Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

A Preview Of This Year’s Starting Five?

In his continued use of CoachCal.com as a masterful marketing tool for potential prospects and and a director of dialogue for the UK program, John Calipari and UK are posting previews of this season’s incoming freshmen.  Today’s profile of Anthony Davis is full of all the complimentary things you’d expect from such a piece, including his efforts to get stronger in the weight room and how he’s humbled by the way he’s grown (both literally and metaphorically) in the past year and a half. 

It has includes an interesting little note about who’s been dominating in the pickup games.  Davis says his team wins every game they play.  So who are the other four players rounding out this fearsome fivesome?  Take it away, Mr. Davis…

“It’s always me, Terrence Jones, Stacey Poole, Jarrod Polson and Twany Beckham,” Davis said. “We’re always on the same team for some odd reason. They picked the teams early and we always win so the other team always tries to beat us. We’re going to start changing it up to see who plays with who.”

It’s not easy to win when you stack the teams, Anthony.  As easy as it is to just jump to a quick conclusion and declare these five as the starters, that’s probably a little far-fetched.  Especially since Beckham won’t be eligible to play until after Christmas.  So it looks like John Calipari might have to mess with chemistry and find someone to slide into that fifth starting spot.  The only question is whether or not Kentucky has enough talented players ready to step in and play alongside Jarrod Polson and Stacey Poole at the tip. 

Is Darius Miller up to the challenge?  Maybe Doron Lamb?  Michael Gilchrist?  Hell, in this bizarro world, maybe it’s Jon Hood.  Either way, Coach Cal has to feel good that things are already sorting themselves out over the summer.

Article written by Thomas Beisner

30 Comments for A Preview Of This Year’s Starting Five?



  1. MemphisCat
    12:51 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Here is my starting 5.
    Davis
    Jones
    Miller
    Lamb
    Teague

    Gilcrest (1st in game)



  2. bigabes4uk
    12:52 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Davis
    Miller
    Jones
    Teague
    Lamb

    Mike Gillie 1st off the bench with starter minutes.

    That folks is the BEST starting 5 in America right there!



  3. bigabes4uk
    12:54 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    ha memphis! same thoughts same time



  4. jesco white
    12:54 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Davis and Jones on the same team is awesome, now add Lamb, Teague, and Miller, and for the first time since Cal has been here, I really think we win it all. Miller is a sr., Lamb, and Jones are Sophs., and Davis, Teague, and Gilchrist are studs.



  5. bluetooth
    12:55 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    kaboom



  6. Mason
    1:00 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Can’t wait till this year. I think miller will have the break out year everyone has been waiting for. I’d like to see alot of Stacey Poole this year to. I believe he has alot of potential as well as talent.



  7. Simple
    1:01 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    If Polson starts over Lamb and Poole starts over Gilly…



  8. Get Sh*t Right
    1:03 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    1. Teague
    2. Miller
    3. Gilchrist
    4. Jones
    5. Davis

    Doron is a much better point guard than Miller, so I think Miller or Gilchrist should start at the 2, and Doron could sub in for both guard spots.



  9. cracka
    1:04 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    best part of that article is davis putting on weight:

    Although Davis still prides himself on his guard skills, he knows that he will be called on to play in the post this upcoming season. With that in mind, Davis has made a second home out of the weight room. Davis’ playing weight for much of his final high school season was 190 pounds, but he has put on 30 pounds already and now weighs 220 pounds. He hopes to add another 15 before the season starts.

    “I’ve just worked hard in the weight room,” Davis said. “The weight room and drinking the (protein) shakes, they really help. You just put in work, that’s it. I’m in the weight room every day getting stronger. I know the SEC is full of really strong guys in the post.”



  10. ReasonableUKFAN
    1:05 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    This year’s team is gonna be deep, teams aren’t going to be able to last a full game against us.



  11. Don
    1:24 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    The starting 5 is pretty easy:
    Teague
    Lamb
    Miller
    Jones
    Davis

    I also like the lineup with

    PG – Miller
    2G – Lamb
    SF – Kidd-Gilchrist
    PF – Jones
    C – Davis



  12. tim
    1:45 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    If he’s serious about that team beating the other in pickup games, that says to me that AD is indeed the total package.



