from Kentucky’s past had been given the same treatment as Kentucky’s rivalry with Indiana during the Joe B. Era.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.08.52 AM

Interviews with former players

The in-depth interviews with Riley, Goose Givens, Rex Chapman, Jamal Mashburn, and Derek Anderson were awesome. Anytime you can highlight past Kentucky greats is fine with me. In fact, the interviews were probably the best part of the whole documentary. I wanted more of their stories.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.16.55 AM

Rick Pitino

While we all have certain feelings about Rick these days, I still respect the man for what he did for the Kentucky program. Watching the footage of him talking about making UK tickets the most precious item in life was almost nostalgic. I had also forgotten how thick his accent was back then. Still…no mention of him going on to become the coach of Kentucky’s biggest rival? Come on.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.29.24 AM

The 1996 Team

The 1996 team got their due, with profiles of Derek Anderson and and glowing comments from Ashley Judd about how the team was “destined to be.” The footage and pictures they use capture the giddiness and energy of that moment well.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.35.13 AM

MKG

I’ll admit, this was my favorite part. At least five minutes of the documentary focused on Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, one of the most beloved players in UK history. They interviewed both Michael and his mother, Cynthia Richardson, about his decision to come to UK and go pro after one year. It was great to hear Michael’s mom talk about his struggles with his speech impediment and how Cal soothed her concerns about him fitting in at a big-time atmosphere like UK. When she tears up about how Cal’s helped her son realize his dream, I won’t lie, I teared up too. But that might be because I miss him so much.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.42.35 AM

Cal’s swagger

The end of the program was basically a recruiting commercial for Cal and the program, which is a little bit ironic and cruel given that it aired right after Kentucky didn’t make the NCAA Tournament. But I liked how they portrayed Cal’s views on the “one-and-done” rule, which MKG says isn’t for everybody, but it was for him. Nothing could ring truer right now. The best quote about Cal also comes from MKG: “Coach Cal, his whole swagger is amazing. The way he walks, the way he talks, I want to please him in everything I do. That’s my guy.”

LOW-LIGHTS

tubby

No Tubby?!

If you watched the documentary, you’re probably also wondering what happened to the part about Tubby Smith and the school’s 7th National Title. For a documentary that focused so much on the racial history of Kentucky basketball, you would think they’d include the ten-year tenure of the school’s only African American coach. Instead, they skipped from the Rick Pitino era to the Calipari Era. I understand there are time restraints, but leaving Tubby on the editing room floor is disrespectful.

Question_mark

Major story gaps

The documentary really needed to be two hours. Along with the Tubby Smith era, the documentary glossed over some big parts of Kentucky basketball history, including the Kentucky/Louisville rivalry, which encompasses the state for most of December, and yes, Billy Gillispie’s tenure, which I didn’t mind one bit. Also, while they spend a long time focusing on MKG, they just casually drop in a line that, oh yeah, Anthony Davis was the first pick in that draft, and he went to Kentucky, too. Time was obviously an issue, but there were some major story gaps that made it pretty obvious that this was put together by an outsider, and probably in a hurry to get it in time for the NCAA Tournament.

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 10.42.23 AM

Joe B. Hall’s face

What happened to Joe B.’s face?! Is he okay??

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.51.05 AM

Too much Tipton

Just kidding, Tipton did a fine job, but why couldn’t we get another UK historian in there…like Oscar Combs?

TOTAL SCORE: One thumb up

Overall, I enjoyed watching “Bluegrass Kingdom – The Gospel of Kentucky Basketball.” Was it a comprehensive look at Kentucky basketball’s long and storied history? No. Was it a good way to spend an hour? Sure. I didn’t even mind Drake’s narration. The only thing at really irked me was the exclusion of Tubby Smith, who at the very least deserved a shoutout for winning the school’s seventh National Championship. The program felt like an outsider’s look at Kentucky basketball, which is all fine and good, but when you’re marketing it towards Kentucky fans, the nitpickiest of them all, don’t expect anything less than a thorough review in return.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

52 Comments for KSR reviews “Bluegrass Kingdom – The Gospel of Kentucky Basketball”



  1. Roland
    1:37 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    THANKS for the link.
    Was looking for that with no success.
    gonna DL and archive.



  2. Warren Oates
    1:50 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    1/ total joke how much race played in this documentary and left off Tubby!!! I could believe it not only the first African American coach but 98 title

    2/ 75 regional final win against IU sweetest UK win EVER!!!!

