Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Kentucky (2-1) vs. Florida (3-0) Preview

tebow

Game Facts

UK’s 2010 record was 6-7, including a lost to Pitt in the BBVA Compass Bowl.

UF’s 2010 record was 8-5, including a win over Penn State in the Outback Bowl.

UK is 17-44 all-time against Florida, including a 24 consecutive game losing streak.

UK lost to Louisville last week 17-24 in Lexington.

Florida defeated Tennessee 33-23 in the Swamp.

Game will be played at Commonwealth Stadium in Lexington, Kentucky at 7pm EST.

Game will be televised on ESPN.

Florida snapshot

While many expected the Gators to be down this season with a new coaching staff, they appear to be poised for another big season. New head coach Will Muschamp isn’t running the spread offense anymore and has gotten away from using multiple quarterbacks. Muschamp hired Charlie Weiss to be his offensive coordinator. While Weiss was unable to get it done at Notre Dame, he is still one of the best game-callers in all of football. In fact, Joker Phillips chucked and said Weiss may have more speed at Florida than other coaching job he has had (including the Patriots).

The Gators offense receives a lot of attention because they have speedsters like Chris Rainey and Jeff Demps. However, the defense may be the team’s strong point. On the season, they are holding opponents to 8.7 points per game. The Cats will have their work cut out in attempting to run the football as the Gators have only given up 92 rushing yards all season.  Yes, that’s 1.24 yards per attempt.

Jeff Brantley will lead the offense and he will look to get the ball to Rainey and Demps as often as possible. Last year, Trey Burton torched the Cats for 5 rushing touchdowns. Burton has the ability to line up in a number of positions, but won’t be used as much as last season.

Anytime someone writes a preview about the Gators, they must mention special teams. Chris Rainey has one punt return for a score and is averaging 14 yards per return. The Gator’s are averaging almost 24 yards per kick-off return too. It’s also no secret they are one of the best teams in the country when it comes to blocking kicks. It always seems like they find a way to block one against the Cats. Special teams play likely will have a big role in the outcome of the game.

Kentucky snapshot

The Cats suffered a disappointing loss to Louisville last weekend. The game was sloppy and the Cats had their chances. In the end, they simply couldn’t get it done. The Cards ran the ball against the Cats and took a few shots downfield. On offense, the Cats only managed 35 rushing yards on 32 attempts. In order for the Cats to have a chance, they must run the football against a very stingy Gators defense.

While the Cats struggled, Morgan Newton showed promise last week. Newton passed for 255 yards, two touchdowns and no interceptions. He posted a season high completion percentage of 64%. Some fans may not realize this, but Newton turned down an offer from the Gators to play in Lexington. He’ll need to play the best game of his career on Saturday for the Cats to have a shot to end the 24-game losing streak.

In his only game of the season, E.J. Fields became UK’s second leading receiver. Against the Cards, Fields hauled in 7 receptions for 57 yards and one touchdown. La’Rod King is the team’s leading receiver with 14 receptions and three touchdowns.

Many are expecting the Cats to test the Gators defense by running the “hurry-up” offense. This could be dangerous for the Cats if they don’t produce results. Time of possession has been an issue for the Cats this season as opponents have a six minute advantage. However, Joker Phillips is simply looking to find a way to get his offense going and in a rhythm.

Rick Minter was Charlie Weiss’ defensive coordinator at Notre Dame until Weiss fired him. These two probably have a better idea of what one another will try to do than anyone else they face. Minter made a lot of position changes during the off-season in trying to put playmakers in key roles. Minter’s unit will have to have their best game of the season and force turnovers if the Cats are going to keep the game close.

Keys to the game

No one is giving the Cats the slightest chance to win on Saturday. The Cats have played three non-conference teams and have looked sloppy in each game. It’s hard to imagine they will have their best game of the season against one of the top defenses in the nation. In my opinion, the Cats would need to score at least 35 points to have a chance on Saturday.

Can the Cats play a clean game? I’m talking about no penalties, no turnovers and no missed opportunities. If the Cats get in the red zone, they have to put the ball in the end zone and not settle for a field goal. They can’t afford any drops by the receivers and somehow the Cats must establish a running game. Lastly, Greg Nord’s special teams can’t afford any mistakes.

Prediction

Defeating the Gators is a tall task, especially for one who is struggling to find it’s identity. Football is a crazy game and I’ve seen crazier things happen. The Gators do have Alabama next week, so maybe they overlook the Cats. Still, I’m afraid the streak extends to 25 games.

