“BLARGE”: No one knows it means. But it’s provocative. It gets the people going.
I’ll be honest, guys and gals. The double-foul call has really been affecting my day-to-day activities since it was called in the first half of Kentucky’s game against Arkansas. For almost two full days, it has consumed my mind while I eat, sleep, breathe and watch Justified. I was that bothered. I’ve also spoken to numerous people who were blown away by the call, which inspired me to go back to the tape and dust off that old basketball handbook I got at Mike Phillips Basketball Camp in 1996.
Revisit the play with me through KSR’s new game breakdown technology and then I’ll explain the call.
And if you already know what a “blarge” is, then I commend you for your basketball rulebook knowledge. It is a very, very rare call.
Walk with me…
Marquis Teague gets around his defender and drives to the lane:
Arkansas’s Marvell Waithe gets in position to take the charge:
Waithe is set and draws the contact. (He shuffled his feet just a bit, but that’s OK; he beat Teague to the spot.)
Who the hell is that guy?
One official signals Waithe for the block, while another calls Teague for the charge:
Waithe doesn’t like the blocking call:
Teague goes to the line:
Wait, let’s review it.
You can do that?
Coach Cal doesn’t like the review:
The final call is a double-foul on Waithe and Teague – also known as a “blarge.”
What do you think about that, Wildcat Corey?
So, apparently, a “blarge” is an actual violation. It’s when simultaneous whistles end a play, but two contrasting calls are made by the officials.
It’s in the rulebook.
BLARGE: Block/Charge Double Foul
Section 1.1 Block/Charge Calls p. 20 and Section 1.2 Drives to the Basket p. 21, jurisdiction to determine this call is levied upon the Lead official to have primary coverage if the contact occurs within the Free Throw Lane Lines; however, if case of double whistles, the outside official may take this call as he might have the best look.
Hence, there might be an indeterminate time frame where one official may call and signal “Block” while the other official calls and signals “Charge” nearly simultaneously. Hence, a “BLARGE” may result.
A Blarge is a Double Foul and must be processed as such. It would be incorrect to allow one official’s call to override or set aside the others. A discussion of the four types of Blarge Double Foul scenarios: Player and Team Control, Team Control and the two examples of this type of double foul following a FGA where there is loss of team control, will be addressed in this essay. [Source]
There ya go. It’s legit.
“And if ya don’t know, now ya know.” ** Biggie Voice **
[powered by WordPress.]
Bill Keightley Report : Never to be forgotten.
9 queries. 0.690 seconds