    3/ Rex coolest UK alum ever

    4/ Joe B. is a UK treasure

    5/ Cal segment really let us know we are in the $$$$$$$$ era of college sports.The drive thru window players here now will have different feel when we look back at this era



  3. Deepblue
    1:52 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    WTF. Leaving out any mention of Tubby destroys the credibility of the entire thing. The Tubster isn’t a central figure in UK bball history but he is certainly deserves a chapter in the book. Weird to not talk about someone who led the program for 10 years, won a national title, and won more games that Cal or Rick here.



  4. Jake_GOCATS
    1:53 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I haven’t watched this yet and I’m debating whether or not to. The sheer thought of leaving Tubby Smith out of it is saddening to me. I guess I’m in the minority on my opinion about Tubby, but I flat out love the guy. Perhaps it’s my situation as being born in 1994 and not realizing what it was like under Adolph Rupp, Joe B. Hall and (Eddie Sutton) Rick Pitino before, but as a life-long Kentucky die-hard for 19 years, I absolutely fell in love with the grandeur of Kentucky basketball during Tubby Smith’s tenure. Here’s to you, TUBBY SMITH!



  5. ABCD
    1:55 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Too much Ashley Judd for my taste, would have been much better if she wasnt in it



  6. CPACAT
    1:55 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Nice write up Mrs TT! Agree completely that the Tubby omission was a travesty!

    Your synopsis that it was an outsider’s view and not thorough enough for those of us who spend inordinate amounts of time following the CATS!!

    Go CATS!



  7. CPACAT
    1:56 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    * “I agree with your synopsis…”



  8. Rei
    2:01 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Tubby won a title with Rick’s players and then drove us into mediocrity.



  9. Roland
    2:02 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Leaving out Tubby’s time at UK out of this production may have been an editorial decision to reenforce a racists “label” on UK.
    I could be wrong.
    It could be time limit thing but a NC is hard to leave out.
    Gonna check the credits on who produced and edited this production.



  10. kyle
    2:03 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Yes, I suppose anything other than a championship after winning one your first year would be considered “mediocrity.” He still had to coach “Rick’s players.”



  11. spookykim
    2:04 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Great sum-up, Mrs TT, I felt the same way. I also thought that it was way too much barbershop. It was cute the first time they showed them, but by the 4th or 5th time, I was totally over them. They could have cut them out, & put in Tubby, Rick going to UofL, & more of the previous players. Sky Walker is one of my favorite, but that setting made him appear unfortunately creepy. I also expected them to talk about the fan base & sheer dedication of the BBN, which was mentioned in the opening monologue, then never brought up again. It started off great, but, overall, fell short. 🙁



  12. Warren Oates
    2:08 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    8/ watch 2nd half of regional finals against dUKe 98 regional finals for a clinic on in game adjustments from Tubby.His recruiting was awful toward the end but Tubby coached his ass off during the 98 title run.



  13. serdi
    2:10 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Tyler:
    Riles as always been there. People of your era just don’t realize it. Since he has left UK he has been occupied with the NBA. Now that he is winding down his NBA time, I suspect he will be more visible. The confederate flag was not photoshoped. Many SEC events over the years prior to integration had confederate flags. It was not just Ole Miss. I remember attending UK games at Memorial Coliseum and seeing confederate flags.

    What I appreciated about Riles the most was when that African-American professor at UK who has spoken about UK and Rupp previously and let the facts get in his way, countered him with at the time, every school in the South INCLUDING the ACC were segregated.

    It would have been nice to mention the 97 runner up tied to DA’s knee injury, and the fact that we won it in 98 and perhaps there should have been a picture of the 98 coach…but remember, he tried to bring it down in his out years, and therefore in a lot of us old timers, he needed no more attention than that. Rick Pitino set the table for him.



  14. Roland
    2:11 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    looking forward to the Tru Tv production of “A commuters school 15 secs of infamy: The UofL Story.



  15. Melvit
    2:12 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    The only redeeming value out of this show was the old footage that’s rarely seen, otherwise it was garbage.



  16. serdi
    2:14 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    It would also have been nice to mention that had Mike Casey not been involved in a crushing automobile accident prior to the 1970 season that Mike Pratt and Dan Issel plus their teammates with a healthy Casey might have arguably been NCAA champion.

    Even though you did not mention it, Kevin Grevey also did a great job documenting the 1975 win at Dayton



  17. warren Oates
    2:20 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    8 and 13 Tubby never went to the NIT while coaching here.Not a Tubby fan , but the hate for him is unfair .