Gators win 38-17

As always, you can check out Bleed Blue Kentucky or follow me on Twitter. You can also become a fan on Facebook to receive updates

Article written by Aaron Cordero

46 Comments for Kentucky (2-1) vs. Florida (3-0) Preview



  1. jtb3
    2:11 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    41-10. 31-3 at half and they rest their players for most of the 2nd.



  2. misterpettybones
    2:16 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    No way we break double digits in scoring against Florida. Who’s offense have you been watching all season?



  3. Hal
    2:18 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    so you’re saying UK was 17-20 all-time against UF before the 24 straight losses?? thats actually not terrible



  4. Powerlifter165
    2:23 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    #3 You beat me to it. I was thinking the same thing.



  5. Come on
    2:28 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    17 points against Florida? haha. Obviously you have on the blue tainted glasses. The Cats struggled to break double digits against the MAC and Sun Belt.



  6. Drew
    2:31 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Good taste to post that picture atop this post. Nicely done Aaron, stay classy…



  7. Nick
    2:31 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    “UK’s 2010 record was 6-7, including a lost to Pitt in the BBVA Compass Bowl.”…… it’s loss Aaaron, you make that mistake too often, not trying to be a dick but just saying…..



  8. Blue
    2:32 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Not sure what to make a preview that can’t get names correct. It’s John Brantley, not Jeff, and Charlie Weis, not Weiss.



  9. Blue
    2:32 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Not sure what to make of a preview that can’t get names correct. It’s John Brantley, not Jeff, and Charlie Weis, not Weiss.



  10. Yesterdays
    2:33 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Let’s just talk about Tydlacka. Hes our only hope. I think we can average at least 1.9 yards per carry against them.



  11. Dent43
    2:34 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Cats will get crushed! 58-14.



  12. UK2934
    2:34 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    38-10… which i do not mind as long as the play calling is exciting. which i doubt. so i see alot of 3rd and longs with draws for losses in the future. Remember what Joker says “Punting is not a bad play when you punt 40+ yards.” Im glad hes content with that. Im not.



  13. leedurhamstone
    2:36 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Aaron Cordero: For improved writing, review the grammatical rules on usage of apostrophes. You missed correct usage in at least three instances, adding where not needed and leaving out when needed.



  14. Dan From Fully House
    2:36 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    I will give anybody willing to take a bet $1,000 that the Cats won’t even score a point



  15. dc4uk
    2:36 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Man TN only lost to Florida by 10 in the Swamp. Uk is my team but if TN kept it that close I see us having little chance of beating the Vols this year again. I feel sorry for our boys as fans we need to support them even if we know the outcome of the games beforehand. I havent watched TN or Florida play this year either by the way. Good Luck men! BBN nation is behind yall dont listen to haters



  16. guest 1
    2:37 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    #6 I agree. That is about as classy as all the fans at the game who were cheering while he was laying on the ground.



  17. TheWaitFor8
    2:39 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    #s 3 and 4 I was thinking the same thing. At some point we were 17-20 all time. Lol. That’s amazing. Now it is the game we never even consider being a possible win.



  18. SweetTeaMob til I DIE
    2:39 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Jeff Brantley? Really? I’d love it if only Beisner, Drew and Matt wrote on this site. With an occasional BTI post.

    Not a bad post, but I can’t take you seriously if you don’t know the name of the starting quarterback we’re facing. My girlfriend knew his name. As well as my sister. And my 84 year old grandmother. Thats not a joke.



  19. go away
    2:47 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    6 and 10…why would you think this site cares about classy? You people are idiots. Go away.



  20. Complainers will complain
    2:49 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    18 – if you only want Beisner, Drew, and Matt, how about you only read the posts by Beisner, Drew, and Matt? That would save people from having to read your complaints because no one cares what you prefer.



  21. Mr Schwump
    2:51 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    17 pts is most generous.



  22. Opti
    2:55 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    We used to play Florida in November. One year Curci swapped sides of the field and put Florida on the press box side in the shade. It was a cold day. I can’t even remember how many balls Collinsworth dropped in that game. We were pretty successful on those cold November afternoons. When C. M. Newton became the Athletic Director, he allowed the game to be moved to September. Bryant, Curci or Brooks would be much more appropriate names for the field at Commonwealth…IMHO



  23. Ollie the Weatherman
    3:07 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    We lose 49-7, but Tim Tebow will be too afraid to watch the game.
    Anyone notice that Florida NEVER plays in Lexington during cold weather?



