Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

Another Kentucky Football Recruiting Weekend Preview

We are one week removed from one of the biggest recruiting weekends in Kentucky Football history. This weekend, though there won’t be as many visitors, could be just as important a weekend for the program. Six prospects will make trips to Lexington to meet with the new coaching staff, talk football and tour the facilities. Here is a full list of prospects that you can expect to see around campus:

 

 

Ryan Timmons — Wide Receiver; 5’11″, 190 lbs.; Frankfort, KY
Rivals: 3-Star, #59 WR
ESPN: 4-Star, #28 WR

At this point, Timmons is Kentucky’s to lose. He recently cancelled a visit to Ohio State, the school that was viewed as Kentucky’s biggest competition for his services. New offensive coordinator Neal Brown has spent a good bulk of his time in his new position courting Timmons, which tells you how big a commitment from him would be. Although he’s been on campus a couple of times before, this will be Timmons’ official visit to Kentucky. As far as his talent, this stat should tell you all you need to know: Timmons had 101 touches on offense (not counting ST) and accounted for 2230 yards and 42 TDs (h/t Brian Eldridge). The kid is a beast.

 

Jeff Badet — Wide Receiver; 5’11″, 160 lbs.; Orlando, FL
Rivals: 3-Star
ESPN: 3-Star, #104 WR

Badet was formerly committed to South Florida, and along with Asiantii Woulard has decided to take a look at Kentucky the 2nd time around. He chose the Bulls over Boston College and Louisville originally but has recently narrowed his new list to Kentucky, Nebraska, NC State, and Wake Forest. Badet is a playmaker that is comfortable in the spread offense, posting 110 catches for 1,621 yards and 28 TD’s over his final 2 years of high school at Freedom High in Orlando. A commitment from Badet this weekend could go a long way in landing Woulard, who is said to be leaning away from Kentucky and towards Clemson.

 

 

Marquez White — Cornerback; 6′ 1″, 170 lbs.; Dothan, AL
Rivals: 4-Star, #24 CB
ESPN: 4-Star, # 17 CB

White is a physical corner with great ball skills. He’s exceptional in run support and is always looking to put a vicious hit on the opposition. White has some characteristics that makes you think he could play safety at the next level but he looks very comfortable at the cornerback position. He’s currently committed to Florida State but a lot of the coaches that recruited him are no longer with the program. White tweeted this after Coach Stoops announced he was leaving Tallahassee for the Bluegrass state:

 

A great weekend in Lexington could ultimately flip this kid’s commitment and that would be a huge get.

 

Marcus McWilson— Safety; 6′ 0″, 195 lbs.; Youngstown, OH
Rivals: 4-Star, #16 S
ESPN: 3-Star, # 40 S

McWilson has numerous ties to Kentucky’s staff. He is from Youngstown, OH — where the Stoops family is from. He goes to Cardinal Mooney — where Mark and Bob Stoops attended high school. And finally, he is a current Nebraska commit, a place from where tight ends coach Vince Marrow is coming (Marrow is also from Youngstown and went to Mooney). All of this makes Kentucky an obvious candidate for his services and a real contender on signing day.

 

David Maka— OG/DT; 6′ 3″, 315 lbs.; Tustin, CA
Rivals: 4-Star, #13 C
ESPN: 3-Star, # 72 DT

Stoops frequently visited Tustin High School as the defensive coordinator at Arizona. That previous connection could ultimately land Maka. Maka plays both sides of the ball, but projects to defensive tackle at Kentucky. Maka is said to be leaning towards committing to the Wildcats if he has a great weekend in Lexington. He is also considering UCLA and Utah.

 

David Kamara— CB; 5’11″, 180lbs.; Loganville, GA
Rivals: 3-Star,
ESPN: 3-Star, # 81 CB

Even if Kamara isn’t bringing teammate Robert Nkemdiche with him, Kentucky is happy to have him visit. Kamara was a former Ole Miss commit but decommitted to explore other options. His film displays a corner that is always in great position, has fluid hips, and attacks the ball at its highest point. To me, he looks a little better than a 3-star prospect. Along with Kentucky, he is considering Ole Miss, Clemson and Illinois.

Article written by Rashawn Franklin

33 Comments for Another Kentucky Football Recruiting Weekend Preview



  1. Jw
    5:16 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    I know our linebackers are decent, but I have not seen any lb’s that they have been recruiting. Is the staff that confident in who we have?



  2. Kentucky Fball Fan
    5:17 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Why would we want a recruit whose twitter name is Smooth Criminal. He was committed to FSU for a reason



  3. WHY???
    5:26 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Why would any kid committ for week in and week out disappointment. Who wrote fluid hips. lol



  4. Dirty Diana
    5:26 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    No my names not actually Diana. But I made that my user name, see what I did there? Do you not like Michael Jackson?



  5. schwing
    5:38 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    don’t care, don’t care, don’t don’t don’t care.



  6. tdogg40330
    5:53 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Gotta get Timmons, explosive player and just right down the road from Lexington.



  7. WHY???
    5:55 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Kids going to be disappointed to see Georgia lose to UK on a regular basis.