  18. BiloxiGuy25
    2:21 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Rupp’s teams were overrated. They didn’t play anyone or should I say “everyone”.



  19. asdf
    2:28 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I understand time restraints, but Tubby deserved at least a mention, especially after the racial focus in the earlier segments. On the plus side, they also didn’t mention Billy Clyde.

    I had never heard about Rex advising Pitino about the UK job. Cool bit of UK trivia there…



  20. Roland
    2:30 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    18, How you can say that is beyond reasonable thinking.
    Rupp’s teams took home the hardware and it is there for anyone to see in MC and in banners in Rupp Arena.
    Rupp’s team played the teams that mattered When it mattered and Beat them.



  21. WestWorld
    2:34 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Too much about race – even had old white guys talking at a coffee shop and old black guys at the barber shop. I thought that was odd. No mention of Tubby in a show about race? Lost all credibility with me on that. Rumor has it that Tubby probably didn’t sign off on it because of cold relations with the UK athletic dept. Too much conversation with the UK professor who went so far as to insinuate that Rupp didn’t really try to recruit black players. I thought this documentary would be more focused on fan passion instead of race. Should have known better.



  22. Mack
    2:36 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Only a fan would have picked up on some of the things that Miss Thompson spoke. I will have to watch it again but like her I would always want more. The radio broadcasts were always important to me, remember listening to the games on the radio with my grandfather in the late 50’s and early 60’s in his workshop in the backyard. I wasn’t always sure what was going on but I had never seen him so excited and “vocal”.



  23. Jimmy Dykes Caddy
    2:38 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    #18,Are you kidding? The SEC was weak but Rupp would play anyone.
    Just look at the teams he played outside the SEC.
    Also, I do not believe they gave him all those championships without having to play the games.
    Your comment is way off base.



  24. tubby tub
    2:39 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    TYPICAL UK fans…dog my name and hate on me all day until race comes into play and then its ol we had tubby,the ol color coach lololololol.



  25. Carolina Blue is past tense for CAROLINA BLOWS
    2:39 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    #12–You are correct. Rick would never have won that game. Tubby went unconventional small ball to get back into the game. The kids produced but Tubby’s coaching put them in the situation. Often overlooked and not enough credit is given for the job he did.

    I recorded the show and fast forwarded through the commercials. Had to rewind it because I thought I missed the Tubby segment. Was shaking my head when I realized they left it out.



  26. AylortheImpaler
    2:40 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    they should of made it longer. They missed out on way too much. Overall I’m glad they made it though.



  27. RealCatsFan
    2:52 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Maybe if we had Tubby’s jersey hanging in Rupp’s rafters along with Rupp, Hall and Pitino he would have garnered a mention. It’s high time to make it happen. What a wonderful thing it would be if Cal would use some of his pull to see to it that it gets done. Positive press for the Cats too, just when we need it.



  28. Mack
    2:53 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    12) Was that not the game that Tubby ran Duke out of timeouts and refused to call any himslef during the last part of the 2nd half, never forget that. Must have walked 20 miles in front of the TV during that game. Remember another game on radio maybe late 50’s around Christmas, my grandfather had a tree decorated in his workshop, I’m thinking the KIT but not certain, playing WVU with jerry West, my grandfather kept saying things about West and that West had his chance to play for UK, I guess somethings stay the same.



  29. Roland
    2:54 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    26, ditto your comment.
    google ditto if you not sure what that means.
    I am an Old grumpy man.



  30. Barnabas
    2:54 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    17. I liked Tubby while he was here. But while Tubby never went to the NIT, he also didn’t recruit a class like the Davis, MKG and Co. class, win a NC, and then have the top 6 players on the team leave. You have to look at the larger picture and not just a singular fact.



  31. bung
    2:56 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Rupp was great…why this race stuff? Segregation was still the law in many southern states up into the 60’s. Some schools wouldn’t even play teams with blacks on them…but Rupp did. He beat Elgin Baylor for the 1958 title. Rupp signed our first black player not Joe B. I think he was only the 3rd ever signed in the sec.



  32. SeeToo
    2:56 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I thought the failure to mention 97 & 98/Tubby was a major oversight. We won 2 of 3 from 96-98 and if Anderson, whom they featured, had not been hurt, I believe we would have won 3 in a row. On a related note, I also watched the 30 for 30 on ESPN that same night featuring N.C. State’s championship in 83 and it was wonderful to hear them use Caywood Ledford’s call of the game. Between hearing his voice and reliving the win over IU in 75, which was every bit as sweet as a NC, it was a great evening. While Joe B. did not get as short changed as Tubby, if failed to acknowledge some of his best teams post the NC and the whole Sam Bowie drama was completely ignored. But hey, Sam got his own show, which was equally entertaining as a CAT fan.



