Skip to content

Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

2012 Princeton Review: Top 20 Party Schools

The Princeton Review is primarily known for their standardized test reviews that help countless students across the nation every single year get into the school of their choosing.  In fact, while Wikipedia-ing The Princeton Review’s biography I found that approximately 70% of their annual revenue comes from the world famous test prep (The more you know!).  The Princeton Review also provides Top-20 lists comparing many aspects of college and university life such as best/worst campus food, best college newspaper, and even the most popular study abroad programs.  Perhaps the most coveted list is their annual survey of 122,000 college students giving their opinion on the best party schools in the nation.  The list is compiled by asking students which school combines low personal study hours, high alcohol use, and a high Greek population.  The coveted top spot went to the Ohio University Bobcats, who edged out Georgia and Ole Miss for the honor.  The rest of the list can be found here and shockingly does not include Kentucky.  Blasphemy, I say!  Blasphemy!  Below I have compiled an organized, well thought out, and rational photo essay in rebuttal to this survey proving why Kentucky should, in fact, be near the top of this esteemed list.

 

 

 

Integrity, don’t leave home without it!

 

 

A late night study session.

 

 

A peaceful protest.

 

 

The UK Rocket Science Initiative.

 

 

So there you have it, Kentucky is undoubtedly a Top-20 party institution, it’s as simple as that.  You’re telling me that freaking Vermont can top this?!  I’ll be the one to call BS on that one.  I’m all for believing data and large sample sizes, after all 122,000 people can’t be wrong can they?  Yes, they certainly can be.  This is one of those times where they were all dead wrong.

 

Article written by Jonathan Schuette

31 Comments for 2012 Princeton Review: Top 20 Party Schools



  1. Real Talk
    4:07 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    As a very recent graduate of UK I can live with us not being on that list. We have great athletics and a large/enthusiastic sports fanbase but compared to a lot of other colleges we really don’t have a crazy party culture that you need to be on that list.



  2. ukalum
    4:15 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Agree with #1…recent grad here as well….IU may not be as good at basketball but their parties are alot crazier then UK due to their greek life….if UK wants to be on that list they need to have a wet campus…..that wont happen because UK is becoming increasing conservative and wants to be top 20 in other categories….maybe us not being on this list is for the best and should help the commonwealth’s reputation when it comes to outside judgment so were not considered often just a bunch of dumb drunk rednecks.



  3. Tmo
    4:15 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Be glad UK isn’t on that list. Why would you even want them to be? It’s not really something to be proud of. When you hear someone say yeah I go to a top 20 part school in the nation you automatically think yeah that school sucks academically. I want UK to be known for athletics and academics not alcohol consumption and drunkards.



  4. minton
    4:16 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    EKU used to be on top of that list a lot back in the day. I was lucky enough to experience it before it stopped.



  5. ukalum
    4:17 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    but i like being a dumb drunk redneck so F it



  6. nerlens noel
    4:19 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    News is about to break that I’m going back to the 2013 class.



  7. TheTruthandnothingbut
    4:31 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Happy to see we are not on the list. Being fat, drunk, and stupid is no way to go through life.



  8. Put in Richie
    4:41 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    7 – Nerlens isn’t good until he’s on UK’s campus. He needs grades and hours to qualify. Maybe there is a 90% likelihood that he takes care of business and is here in the fall, but dismissing it completely as a non-issue is very shortsighted. Bottom line – Noel has work to do to qualify that is NOT done yet…..no reason to feel good about Noel until he hits campus.



  9. CATSCATSCATS
    4:49 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    I laugh every time Ohio gets the top spot. First of all it’s in the middle of nowhere so there is nothing else for them to do but drink themselves stupid. Second, they are known for about three big parties every year which for some reason lands them at the top. They have a muddy field party, halloween, and a big street party. That’s it! The Greek scene is practically non-existent compared to say UK or any other school in the SEC. Not to mention this is about the only thing that they can be proud of. As someone who grew up in Ohio I can tell you it’s the school that everyone knows they will get into. Basically it’s the school for rich kids who got rejected from they daddy’s alma mater.



