Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Archie Goodwin makes a poster

You probably saw it happen live last night. You probably dreamt about it all night. You probably woke up thinking about it. And now you are hopefully going to enjoy it once more. Archie Goodwin may have been called for theΒ blarge charge, but not before throwing down one of the more impressive dunks I’ve seen in a while (or at least since Brandon Rash’s dunk in the Transy game). The look on the poor Lafayette player’s face is priceless. Story for the kids someday?

(h/t to Brandon Daulton for the side-by-side shot)

Article written by Ally Tucker

I once successfully requested "The Wobble" to be played 6 times at one wedding.

30 Comments for Archie Goodwin makes a poster



  1. Posterized
    9:05 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    #2 on sportcenter! πŸ™‚



  2. Wowza!
    9:06 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Wow! #2 on SC Top 10 today



  3. worst
    9:06 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    cant believe ref called that a block, kids feet were moving after archie had taken off, but regardless with a dunk that awesome you cant screw it up with a debatable call. something that beautiful just needs to be watched without the disturbance of that ref.



  4. Edith Bunker
    9:10 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Oohh Archie!!



  5. Ridge Runner
    9:11 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    I’ve seen more charges called in the early part of the year than other years. Especially against us. Granted, some are called right but ya gotta think (at least I do) that we have so much athletecism <spell ck? –that the speed many of our players have fool the refs because they haven't seen it to the degree we can get to the hoop. So, they blow the whistle thinking…that can't happen unless he charges. ha?

    Anyway…Goodwin? The dude is fearless and on a mission going to the rim. Awesome.



  6. Ridge Runner
    9:12 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    4…well played, sir. haha



  7. Brandon
    9:18 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Amazing dunk! Ridge, you are spot on I think.



  8. Biggass Hungguy
    9:29 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Archie Goodwin commits a charge would be a more accurate heading.



  9. keepthefaithBBN
    9:30 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Unbelievable play. Unbelievable call. I thought this was a point of emphasis this year. The player clearly slid under Archie after he had taken off. He’s even outside the arc, for pete’s sake. When I think of MKG last year, most if his fouls were offensive charging calls. He saw limited minutes in some games because of this. Hate to see a repeat this year….



  10. keepthefaithBBN
    9:31 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    …ummm…a repeat of bad calls, would love to see a repeat National Championship!



  11. OMG
    9:31 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    How was that a charge,,, looks like Archie jumped over him! lol



  12. Oohlala
    9:33 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    I really hate the state of charge calls nowadays. They encourage players to step in last second to get these calls and it’s getting so bad that kids are going to get hurt. It is a dangerous play and the refs encourage it . Basketball should be about basketball, not cheating to get fouls called. If you’re beat you’re beat. They need to expand the circle under the rim.



  13. SeoulCat
    9:33 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    #8, and “Biggasshole Because His BF is a Hungguy” would be a more accurate handle for you.



  14. rainman
    9:35 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    T-BAGGED, Archie style!!



  15. Jog
    9:42 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    That dunk is so similar to Dirk Minnefields dunk back in the day!!



  16. Floyd
    9:43 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Stop it when the defenders feet are planted. You will see that Archie is already halfway in the air. Yet another stupid call.



  17. flashcat
    9:43 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Woulda been #1 on SportsCenter had Archie lobbed it up to the 7 footer in the background.



  18. Cats R Back
    9:46 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Dirk Minnifield returns…wow



  19. old_school
    9:55 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    It didn’t count. He violated the rules of basketball.

    But ya’ll keep cheering – I’m sure the rappers went crazy.



  20. Jake Harper
    9:56 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Seriously, how do you register for this site? I may be stupid but I’ve searched everywhere. I can’t log in since I’m not registered. Where the heck do I register? Help!



  21. lexiladyrr
    9:57 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Those pictures though <<< You really need a photographer. πŸ˜‰



  22. old_fool
    9:58 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    19- the ref made a bad call chump



  23. Dirk Minniefield
    9:59 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    #18, exactly what I thought. Same number, same end of the court, except mine counted. πŸ™‚



  24. bluebonic
    10:03 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    13 lol no shit. That would of been best dunk of the year if not for charge. Goodwin always wants to dunk on someone i love it



  25. RealCatsFan
    10:34 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    #17, that’s probably what Cal is telling Archie this morning, and probably an accurate assessment that the smarter (and safer) play would have been the lob to WCS. But I can’t fault Archie for being aggressive. That is one of the adjustments to his mindset that he will have to make. In HS, he probably wasn’t surrounded by teammates that could make that play. To get him successfully playing as a PG, he will have to get in the mode where that pass would be automatic.

    Still, agree with others that it was a questionable call – how is it a charge if you jump over the defender? πŸ™‚



  26. CATSCATSCATS
    10:43 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    Poythress almost had one that would have been just as good as this.



  27. blairato
    11:59 am November 17, 2012 Permalink

    That man can jump. Dang.



  28. FartyMcFartstein
    12:43 pm November 17, 2012 Permalink

    #9 you’re a moron. The arch is what they have to be outside of for it to be a player control. And he was clearly in position before Archie took off. It was a charge. A nasty posterization, but a charge nonetheless. Don’t let your UK homerism blind you to the rules.



  29. UKEngr
    2:20 pm November 17, 2012 Permalink

    What half was this, I DVR’ed it and want to watch in on the tv



  30. Justin
    3:36 pm November 17, 2012 Permalink

    15:44 2nd half