  33. Bob
    3:02 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I think we need more of the “when _________ talks, you listen” phrase in the articles on this site. It feels like you read a page of articles here and you’ve seen more E.F. Hutton references than you’ve ever seen in your life.



  34. silverado
    3:09 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Regarding Uncle Adolph and race: There are so many issues relating to the time in America, the age of the man, the conference we played in, the recruiting efforts he made, the history he had as a coach in high school, to leave it up to some associate professor at UK to continue to smear Rupp’s reputation. It’s really a a shame and pointless. I thought the documentary gave him short shrift, not only about race, but about his accomplishments. I wasn’t looking for a whitewash – in fact, I was expecting something about the point shaving scandals – but given the time and place, he did not fail to do something that everyone else was doing.
    The Rupp years got scant coverage. Joe B. looked like he was recovering from a fist fight in one segment – couldn’t that have been re-shot? For all the coverage of the championships, Tubby was left out altogether. Gillispie absent. Cal 2012 coverage, but no Wall, Boogie, etc. Commercial at the end. A shoddy, amateurish job overall. But I enjoyed it just because it was.



  35. Al's IndiCats
    3:12 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    12 you are exactly right on that 98 game. I said it then and I’ll say it today had Rick been coaching that game Duke would’ve won because Tubby knew Duke was out of Timeouts….
    18. you also had to remember they traveled by trains and cars in those days. They couldn’t just jump on a train and be in California in a day.
    24….eat sh!t and die! It would almost take almost 3 days of travel just to get to New York in the 40s and 50s….By the way did I mention 24 eat sh!t and die?



  36. hoop33
    3:20 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I think MKG’s comment was “I want to please him in everything I do, that’s my guy” not “I want a piece of him in everything I do” the latter sounds a bit creepy.



  37. K.G.
    3:24 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I grew up listening to Kentucky on the radio and Coach Rupp’s post game show. At that time I had no idea how special those memories would become as I got older.
    I agonized like hell thru the Texas Western Game and like 99.9% of the fans I thought the semi-final win over dUKe was the real National Championship Game. Texas Western didn’t buy that theory and proceeded to out fight us for the win.
    It infuriated me to get beat by a bunch of thugs from West Texas. I’m not proud of having those thoughts but the facts are most people reacted the same way as I did, in those days-thru biased eyes. Racial hate was bad in those days and so the movie is some what correct but Coach Rupp did attempt to recruit a few African-American players and he was no bigot imo.
    The failure to include Tubby’s tenure was intentional so as not to weaken their racial charges against Coach Rupp.

    it was a bash job atypical of The LHL.



  38. KS
    3:29 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Best part? No mention of the Flubby era.



  39. 1catmantoo
    3:41 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    A few months ago I had the pleasure of talking to Harry Flournoy, who was the starting center for Texas Western in 1966 when they beat UK in the NC game. I asked him if Rupp really was a racist. He told me that he never heard anything, nor did any of his teammates hear anything directly from Rupp. He did say that Coach Haskins mentioned a few things to fire them up, but said that he did things like that often, so he just didn’t know either way for sure.

    He also said that before and during the game, the UK players were very polite and treate all the Texas Western players with great respect. After the game there was a knock on the locker room door. Coach Haskins opened the door and there was Pat Riley and Louis Dampier standing there. Riley asked if they could speak to the team. Coach Haskins obliged. Riley did most of the talking and congratulated them and told them that the best team won that night. Flournoy could not say enough about what that meant to him and the rest of the team. He couldn’t stop talikng about how much class UK showed. To this day, he loves Riley and Dampier and follose UK basketball.

    It’s amazing to me that no one has ever talked about this in the media.



  40. ebell55
    3:44 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    38 Tubby would have guided this team to the NCAA tournament. Love Cal but he gets a D minus for coaching this team.



  41. RobCary
    3:45 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    I didn’t think it was very well done. Fully 1/3 (20 minutes) was about race and then not one mention of Tubby made it look like an agenda was being worked. My biggest disappointment was that I thought it would be more about the rabid fan base and how that came about. It was mentioned early but then never mentioned again. Felt it left a lot to be desired.



  42. bb
    3:51 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    One possibility that has come to mind several times since watching it is that maybe Tubby asked to have his part left out. Watching, it seems sort of cut out at that segment.