  10. CATSCATSCATS
    4:50 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    #2- I totally agree. It’s time for a wet campus.



  11. Pancreas
    5:18 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Even Vandy is more of a party school than UK…

    Seriously.



  12. Explorer
    5:27 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    It wouldnt necessarily be a horrible thing if Noel’s had to go back to the 2013 class. We would still end up getting him. And probably creates a team that would as good or better than last years team.



  13. BPsycho
    5:28 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    #3 #partypooper

    #9 No he’s good wherever he is, whatever time it is…

    #10 Halloween party yah!



  14. Drew Greene
    5:34 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    UK is definitely not a party school, in my opinion. It’s a nerd school and a great sex school. Oh yeah and there’s that basketball thing too.



  15. cats11
    5:38 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    UK isn’t even the top party school in the state. That spot still belongs to dear old Western.



  16. SexnNursinHomes
    6:02 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    So what if UK didn’t make that list. Crack was still going around UK parties. Well, atleast the ones I went to. That was pretty fun.



  17. Two Keys
    6:06 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    I had a great time here. But I’ll tell you what, the fall of 2008 was wild every Saturday‚Ķ



  18. Two Keys
    6:08 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    I mean fall 2007…



  19. gr8ness
    7:38 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Agree with 4. The dogg.



  20. BigBlue
    8:10 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    UK is a fun place to go to school but de,finitely not at the top of that list. I graduated from UK and partied to the extent possible; but I have visited crazier college party scenes…UGA, IU, JMU, the U, FSU….much crazier than UK. UK is pretty middle of the road.



  21. Blasphemy
    8:57 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    You rang?



  22. Class
    9:04 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    Bull crap! I swear, I go to UK and those freakin people party every.single.day. Crap, these g.d.effin people don’t know anything



  23. Bubba Earl
    10:42 pm July 21, 2012 Permalink

    When I was a student at UK, Playboy had it’s top 20 party schools. We were always in the top 3, then suddenly, they left us out,asterisk, sorry Kentucky we do not rate PROFESSIONALS!



  24. Tampa Satchel
    12:51 am July 22, 2012 Permalink

    @ Bubba Earl-Your memory may be hazy from partying at UK, but UK has never been ranked by Playboy and, as a matter of fact, Playboy has only had 3 rankings ever.
    You are perpetuating an urban myth. http://www.snopes.com/college/admin/playboy.asp



  25. Catamounts
    1:52 am July 22, 2012 Permalink

    You’re grasping at straws. If you’ve ever known anyone who went to Vermont or read anything about it you’d know the only thing there is there are parties. Fratastic parties like every school, all inclusive house parties unlike the extended HS clique parties at UK, and ridiculous hippy weedfests. And Burlington itself is a big party town for those who never leave. It’s a smaller school than UK but much bigger party school. Plus, as the most expensive state school in the country it’s filled with rich prep school failures who only know how to party & party big.



  26. markie mark
    10:11 am July 22, 2012 Permalink

    Back in the 70’s, Playboy listed their party schools. UK was not ranked, but got a mention, stating ‘was not elligable for amateur competition’.



  27. Scott
    12:08 pm July 22, 2012 Permalink

    Honestly, I can’t argue with OU at the top. If you’ve never made the trip for Halloween, you’re missing out. Palmer Fest can be fun too. They’ve been burning couches long before a Final Four berth had them blazing in Lexington.



  28. Bobcat Jim
    12:58 pm July 22, 2012 Permalink

    Also, sorry for the double post, but Two Keys is freakin’ terrible.



  29. Scott Parker
    1:50 pm July 22, 2012 Permalink

    No way, just because we are good at basketball and had one really good weekend back in April, there are way more schools across the country that go 100X harder than a typical UK party.



  30. Bleedblue
    12:25 pm July 23, 2012 Permalink

    Kentucky will never be known as a big party school without it being a wet campus. Back in the day when the campus was wet and we had beer blast on campus we could put in an argument for a top party school but the president and deans will never allow that and specially now when they are trying to kill the greek life off.