Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

James Harden Wins 2017-18 NBA Most Valuable Player Award

James Harden has been named the 2017-18 NBA Most Valuable Player. (via Getty Images)

Houston Rockets guard, James Harden, has been named the 2017-18 NBA Most Valuable Player during the second ever NBA Awards Show.

Harden, 28, won the award over Cleveland Cavaliers forward LeBron James and former Wildcat/current New Orleans Pelicans forward Anthony Davis. 

Harden led the Rockets to Game 7 of the Western Conference Finals and was a Chris Paul injury away from knocking off the eventual NBA champion Golden State Warriors.

Last season, Harden was a finalist for the MVP but was beaten out in a close race by Russell Westbrook, who averaged the first triple-double since Oscar Roberston in 1962. This year, Harden was far-and-away the superior player and finished with one of the most productive individual offensive seasons in NBA history.

This past season, Harden averaged a league-leading 30.4 points to go along with 8.8 assists and 5.4 rebounds per game on shooting splits of 44.9/36.7/85.8 (FG%/3PT%/FT%).

Harden, along with All-Star teammate Chris Paul, led the Rockets to a league-best 65 wins and the number one seed in the Western Conference Finals.

While Davis had an outstanding season for the Pelicans, especially following the injury to DeMarcus Cousins, Harden and his unstoppable array of isolation/pick-and-roll schemes made him the overwhelming favorite.

At 25 years-old, something tells me it won’t be long before Davis is the one on the podium accepting this award.

Article written by Zack Geoghegan

Covering all things NBA. Follow me on Twitter: @ZackGeoghegan

3 responses to “James Harden Wins 2017-18 NBA Most Valuable Player Award”

  1. Blue Jesus

    Westbrook actually averaged a triple double this season, too. But the Westbrook fatigue and the fact that he wasn’t leading an otherwise underdog team to the playoffs (not to mention they were only average, even with both Melo and George).

  2. Rabbi Li

    If you don’t play defense and are awarded the MVP then you play in a league that doesn’t care about defense.

  3. 4everUKblue

    Harden definitely deserves the Flop award!