  13. NotTheSlickistRick
    1:47 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    I can’t wait until New Years Eve & B**ch slapping those pathetic Tardinals all the way back to Looserville



  14. anonymous
    1:50 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    12: you have to realize that if T.jones is on his team. Then who is guarding him? Not someone who can contain him.



  15. Catsantonio
    1:52 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Can we please start deciding on a nickname for our inside duo of T. Jones and A. Davis? They will be fantastic this year both on offense and defense as I think their games compliment each other. Here are a couple of suggestions to get the ball rolling……

    The Law Firm of Jones & Davis
    Jonis Brothers
    T&A (for all the necks out there)



  16. UKChillFan
    1:58 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    #15 – T&A is good for this neck.



  17. MNCAT
    2:02 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    To win it all, we are going to need another consistent 3-point shooter besides Lamb and Miller. Teague? Gilchrist? Jones? Davis? Wiltjer? Who will it be?



  18. Wildcat Insight
    2:04 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    W!W!JD Whoa!WOW!Jones&Davis



  19. Wildcat Insight
    2:06 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Wiltjer playing the 4…. 3s for days.



  20. Claud Bawls
    2:08 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    So Davis is saying that just Him and Jones plus the last guys off the bench can whoop the rest of our guys.

    So this five:
    Davis
    Jones
    Poole
    Polson
    Beckham

    Beats this:
    Teague
    Miller
    Gilchrist
    Lamb
    Wiltjer
    Eloy
    Harrow

    Davis + Jones must be pretty good.



  21. SweetTeaMob til I DIE
    2:10 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    7. Don’t get your panties in a bunch.. That’s obviously not going to be the starting 5. They attempted to split the teams up evenly and didn’t do a great job of it.

    Starting 5:
    1. Teague
    2. Lamb
    3. Miller (because he’s a senior and will provide leadership)
    4. Jones
    5. Davis



  22. knightynight
    2:19 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    i can’t wait to send the tar hills packing back to their little hill…

    i think we are going to be unstoppable…



  23. knightynight
    2:20 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    20. they are the two biggest guys and if the other 3 guys (end of the bench) know their roles, which i assume they do, they just throw the ball in the post to davis and jones…who’s gonna stop that?



  24. Alan Cutler
    2:27 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    I’m not sure of the amount of money I would pay to see Jarrod starting a game.



  25. Matthew
    2:45 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    I think Cal should start Jarrod in at least one game so he can do the Dougie after he is introduced.



  26. Catmandoo
    4:19 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Its crazy last season Miller was playing some 4 now we are talking about him playing 2. The length and athleticism of this team will be off the charts cannot wait to see them play together.



  27. MemphisCat
    4:32 pm July 19, 2011 Permalink

    Beckham must be stepping up, hard to believe when you play with better players how your game steps up. Same goes with Stacey, we knew he was athletic, hope he decides to play Cal’s way and helps to contribute on offense and defense.



  28. MTW
    2:31 am July 20, 2011 Permalink

    I just hope we stay healthy. No doubt this team has a hell of chance to bring home #8.



  29. KKLEON
    7:38 am July 20, 2011 Permalink

    Starters:
    G MARQUIS TEAGUE
    G DORON LAMB
    F DARIUS MILLER
    F TERRENCE JONES
    C ANTHONY DAVIS

    Key Subs: Kidd-Gilchrist, Eloy Vargas, Kyle Wiljter, (Poole or Polson, which ever proves themselves to Calipari)

    Team won’t reach full potential untial Twany Beckham returns to be Teagues’ Backup. Lamb is uncomfortable at the 1; pure 2 Guard.

    Vargas will be 7th Man, only if his success overseas this summer translates to UK. Kyle Wiljter should be on the floor often in the second half.

    I’m a firm believer that D.Miller will be the leader and Go-To player of the team.

    In a close game (say against UNC) with 5 minutes to play I’d go with: Davis, Jones, Kidd-Gilchrist, Miller, Teague. (I’d prefer solid ball handling over shooting)



  30. robert willhoite
    1:16 pm July 22, 2011 Permalink

    Id like to tape every game so I can go back and watch this team. Gonna be special.