Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

East Region Preview: Anyone but Indiana

east

The Cats might not be in the NCAA Tournament, but that doesn’t mean we still can’t have a rooting interest. Over the next two days, KSR will preview each region of the bracket, helping you figure out who to cheer for, and what the least offensive result would be. We’ll get through this together. First, we looked at the Midwest Bracket, aka the “Region of Death,” then the West Region, the South Region, and finally, the East Region.

NCAA Basketball: Southern Conference Tournament-Final-Charleston vs Davidson

Cinderella in waiting: Davidson

Yes, this is my alma mater and yes, I’m a homer. But Davidson is a good team. Sure, they don’t have Stephen Curry anymore, but they’re a veteran squad that deserved a higher seed. Davidson’s offense is nothing to sniff at, and Jake Cohen and De’Mon Brooks are legit. Senior Nik Cochran shot 48.5% from behind the arc this season, and Davidson is the best free throw shooting team in the country. They’ve also won 17 straight games and have one of college basketball’s best coaches in Bob McKillop. Add in the fact that Marquette is over-seeded and you’ve got a recipe for an upset if Davidson can control the post. Plus, they’re Wildcats, too.

Team to adopt: Miami (FL)

Has there been a more fun team to follow this year than Miami? Miami’s buzz fizzed out a little after they lost to Duke and Georgia Tech, but they still won the ACC regular season and tournament championships. They’re a well-balanced squad who plays gritty defense led by what may end up being the National Coach of the Year in Jim Larranaga. Need another reason to cheer for them? They slapped the floor during a rout of Duke, at the request of alum Warren Sapp.

Three Heroes

G797E.Gi.32

1. Shane Larkin, Miami

“Shane Larkin is Barry Larkin’s son” is this tournament’s “Anthony Davis used to be a 6’3″ point guard.” Larkin has become a media darling, due not only to his famous father, but for his generous play on the court. Larkin averages 14.6 points, 3.9 rebounds and 4.4 assists per game, and is the heart and soul of the Hurricanes. He shoots 40 percent from behind the arc and when he’s on a roll, watch out. Larkin put up 28 vs. North Carolina in the ACC Championship game.

hi-res-158798964_crop_650x440

2. Anthony Bennett, UNLV

Remember him? The former UK recruit has had an up and down freshman season, but he is an absolute beast. Bennett averages 16.1 points and 8.1 rebounds and has the body to power through in the post and clean up on the boards.

ncb_u_davis_cr_412

3. De’Mon Brooks, Davidson

The junior forward averages 13.8 points, 6.2 rebounds, and is coming off a 24-point performance in the SoCon Conference Championship. Brooks and Cohen are Davidson’s most talented players, and will give Marquette’s Davante Gardner all he can handle. If Marquette focuses on containing Cohen’s versatility, look for Brooks to have a major impact.

Three Villains:

1. crean

2. crean

3. crean

Best possible outcome for UK fans: Anyone but Indiana gets to the Final Four.

Worst possible outcome for UK fans: Indiana gets to the Final Four.

Heart prediction: Davidson gets to the Sweet Sixteen but falls to Miami, who beats Indiana to go to the Final Four.

Head prediction: Boo hoo hoo Hoosiers. 🙁

Go Cats.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

27 Comments for East Region Preview: Anyone but Indiana



  1. Amberbock
    8:34 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Die, IU, die!!!



  2. prediction
    8:40 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    i have UNLV beating the Hoo’s , regardless of that, Miami is my pick for the region



  3. Linda Taylor
    8:44 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    In appreciation for all of your hard work TT I will root for Davidson first, Miami 2nd, and Butler 3rd. Hopefully NCState will take out IU on Sun. They have had a few really good games this year and nothing would be sweeter than for them to take out Crean’s crew in the first weekend of the tournament. Hope springs eternal.



  4. kramer
    8:48 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    I going Miami VS Gonzaga!!



  5. Huggs
    8:49 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    I got Syracuse



  6. Moosem102
    8:55 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    I’m cheering for everyone except Indiana, Louisville, and duke. Georgetown beats Michigan St. For title.



