Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

CBS Sports Previews The Game

The big game that pits the Commonwealth of Kentucky against the City of Louisville is a little over three hours away and it’s safe to say that both sides are starting to feel the pressure.  Pre-game meals are being consumed and game plans are being finalized for the impending battle.  It seems as though every news source in the nation has given their preview of the annual bout, and now CBS Sports has decided to do the same.  In their lengthy write-up, they provide detailed statistics and quotes from both sides.  According to the author, Josh Abner, the Louisville defense is fueled by their signature intensity.  “(Louisville) has succeeded behind Pitino’s trademark: tough pressure defense. The Cardinals lead the nation in turnover margin (+8.6) and are second in steals at 11.9 per game.”

Of course it wouldn’t be a complete article without Rick Pitino’s opinion on marriage.  When asked if this game was the best rivalry in college basketball, Pitino paused and said:

“Yeah, because we live with each other. I don’t think a Duke woman would marry a North Carolina guy. And I don’t think a North Carolina man would marry a Duke woman.”

“We just intermarry all the time. It’s hurt our society here in Louisville. And for those of you who have married a Kentucky woman, you know what I’m talking about.”

If anyone knows about marriage, it’s Rick Pitino.

The entire article can be found here.

Article written by Jonathan Schuette

14 Comments for CBS Sports Previews The Game



  1. PitinoKnows
    1:04 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Karen, meet Joanne, Joanne, meet Karen! I love marriage between friends!



  2. Duuuuuude
    1:13 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    LOL……yea…..that is why I married a German woman.



  3. Takethoseonionsoffmysliders
    1:17 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Wow!! I can’t believe quick Rick keep putting his foot in his mouth!



  4. Courier-Journal
    1:32 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    If Pitino doesn’t like reds and blues cohabitating – we can only imaging Pitino’s thoughts on whites and blacks cohabitating.



  5. Neil Diamond
    1:42 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Kentucky woman
    She shines with her own kind of light
    She’d look at you once
    And a day that’s all wronglooks all right
    And I love her
    God knows, I love her
    Kentucky womanIf she get to know you
    She goin’ to own youKentucky woman
    Well, she ain’t the kind
    Makes heads turn at the drop of her name
    But something insideThat she’s got turn you on just the same
    And she loves me
    God knows, she loves me
    Kentucky woman
    If she get to know you
    She goin’ to own you
    Kentucky woman
    I don’t want much
    The good Lord’s earth beneath my feet
    A gentle touch
    From that one girl, and life is
    Sweet and good
    Ain’t no doubtI’m talkin’ about
    Kentucky woman
    If she get to know you
    She goin’ to own you
    Kentucky woman



  6. ChrisM
    1:55 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Seriously, at some point people on here need to start cutting Pitino some slack. He can’t say anything without people here shining a negative light on it. It’s juvenile and its time to move on.



  7. TN Cat
    1:55 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Sometimes I wonder if we didn’t dodge a bullet by Pitino going to the Celtics.



  8. dave
    2:08 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    6-he says dumb s***. he’s still the coach at uofl. this is a uk blog. what do you expect???



  9. Klingonese
    2:26 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    # 8, I genuflect in your presence….you speak with a clarity rarely found here. Thank you sir, for knocking that doofus loser, # 6, square on his cardinal red butt…or face, if you can tell the difference.



  10. red headed step child
    2:30 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    @6. You have to admit, he does say some funny sh!t.



  11. BravoBigBlue
    3:15 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Pitino has one of those strong Catholic marriages. Where anything goes as long as you don’t get divorced.



  12. Al's IndiCats
    3:16 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Seriously 6, Pitino needs to quit being such a hypocritical loogy. He says one thing and before you know it boom, he DOES the opposite. Cats by 3 in double OT



  13. Winston
    3:52 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    Rule 1. Never give CBS clicks.



  14. Steve
    10:23 pm December 29, 2012 Permalink

    I think Rick is a funny guy, and makes good humored quips, and doesn’t take all this too seriously. People need to lighten up. We’re fortunate to have 2 great coaches and programs in Kentucky, and the no. 1 rivalry!