  8. tdogg40330
    5:55 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    5) btw, if ya don’t care …. we don’t care to read ya damn comment



  9. just wishing
    5:57 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    All 6 guys would be great additions, but if we only have 6 spots give me Timmons, White, McWilson and Maka from this group and throw in Hatcher and JUCO DT Reed. That’s not wanting too much is it?



  10. Jeez
    5:57 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Trolls have taken over this website. These look like good recruits and hope we can land one or two of them. Hope they don’t read the crappy comments and if they do, recognize them for what they are – a deterrent. Liking Stoops more and more every day.



  11. Bluebloodtoo
    5:58 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    What’s with the random bag of potato chips at the top of the post?



  12. Bird in Kentucky
    5:59 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    I wish Cats could get Asiantii Woulard, might help them snag some of these top WR’s.



  13. Bluebloodtoo
    5:59 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    ohhhhhh “Blue Chips” got it…. nevermind



  14. tdogg40330
    6:01 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    12) I actually think the WR corp is pretty good, would like to add Timmons though.
    I’d still take Woulard though …lol



  15. putinrichie
    6:02 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    6 – Agree. Timmons is a beast. It will be interesting to see who has the better college career between Timmons and Quick.



  16. Jeff Garlin
    6:18 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Word in Frankfort is Timmons will more than likely be a CAT! I wouldn’t be shocked if we hear a coule of more of Jokers commits going elsewhere.



  17. finally
    6:51 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    1) go look up Lyn Clark, James Clark, Duke Riley, and Keith Kelsey. KSR reports a lot, but they dont cover everything. You have to do some looking for yourself.



  18. Jason
    7:19 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    The sheer fact that people want to troll us about football should be seen as a positive rather than a negative. Somehow, someway, what we’re doing has scared some in our rival’s fan bases enough for them to take time out of their day, to come on to a Kentucky website, and mouth off about our football team. If they weren’t worried….they wouldn’t waste their time.

    I’d rather be hated than ignored.



  19. MustangCat
    7:27 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    I llok for us to add 8-10 new names by signing day. Maybe more. I’ll take Woolard, Timmons,Hatcher, Alexander Bros, Reed, Maka, Senat, Miles, White, McWilson,and any other 4 stars i forgot…..



  20. MustangCat
    7:34 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    we should have a “like” button on here. Or a thumbs up or down.



  21. jpgott2
    8:02 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Have we offered Woulard? Every site I look at has UK with NO offer, yet Clemson who has come on as of late has offered, and UCLA is coming out of left field with a recent offer. Anyone know?



  22. Bubba Earl
    8:11 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Isn’t former basketball player Leron Ellis from Tustin,Ca.



  23. Big Whoop
    8:34 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    No, we’ve not offered Woulard. Same goes with several others. Shelton Gibson comes immediately to mind along with MacKenro Alexander. No offer doesn’t really mean anything. They could be keeping things under wraps until signing day. You can expect to hear about a few more de-commitments of Joker’s recruits and some transfer announcements as well.

    Word around the SEC is that Kamara is a package deal with Robert Nkemdiche whose brother is a linebacker at Ole Miss. I think Stoops will come up with some surprises between now and signing day.



  24. Catlogic15
    8:59 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Help me here. Isn’t Woulard the one that sent Joker tape, wanted to come here, Joker ignored, then we get this great staff, recruits him hard, and he’s leaning Clemson??

    Confused.



  25. Big Whoop
    9:07 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Re: 28…Wrong Kamara. The one I was thinking about is from Norcross, GA



  26. MustangCat
    9:45 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    What do you mean we have NOT offered Woulard????? Are you kidding me? Why in the world not? THAT is nuts…… I cannot believe that.



  27. MustangCat
    9:48 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    I’d rather have Gibson then Samples. How do you not offer the twins? Why are we offering a 2 star but not these kids?



  28. MustangCatw
    10:01 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Clemsons starting SENIOR QB Boyd is coming back next year. Woulard has NO CHANCE to play next year unless this guy gets hurt. I still cannot understand for the life of me why we havn’t offered half of these kids…..



  29. Duffus
    10:17 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Duffus says:

    Relax everybody Coach Stoops and staff know what they are doing, now Joker thats another question. I’m glad these young men are checking us out they are going to find it’s a super place to play under an outstanding coaching staff. And yes the BBN is nuts over our football, come on join in the fun!!!!



  30. Jw
    10:17 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    17) I do check other sites, but James Clark is still the only one I’ve heard of. Haven’t seen any lb’s visit though.



  31. finally
    10:35 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    30, well he is the only one thats visited s far. Duke Riley is supposed to visit 25th, Lyn Clark 25th, and kieth Kelsey feb 1st. our staff has paid two in-home visits to riley, one on 5th and one on 12th. They also gave Keith Kelsey an in-home visit the 14th.

    everybody else, YES we have offered Woulard. The recruiting sites arent updated everyday, and the experts that run them are completely swamped this time of year.



  32. MustangCat
    10:46 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    31, THANK YOU!! I just couldn’t believe we hadn’t offered him, or the other top recruits. That just didnt make sense. I still believe we are gonna end up with quite a haul on signing day.



  33. bluristhurr
    11:02 pm January 18, 2013 Permalink

    Those tortilla chips are purple not blue