  24. Ollie the Weatherman
    3:08 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    #22 didn’t see your comment. Ya beat me to it.



  25. CAUKFAN
    3:09 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    It’s going to be ugly……unless there’s something the Cats haven’t shown us yet. I say they will bring out their ‘play not to lose too bad game’ and get trounced anyway.



  26. UKGoBigBlue
    3:11 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Watching this game is going to be like watching an execution over & over & over again.



  27. barn
    3:13 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    if we score any points it will be by the defense



  28. 1st Down Kentucky
    3:13 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Look for Joker to open up the play book tomorrow and show no mercy to the filthy gators!



  29. Al's IndiCats
    3:14 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    13,…news brought to you in the most ridictulous manner possible. I, thought, you might, think about, it…… Really! Who cares about the how it was written. But let me ask, it there a test afterwards?…….Go Cats!



  30. UKGoBigBlue
    3:20 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    UK should have scheduled Florida during Keeneland so we could have been exposed to even more cuties at Keeneland. Note to UK, makes this happen in the future.

    If UK wants to make sure the Jacksonville State game is sold out, have Cal hold a basketball practice in the middle of Commonwealth at halftime.



  31. Gay-tor cicles is what I vote for
    3:21 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    22, Yeah, leave it to good old C. (I want to be fair to everyone) M. Newton for changing our one and only advantage. I say make that game one of the last ones at Commonwealth and hope the snow’s flying and it’s a frigid 22 above zero…..Gay-tors don’t do well in the cold!



  32. Tim Tebow's puke bag
    3:21 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    LOVED that hit on Tebow! LOVED seeing Tebow on the sideline, dazed. LOVED seeing him puke his guts out.



  33. bigcat76
    3:25 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Come on post the video..post it, post it!!!! I LOVE THAT HIT.



  34. Al's IndiCats
    3:37 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Me too 32, I’m happy it wasn’t anything perminate, and for everyone else who thinks that picture is bad…..just think of all the hits he put on smaller corner backs who he out weighed by 50 LBS. or better.



  35. JBR
    3:41 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    I think Aaron’s daddy, Frank Cassity (Messenger) made him put the comments in there about “if we are to hang with the gators”…blah, blah, blah…we could have the Green Bay Packers roster out there, but with Joker would not have a chance to even be in this game. If you have a tremendous amount of time to waste, go read BBK about how Frank thinks that he is smarter than everyone else and this team really isn’t that bad, it is just that our fans are stupid.



  36. Jaws2
    4:12 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    Yeah, I’m sure ‘turnovers’ will have something to do with the outcome; NOT. Florida could turn it over 5 times and we’d still drop this game. Good Lord people stop this delusional thinking. We couldn’t block Trinity’s DL and mark my words, Joker will try to run around the corners. FL’s defensive speed will Kill us.



  37. bubbles
    4:38 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    We are 0-50 combined against fla/tenn in the last 25 years…think about that..two teams in our own division…and you ppl are whining about ribbon boards and other bs that makes no difference.



  38. greg
    4:43 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    funny predictions. what makes some of you think we can even score on florida ? did you go to the last game ?



  39. Jimmy Buffett
    5:18 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    more posts



  40. carolinacat
    5:44 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    It is pure lunacy to suggest that UK “must run the football to have a chance against UF.” The opposite is true. We must THROW the freaking football, especially on early downs, to have even a miniscule chance of winning the game. 70-30 pass to run % sounds about right.

    Who in their right mind thinks this team can run consistently against this defense? Mind boggling.



  41. Football Man
    7:01 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    I was there in ’86 the last time we beat them in November it was a nasty weather day! We need to move the game date back to Nov.



  42. schquigly
    10:36 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    this game could get ugly for us by the end of the 1st quarter



  43. by
    11:32 pm September 23, 2011 Permalink

    gators 59-9



  44. TheBurghCat
    5:24 am September 24, 2011 Permalink

    Good article for sure. I hope you are right about the score because it will mean UK did something on offense. Based on our earlier play; however, I fear a shutout is more likely.

    Go Cats!



  45. Gaydar Hater
    10:33 am September 24, 2011 Permalink

    Can I get a panoramic 3d print of that photo please??



  46. Gaydar Hater
    10:34 am September 24, 2011 Permalink

    At least a .gif of the hit that did it!!!