Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Breaking down the All-Access: Kentucky preview

Last night during Monday Night Football, ESPN aired a preview of the upcoming “All Access: Kentucky” series we’ve been buzzing about for the past few weeks. The preview, which you can see by clicking the pic above, shows Cal eating breakfast at Wheeler’s Pharmacy with some local fans. It may only be thirty seconds, but it is thirty seconds of solid gold (insert obligatory Pitino joke here). Here are my highlights:

Open scene: 9:35 a.m. Microwave Time. Eggs, pancakes and bacon on the grill. I like where this is going.

So does Cal, who peppers his eggs enthusiastically:

I see you, Oscar Combs!

Enter this guy, who asks Cal what he thinks about this year’s team:

“Ummm…”
“Not gonna be as good this year, huh?”
“Absolutely, we will not be as good.”

[Worried chewing]

Enter the star of the show, Johnny Gold Chainz:

“That’s what you said about that team last year, wasn’t it?”

[Hearty laughter]


“We had a little swag last year because I knew.”

This guy after the kid next to him explains what “swag” is:

“This team’s not as tough as last year’s.”

Is he being serious or not?

“We’ve gotta figure out how we play with these guys.”

Is that a smirk or just open mouth chewing? I can’t wait to find out tomorrow night.

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

22 Comments for Breaking down the All-Access: Kentucky preview



  1. Andy
    11:22 am October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Wonder what Pete Thamel has been up to??? Just trying to spoil someone else’s youth becuase his wasn’t as good as theirs…..http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/magazine/10/16/honey-badger/index.html?eref=sihp&sct=hp_t11_a0



  2. A
    11:23 am October 16, 2012 Permalink

    AWWWWHHHH YEAAAAAA



  3. Cardz
    11:49 am October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Watching your coach eat eggs with some old geezers at a pharmacy? This is what you do with your October? Do you realize its NFL and college football season? Wow. Senior Citizen party at the local pharmacy that also cooks eggs (?). How Kentucky of you.

    Watch Coach Cal pepper his eggs–> The life of a Kentucky fan.



  4. pawn star
    11:50 am October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Cal just showed the 2nd edition of this on his fb page



  5. JDH
    11:57 am October 16, 2012 Permalink

    3…I hear Pitino is getting a show on some pay channel. But it’s only 15 seconds long.



  6. RealCatsFan
    12:01 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    #3, I hear Rick Pitino likes extra cream in his coffee…. wait a minute, that was…. Eeewww…



  7. Linda Taylor
    12:08 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Guys, someone (#3) is very jealous that ESPN is doing an all access show about UK and not UL. It’s been a LONG time since 1986.



  8. petey
    12:08 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    wow what a magnificent breakdown of a truly intriguing 31 seconds. From your play-by-play freeze frame analysis I was able to ascertain several important insights about the upcoming all access show:
    1. It will be mostly scripted, those old farts had prompts for days
    2. Old men do not know what swag means, but since Cal said it they all laughed
    3. You have waaaay too much time on your hands because you thought this would be a good post you actually analyzed it.
    way to go



  9. Cardz
    12:12 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Go suck an egg… Calipari’s egg



  10. JDH
    12:21 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Trolling UK Sports sites…the life of a Louisville fan.



  11. RUPPS_rhetoric
    12:23 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    3) Trolling your rivals website to talk smack about a 30 second video clip? (Insert obligitory Pitino fathering 2 childen joke) This is what you do with your October? Do you realize Black and Milds and Crown Royal are on sale at Cox’s Smokers Outlet? Wow. Line Beard trimming party at the local Gentlmen’s Club that also serves as a day care for former UL Cheerleaders? (See Becca Manns) Spelling the word Cards with a “Z” on the end (?) How Louisville of you.

    Not winning a National Championsip (Other than Steeplechase) in 26 years -> The life of a Louisville Fan.



  12. cats11
    12:29 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Way to break down that video, Tyler… way… to… go…



  13. Bluehills
    12:37 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    #7, he/she would really be pissed if he/she were aware his/her former HOF Coach has taken a seat at the same table on numerous occasions….in October too!



  14. Time Better Spent
    12:45 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    “Petey”-The time you spent critiquing the post and stereotyping the elderly could have been well spent finishing your 8th grade english homework.



  15. [email protected]
    12:53 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    yes, this is what we do with our October. Esp since it’s on a Wednesday night and there are no games to watch. The time it took to watch that promo was twice the time it took Rick to do his thing, so I can see why Card fans would think this is a waste.



  16. theOz
    2:04 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    I think it’s safe to say that “Card Fans” who post on KSR are more “Kentucky Haters” than a fan of their school. :-/



  17. BURRRRR
    3:20 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    This was hilarious. Thanks for the analysis, Tyler.



  18. Jungle Bob
    4:00 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    This is one of the best posts ever.
    Very funny. Classic Kentucky.
    Great job Mrs. Thompson!



  19. WhySoSerious
    5:07 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    These old dudes need subtitles.



  20. Walsh is Gay
    6:30 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    The [Worried chewing] lines cracked me up. Fantastic as always, TT!

    As to the CardZ fans with nothing better to do; this is how programs who know they’re the pinnacle act. Apparently unlike your lukewarm, bandwagon, gang-signing, linebeard-growing, flat-billed, L2C4 failure of a fanbase, who for the last decade have flip-flopped between informing us that the -OTHER- season is just around the corner when we whoop you at Football/Basketball. We know what we’re good at, and we celebrate it 24/7 365. Did you know that the NFL Networks talks about the NFL all year, too? What are those idiots doing?! Nobody cares about football year round, right?



  21. wow
    7:19 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    @3 You spend your Octobers watching your mom turn tricks on the living room couch.. It must really suck to be a Loserville fan.



  22. Hearty Laughter
    9:48 pm October 16, 2012 Permalink

    Even went as far as to annotate “Hearty Laughter”. We are not all so sad that we need an analysis of a 30 second breakfast video…