  7. Yngvie Malmsteen.
    8:56 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    NCSt takes out the hooziers.



  8. what
    9:10 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Basketball season is over. What are you all talking about.



  9. Michael Kidd
    9:11 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Need me to kick Indiana’s butt again?



  10. Eric K
    9:14 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Who cares!! GO CATS!!



  11. Eric K
    9:15 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Damn that crean sucks!! GO CATS!!



  12. Oogie
    9:17 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Born in East Lansing and attended NC State. So since Cats aren’t in it I reckon I’ll be following Sparty and the Pack. Anybody but Duke, UL, IU or Florida!



  13. bosshog
    9:35 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    At this point, in the light of all the shit being talked about us, I really don’t care that much who wins. People are celebrating and relishing our misfortune this year, and I don’t want to be focused on that because I think we should be above it. Why? Because we’ve done more and we’re in a better position than all the people talking smack to us, so why take the bait? Next year we will be back to kicking ass in the proper way, restoring order, and that’s all that matters.



  14. yessir
    9:42 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    @6- I have that as well in my bracket



  15. yessir
    9:44 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    MIAMI HEAT were down 22 earlier tonight, now they’re up 4 with about 7 min left.. nice glad to see good teams do what they do & I love lebron’s game! 24 straight, chasin that single season record



  16. Linda Taylor
    9:51 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Drew should keep that pic of Crean and photoshop vampire fangs on him at some point. He couldn’t have posed more perfectly to set that scenario up.



  17. Oz10
    9:52 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Hey all three villains are @drunktomcrean



  18. mashburnfan1
    10:15 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Miami has a team older than some NBA teams. Their coach is a class guy so root for him.



  19. Not Jay-Z
    10:21 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    The scary thing is thats not a security guard behind Crean. Thats just him finally revealing his creepy 2nd head.



  20. Denpris
    10:24 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Why is no one talking about hoping Kansas loses. They have cut our all time victories down to 12 difference. UK has 2,111 and Kansas has 2,099. If they win the national championship the difference will be 6. I’m pulling for Kansas to lose quickly. I’m not worried much about UNC anymore. With Syracuse, Louisville, and Pittsburgh joining the ACC, the league has become much more difficult. But Kansas’ league lost Missouri and there is not so much competition left. We beat them twice last year and that really helped or the difference would be down to 10 and would become 4 with a national championship. May Kansas lose!



  21. Denpris
    10:30 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    Should have said that if we hadn’t beat them last year, they would have beaten us and therefore would have 2,101 victories. We would have two less victories, so we would have 2,109. The difference would be 8 at present and if they would win a national championship then the difference would be 2 victories. So, the wins last year were very, very important. But may Kansas lose quickly! And go Cats next year!



  22. what i think
    10:53 pm March 20, 2013 Permalink

    I really honestly believe that if nc state can get by temple they could give the loosiers a close game and could pull it off.



  23. John Ellis
    1:26 am March 21, 2013 Permalink

    Indiana has the same problem UK had this year, but with a veteran team to compensate. Not tough. They get pushed over, haven’t beaten Wisconsin in twelve straight games now. Miami my pick to win the whole thing. Every team has major flaws, they have a coach that got George Mason to the Final Four. Over a team that UK and Tubby just missed beating, UConn. He feels like he’s due.



  24. John Ellis
    1:27 am March 21, 2013 Permalink

    Kansas is eminently fallible too. In fact every top team is overrated, in this vacuum. One of them may survive. Hopefully Gonzaga.



  25. Axe Cop
    8:08 am March 21, 2013 Permalink

    Tom Crean’s hair is just the worst.



  26. Bigcat4453
    8:45 am March 21, 2013 Permalink

    There’s only 1 team in this entire region with less that 6 losses. It’s anybodies game. Either the NCAA has become really balanced or really poor!



  27. Blue44
    10:15 am March 21, 2013 Permalink

    I’d rather have IU in the Final Four over Louisville any day