Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

CBS Previews the East Region

CBS’ trio of basketball brains, Jason Horowitz, Gary Parrish and Norm Roberts, put on their best suits and sat down to preview the East Region, which includes your Kentucky Wildcats. All three picked Ohio State to advance to the Final Four and Roberts picked Princeton as a team that could surprise people in the first round. He then was forced to wear a dunce cap the rest of the day.

Enjoy.

Also, my new BFF, Eric Angevine, profiles the East and lists Kentucky as his dark horse team to emerge. He says that though it’s hard to pick this team to go deeper than last year’s version, they have enough talent to make a run.

Article written by Thomas Beisner

27 Comments for CBS Previews the East Region



  1. eastky
    10:50 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    San Diego State got an early lucky win against Gonzaga and haven’t played ANYBODY other then an overrated BYU team (who also hasn’t really played anybody other then SDSU.) I mean really? Any major confrence team would absolutley destroy, what the selection commitee and everyone else believes, is the power house of the the Mountain West Confrence..ridiculous

    and if the cats win it all this year, then they freaking deserve it. It’d potential be one of the toughest paths to win a championship that I can think of.
    UK’s potential opponents to win it all

    Princeton
    West Virginia
    Ohio State
    North Carolina
    Duke
    Kansas



  2. eastky
    10:52 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    San Diego State got an early lucky win against Gonzaga and haven’t played ANYBODY other then an overrated BYU team (who also hasn’t really played anybody other then SDSU.) I mean really? Any major confrence team would absolutley destroy, what the selection commitee and everyone else believes, is the power house of the the Mountain West Confrence..ridiculous

    and if the cats win it all this year, then they freaking deserve it. It’d potential be one of the toughest paths to a championship that I can think of.
    UK’s potential opponents to win it all

    Princeton
    West Virginia
    Ohio State
    North Carolina
    Duke
    Kansas



  3. AUbleedblue
    10:54 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    The one thing I can think of when I look at UK’s bracket is back to the 97 tournament when Zona had to come out of the toughest bracket and knock off 4 #1 seeds to win it all. Just hoping the CATS can do the same.



  4. Cat fan in atlanta
    10:54 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Didn’t Kentucky beat 3 number 1 seeds in 98?



  5. dhighdrated
    11:05 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    3 – it’s impossible to knock off all 4 #1 seeds.



  6. john4uk
    11:05 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Count me in as wearing heavy blue tinted glasses,but i feel the Cats can get to the final four.



  7. Bg Cat
    11:06 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    I Said It Yesterday And Ill Say It Again Today ~ The Sec Needs To Move Its Tourney Final To Sat. , So Winning The Thing Actually Means Something Towards Ncaa Seeding.



  8. eastky
    11:07 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    #3 Arizona only played 3 number 1 seeds, and also a 10, 12, and 13

    #4 UK only played 1 number 1 seed that year and also played, 3, 3, 6, 10, and a 15

    Kentucky this year would potentially face 1, 1, 1, 2, 5, 13



  9. Cat fan in atlanta
    11:09 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    #8 yeah I looked that up, have no idea what I was thinking of.



  10. Bige
    11:12 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Get used to it BBN.
    The NCAA$$$ is obviously worried about a vacated title or final four’s due the Calipari’s reputation.



  11. AUbleedblue
    11:20 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    I just realized that it would be impossible to play all 4 #1s, either way up until that point they were the only team to beat the highest ranked teams ahead of them. And this KY team can do it to if they play to their potential which they are starting to do with consistancy now.

  12. “Hey, Roberts, this ain’t no spelling bee!”
    -Boogie



  13. AlanFromTheHangover
    11:25 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Anybody elses butt hurt this morning from yesterday?



  14. ihaveapetwildcat
    11:28 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Norm Roberts and Gene Smith can go die



  15. Flyman
    11:34 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    seriously, what does seeding matter in the big scheme of things for uk?? i dont think anyone believes that the cats have a chance of the final 4 even if they had drawn a 2 seed! the only difference is uk realistically may have been able to play one more day this year before losing and having to listen to all the know it alls post how they reverted back to being turrible and missing a shot at killing someone!! its been a great year and the rest is gravy!



  16. Claw
    11:35 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    7) agreed. the sec officials need to remove their heada from their asses and move the sec tourney championship to Saturday. The NCAA putting florida ahead of kentucky in the seeding is a sham. bring on west viginia. huggins won’t be so smuggins this time. If wisconsin can beat ohio state then kentucky can too. If we face byu then liggins will eat jimmer alive and have him breaking the honor code after the game. That’s all, praise God, go cats and pass the biscuits.



  17. Carolina Blue is past tense for CAROLINA BLOWS
    11:40 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    #1–Tougher than Arizona beating three number one seeds?



  18. hiper
    11:43 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    16). Very true! Nobody remembers how far you got, only how far you didnt get… Can anyone name the runner ups off your head for the last couple yrs?



  19. Carolina Blue is past tense for CAROLINA BLOWS
    11:50 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    The SEC Tourny ended later in the day so they moved it to an earlier start time in order to give the committee time to properly slot the teams. That didn’t seem to work out very well yesterday. I can remember the games ending and going straight to the Bracket Announcements. I believe GA won and were not projected to be in and they had to scramble to make adjustments. From that point forward they moved the Finals to earlier in the day to avoid this in the future.



  20. NBA league pass
    11:55 am March 14, 2011 Permalink

    I think the committee just needs to do their jobs. If the game ends at 3, that should be plenty of time to factor the results into the seeding. They found the time to use the ACC tourney result to impact (positively) Dukes’ seeding, they should have been able to use our win to affect ours.



  21. bluesince66
    12:05 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Didn’t the ACC tourney end about the same time as the SEC. Seems funny they didn’t have a problem getting Duke and UNCs correct.



  22. nybrasky
    12:31 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    Norm Roberts shouldn’t be allowed to offer any “insight” based on just how much better St John’s is this year with the same team and different coach.



  23. Al's IndiCats
    12:32 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    This is whatr puzzeling me..

    Duke got crushed the same day the Cats demolished UT on their home floor
    Cats won the last 7 out of 8 games including the 5 (UF twice) teams that beat us during the regualr season. and Gene Smith said tthe committee thought we were SLINDING DOWN?
    And yet they gave Duke and another soft path to the final four, plus I would not complain one iota if I had Pitt’s draw.

    I can just imagine what Matta’s saying to hisself….Here I thought we were the number 1’s number 1 and we maybe have drawn the Cats with the way they’re playing right now. Perhaps OSU will be over looking that ‘Nova game. Go Cats beat those silly little Princeton guys, get sweet revenge on the mountaineers, and let pick some fresh buckeyes for the fire…..GO CATS!!!!!!!!



  24. comments?
    12:48 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    ?



  25. Al's IndiCats
    1:13 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    21, they were penciled in on October 15th



  26. Ron Barry Partin
    3:51 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    it is obvious that 90% of the picks are selected weeks prior to the selection Sunday. There will always be a select few spots left open for the unexpected and the favorites.



  27. hatrick
    11:35 pm March 14, 2011 Permalink

    We def deserved a higher ranking than 4. No way UF should get a 2 seed. GL fellows.