Kentucky Sports Radio

University of Kentucky Basketball, Football, and Recruiting news brought to you in the most ridiculous manner possible.

This first down by Southern Miss was not a first down


@JHammon67

Kentucky beat Southern Miss today, but there were times in which it was way too close for comfort. One of those times was early in the second quarter, when the refs went to measure Southern Miss’ fourth down attempt. As you can see above, it appears the Golden Eagles were just short, but the officials ruled it a first down, even though the ref closest to the ball indicated “just inches”:

From there, Southern Miss got a field goal to move the score to 7-3. Again, Kentucky went on to win, so everything worked out, but had the ball bounced the other way a few more times, this play would be the new Florida play clock:

Article written by Mrs. Tyler Thompson

No, I will not make you a sandwich, but you can follow me on Twitter @MrsTylerKSR or email me.

17 responses to “This first down by Southern Miss was not a first down”

  1. KYcats11

    Look at that refs face when he looks up.

  2. My Dixie Wrecked

    Disagree.

    1. MyFriendsBrotherInLawKnowsMattJones

      And I disagree with you

  3. 2thepoint

    I agree. When I first saw the chain pulled I began to say stopped them, but then they called it the other way and I couldn’t believe it. The biased tv guys were agreeing with the refs and I thought surely someone will set it straight, but they didn’t.

  4. CATandMONKEY

    John Higgins Referee School.

  5. terwilliger

    That was a crap call, but nothing will ever touch the Florida play clock. That call would have ended thirty years of futility. The only call that even comes close to it is the expired shot clock in the Wisconsin game.

  6. UoKFB PHAN

    So what is the official rule on measurements? I thought it was the nose of the football HAD to touch the marker. If that is the case I hope this gets sent to the league office for evaluation.

    1. ready4nineNOW

      Im not positive, but i think i remember sometime hearing that its a first down as long as it hits the metal piece that comes off the marker that the chain connects to. Which the ball does do that. Once again, i might be wrong.

  7. yoshukai

    What got me about the whole thing is , it appeared the referee didn’t even take time and get a get good angle and take a close look before he gave the first down signal . Then the official holding the ball looks up at him like “you’re crazy “.

  8. LegggoooCats

    I’m just here to watch Final Fantasy ads.

    1. bigfatstoopidE

      🔥🔥🔥

  9. Rln-Slo81

    I thought it had to pass the last link of the chain

  10. Geo_Armstrong

    While I don’t see specific language in the NCAA rulebook, my understanding is the first down is determined by visibility of the chain, further I’ve never seen a ref look at the measurement sideways, only overhead. So with that said if you envision the ref looking from overhead with that placement, you can see there is no fraction of the chain visible, thus this was called a first down.

  11. jzoneblue

    also, the fumble where they instantly ruled and runner down with no review. replay showed the ball out before a knee was down.

  12. Cat68

    and how do we not have multiple cameras trained down the end zone line after years of review? UofL loses if there was such a thing. Knee down, fumble, recovers out of bounds…certainly, touchdown! Review…oh yeah definitely touchdown..no way! Didn’t have cameras in position.

  13. 9IsNext

    I was more pissed about the botched fumble that was clearly out on that same drive.

  14. Brad Bader

    Rule 1, Article 7 of the 2016-17 NCAA Rules and Interpretations states:

    “The yardage chain shall join two rods not fewer than 5 feet high, the rods’ inside edges being exactly 10 yards apart when the chain is fully extended.”

    From this, it is clear that we’re measuring from one inside edge to other to determine 10 yards, i.e., to get a first down, the nose of the ball needs to at least touch the inside edge of the marker rod/pole. Having said that, it’s impossible to determine from the video or screen caps whether this was actually a bad call. Our POV is from some unknown angle and unknown distance, whereas the refs are standing right on top of the measurement. I think we have to defer to their judgment.