  43. Al's IndiCats
    3:53 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    37, like you I listened to Cawood from the late 50s, and to think if I had to cherish one broadcast to tape and keep, it would’ve been that 66 championship. 39 I never heard that story until now….Thanks for sharing!



  44. Steve
    3:59 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Enough with the Damn Confederate flags at the Texas Western game. It didn’t happen. I was 11 years old and watched the game on TV. No flags were at the game and there was nothing in the newspapers of that day to indicate the game was nothing more than the NC of 1966. All black and all white teams didn’t come up until some sports writers decided to alter history to suit their views of Kentucky basketball history. Lookin at you Billy REED!!!!!



  45. J Jones
    3:59 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    It was put together by the left leaning media wanting to make uk look like a racist school. I was pissed that tubby wasn!t even mentioned. Whomever put this together has it in for the big blue. Terrible way to potray us.



  46. d.reed
    4:08 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Iknow people still hate on Tubby but without making excuses for him i feel like he was a victim of circumstanes as much as anything. Primarily from players leaving 1 year too early. The worst one was ‘Quis Estill, that next years team was the best interior passing team i have ever seen. They won like 20 straight games going into the tourney and was the #1 overall seed. I know they eventually lost to UAB and that wa a bad loss but if you put ‘Quis on that team they probably walk to a championship(at least a final four) Other notables Des Allison after fr. season, Jason Parker same, Mike Bradley, ‘Buike, Rashard Curruth, Rondo( although he showed he was NBA worthy)and even Shag Alleyne. Yes Shag leaving early hurt us because at times he was dominant on the court and he woulda took a lot of pressure off Morris in the post. Not to mention how the committee screwed us Rondo’s last year by putting us as a 8 seed against Uconn(worst possible match-up) We were tied with florida going into senior night in the league that year and they won the championship also Ala. beat #1 seeded Stanford and Vandy went to the elite eight.We were a better team than they gave us credit for. Tubby may never get the credit he deserves for working with what he had. I think that is sad



  47. Chris
    4:09 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    MKG said he wanted to ‘please’ Cal in everything he does. Not want a piece of him.



  48. UKBlue
    4:42 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    Hearing Walker/team chant “Tell Me Who’s in the House Tonight” brought cold chills of awesomeness.

    When Cynthia Richardson talked about UK & started crying, she became a recruiter for every recruit & that recruits parents if they were watching.

    Yea the Tubby thing should have been included, but hell they only had 45 minutes to include the UK story & they had to include all the history of the beginning along with addressing the racism issue.

    I wonder if that UK professor at UK still has his job, he didn’t talk so nice about the time.

    This sure made Bobby Knight look like the jackass we all know him to be.



  49. Dee W
    4:49 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    “8/ watch 2nd half of regional finals against dUKe 98 regional finals for a clinic on in game adjustments from Tubby”

    You’ve got that right – I remember that very clearly how he mixed things up and we caught up to Duke after falling significantly behind. Catching back up to that Duke team and overtaking them was no small task – we were down by double digits. I remember me and those watching the game being a bit puzzled at how the player alignment was being changed like “what is he doing?”…well, it worked – big time. That was a masterful coaching job on the part of Tubby Smith – his coaching was no small part of winning that game and ultimately winning the tournament. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9bh0dWbNPE

    We came within a whisker a number of other times of making the Final Four…and we were top seeded several other times, ranked #1 in the nation, got the top seed overall in the NCAA tournament, etc. all long after “Rick’s Players” were gone. We never failed to win at least one game in the NCAA tournament under Tubby.

    If you want to see poor coaching…just look to the fella that succeeded him.



  50. Women Everywhere
    5:28 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    No Tubby, no Tayshaun….really…. You just lost me Turner Sports.



  51. serdi
    5:33 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    46….Tubby made the choice after UK upheld the Nepotism rule preventing his son(s)from coaching with him that he was bringing it down. His recruitment of guys that would have had a hard time starting at a low OVC school or a good D2 school like Kentucky Wesleyan was it. I don’t care if he was the head coach in 98. What he did in his last five years erases anything he did previous. No to ever hanging a banner for a coach that tried to damage the UK program.



  52. blue boy
    6:06 pm March 19, 2013 Permalink

    The ten years of Tubby was equal to the BCG era a down hill slide of the program. The University handled one case with kid gloves and pulled all the punches it had to with the later. In both cases both left the program worse than they found it. Tubby was a great guy BCG was great to go drink with. Neither should had been here as a ball coach.